Customer Reviews for

Flowers in the Attic/Petals on the Wind

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Could not put it down

This dual book was sensational! I vaguely remember "Flowers" from when I was in Jr High. I never finished the series then, not really sure why. Glad I chose to re-purchase this series! The "Flowers" & "Petals" were so good I found myself thinking about the character...
This dual book was sensational! I vaguely remember "Flowers" from when I was in Jr High. I never finished the series then, not really sure why. Glad I chose to re-purchase this series! The "Flowers" & "Petals" were so good I found myself thinking about the characters and what would happen next as soon as I stopped reading. It took me less than a week for both books and I am not a fast reader. The torment Chris & Cathy dealt with was horrid and tragic. Their suffering continued into the second book. I do not want to give away anything else for fear I will spoil it for someone else. Happy reading!!

posted by Hypers_Starr on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hated it

i am a 13 year old girl who picked up this book and thought it would be an interesting book-a different idea. But once i started getting to the middle of it i was very disturbed. I t was so creepy how the brother and sister actually loved each other in the way boyfriend...
i am a 13 year old girl who picked up this book and thought it would be an interesting book-a different idea. But once i started getting to the middle of it i was very disturbed. I t was so creepy how the brother and sister actually loved each other in the way boyfriend and girlfriedns ove each other. I WOULD NOT reccomend this book to any people 13 and under

posted by 4035689 on July 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Highly Recommend this!

    I'm a 14 year-old girl and I absolutely LOVE this book. I just finished Flowers in the Attic, and have just started on Petals in the Wind. I had seen the movie a few years ago so I knew it was a great story, but I had absolutely no idea it would be THIS good!!! I just can't put it down! It took me just four days to finish Flowers in the Attic, and I enjoyed it so much! While some people have said they feel that the brother-sister relationship was strange, and have also voiced other complaints, I feel that this book is pure genius and every detail in the book, like the relationship between Cathy and Chris, was added for pure entertainment and to help move the story along.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Wow!! Great book!

    I got this book quite a while ago, and I am reading it as slow as I can. This book is so chilling, yet so addicting! I couldn't stop reading it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Could not put it down

    This dual book was sensational! I vaguely remember "Flowers" from when I was in Jr High. I never finished the series then, not really sure why. Glad I chose to re-purchase this series! The "Flowers" & "Petals" were so good I found myself thinking about the characters and what would happen next as soon as I stopped reading. It took me less than a week for both books and I am not a fast reader. The torment Chris & Cathy dealt with was horrid and tragic. Their suffering continued into the second book. I do not want to give away anything else for fear I will spoil it for someone else. Happy reading!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    I read all of these books years ago, I enjoyed them back then an

    I read all of these books years ago, I enjoyed them back then and am going to read them again. I saw the movie and was not happy with it, read these books, you wont be able to put them down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Very Good!!

    I was always interested in reading this book especially because I know so many people who have read it. And now I know why. It was very good!! I was so into it that I couldn't put it down! It was exciting with many twists!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    BEST BOOK EVER

    This book is sooo amazing. I cant even explaaaiinnn AAHH its just soo great! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND it, its amazing. It is by far my favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    Highly Recommended to someone that loves a thrill.

    Flowers in the Attic/ Petals in the Wind is a story about a family that somewhat falls apart after the death of a loving husband/father. The mother turns to her parents for help. From the beginning everything seems to be a good plan. But after arriving to find out that the children have to be hidden away in the attic while their mother earns her father's trust back is eye opening. The four of them: Cathy, Chris, Cory, and Carrie all teach themselves from old textbooks in the attic, which they transformed from a dark scary room into their piece of nature inside. The children have harsh rules to follow, most based on extreme Christian values. The two older children, Cathy and Chris, do their best to take care of the younger twins. They become parents to them as they realize that they will be stuck away for longer than expected. Their grandmother, a cruel woman, has secret actions against the children which causes a traumatic experience that forces the children to flee. They are taken in by a doctor in a small town, where they live comfortably. As they age, Cathy, becomes obsessed with revenge. By this point you will not be able to set the book down, the story is so enticing. She carefully plans to make them all pay for what happened. Her plan unfolds as she plays with the emotions of her mother's new husband, Malcom Foxworth. She toys with him, tempting him to sleep with her and to leave his wife. She becomes pregnant and decides that this is the perfect time to strike. When she shows up at a party one night, as the final point in her revenge plot, things take a turn for the worse. She takes out her anger on her grandmother, destroying her mother's emotions as well as Malcolm's. There is an accident and the house catches fire, killing someone (Read to find out who!). The story leaves the reader amazed at how far these children have come and how the horrible experiences effected each of them. I would recommend this book to people that like thrilling and romantic stories. The book seems like it would take a long time, but a good story makes the time fly by!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME

    I thought this book was amazing I finished both of them in four days, although the romance was kind of strange I did feel extremely bad for Chris, not to spoil anything but if your looking for something that will pass the time i would definitely read this book. I would recommend it to anyone who likes creepy romances and what we would do for money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful book !

    This book a complete page turner. In every chapter theres something new to discover about the characters and the whole book is just worth its money. The book has vivid description and is just a wonderful book throughout every page. You get very into the book even at the first chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Intense & Sad

    This book is really intense and heartbreaking but I couldn't put it down and that's what I look for in a book. I can't wait to get the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1