Customer Reviews for

Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

GREAT read for a vacation in Hawaii!

I loved this incredibly imaginative and very funny book when it first came out, and bought it again (Nook version this time) to read on vacation in Hawaii, where Fluke and the whaley boys lurked (In fact, I'm on Kauai, where Christopher Moore once lived.)

Just as hap...
I loved this incredibly imaginative and very funny book when it first came out, and bought it again (Nook version this time) to read on vacation in Hawaii, where Fluke and the whaley boys lurked (In fact, I'm on Kauai, where Christopher Moore once lived.)

Just as happened on the first read, I started to dread finishing the book by the time I was halfway through, and am just as sad now that it's done--I really miss Kona and the entire wacky team! What incredible yarns Moore weaves, with even some actual education on the side! Now re-reading Island of the Sequined Love Nun.... long live Christopher Moore!!!

posted by magric on November 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Let Down!

I love Christopher Moore. He is definitely in my top five. However, this book was not very good. The characters were very underdeveloped and he humor wasn't even that funny. It was kind of sad. Everything else by him is like an A+, but Fluke is probably like a D.

posted by DeDeFlowers on August 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Let Down!

    I love Christopher Moore. He is definitely in my top five. However, this book was not very good. The characters were very underdeveloped and he humor wasn't even that funny. It was kind of sad. Everything else by him is like an A+, but Fluke is probably like a D.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    LOVE IT !!!!!!! ( so far....) POSTED BY: A

    Hi, this is my first book that I wrote a review on. I am only 6% in to the book and so far it is great! I am almost done with all of the Christopher Moore books and will write a review on all of them. I will also be writing the dates for each and every one of them. My signature is A. I will keep you posted on this one and more.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    GREAT read for a vacation in Hawaii!

    I loved this incredibly imaginative and very funny book when it first came out, and bought it again (Nook version this time) to read on vacation in Hawaii, where Fluke and the whaley boys lurked (In fact, I'm on Kauai, where Christopher Moore once lived.)

    Just as happened on the first read, I started to dread finishing the book by the time I was halfway through, and am just as sad now that it's done--I really miss Kona and the entire wacky team! What incredible yarns Moore weaves, with even some actual education on the side! Now re-reading Island of the Sequined Love Nun.... long live Christopher Moore!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good, but not his best.

    I'm a huge fan of Moore's books, and they're very good especially with the laugh factor. But [Fluke] was a little "out there" for me, and keep in mind that I liked the demon hounds from [A Dirty Job] and whatever vampire nonsense he could throw at me from [You Suck]. But some parts of this book just hit me out of nowhere- think of a quiet suburban town that SUDDENLY GETS ATTACKED BY A GIANT RUBBER DUCKY.

    Yes, it's that kind of hits-you-out-of-nowhere action. (Not that a giant rubber ducky really appears in [Fluke] though) But you get the point.

    Overall, [Fluke] is very good with tidbits to make the characters likable and interesting. And the ride of the book is a fun and unexpected one. And you still get those laughs. That's important.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    Cracking up

    I wasn't prepared for what I undertook. The switch half way through the story caught me off guard, but once I accepted it (kind of like accepting your dead) it flowed and continued to be damn entertaining. Ah, Kona. I love Kona. I live in Hawaii and Kona thus holds a very special place this snowy biscuit's heart. Ire.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    This was such a great read. Bill Irwin was the perfect voice fo

    This was such a great read. Bill Irwin was the perfect voice for these characters. Dead-pan delivery with a hint of surfer and even a goofy pseudo Rastafarian. I loved every one of these guys and even read the book after listening to it because I missed the characters. Super funny, interesting details on whaling (both factual and fictional) and an overall joy. I'm looking for a whale watching trip now. I love Christopher Moore. Fluke definitely gets a 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Hilarious

    If you are a fan of Christopher Moore books this is a must have. Very, very funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Hilareous!

    This is a laugh out loud book. It takes off into an incredible fantasy, but the reader just comes along because it is such fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Funny but subpar work from Moore.

    Christopher Moore is without a doubt my favorite author. After reading Bloodsucking Fiends I have done everything in my power to read all his other novels. I have now almost read them all and loved them until Fluke. While the typical Moore humor is in place this story is maybe too weird for me to get into. The quirky characters that are always present in his work are still in here but not as memorable as other books. Overall, the story is funny but not enough for me to enjoy, sadly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Humor.

    Offbeat, quirky. Gets the gray cells humming. This guy is either a screaming genius or a very talented psychopath. LOL

    I have all of the Christopher Moore books and will only borrow them to select friends. Must have them back. Discover more fascinating things with each reread.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Worth Reading

    A crazy read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    On of My Favorite Christopher Moore Novels

    Yes, it's other worldly and fantastic! The characters are outrageous and memorable and just might give another reason to save the whales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    strange, but interesting

    I liked this book and read it for a book club. I had high expectations because I loved Christopher Moore's Gospel According to Biff. This wasn't as good, but enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Book to Nowhere-Poor Whales

    Had to buy for Book Club; dull and boring;prefer non fiction or good fiction; will donate my copy to Salvation Army

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    eh

    I thought this book was going to be really good. Many people have recommended it to me. However, I wasn't a big fan of it. I thought it was completely bizarre, and to me it seemed to drag on. I could not wait to put it down. Although i will not forget the story line, it seemed to put a big impression in my brain.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    Great Read

    I really enjoyed this. In typical Moore fashion, humor and charmingly eccentric characters, I fell in love. I also learned more about whales than I ever wanted to know. He kept me guessing where the story was going and just when I thought I had it figured out, he threw a twist in. What a fun ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    the glory of singing whales??

    Marine biology can be a strenuous, yet fun job. But to Nate and his crew, they only have one question to answer, just why do the male humpback whales sing? Everyone seems to think it¿s for mating, but the crew knows different. Off the beaches of Hawaii, Nate, Amy, Clay, and the fake Hawaiian kid, Kona (Preston Applebaum) gather information about the wonderous male humpback singers. Was Nate going crazy one day when he saw the words: Bite me tattooed on the tail? Not one of his crew members seemed to notice the weird message posted on the flukes. The picture of the fluke and the message goes missing. Nate knows he saw something, but he can¿t tell any of his crew. ¿Nate just spends too much time in the sun,¿ they would probably say. But, after all the crew¿s research and equipment gets messed up, Nate starts to think something is going on. Why would someone take boring research on humpback whales? Christopher Moore is an amazing author and his book about humpback whales made me giggle and gasp for air at the same time. With a dozen books written, Mr. Moore has not forgotten just how a good story goes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    From Fiction to Fantasy

    While I truly enjoyed reading the first half of Fluke, I was struck by the switch from reality-based fiction to sci-fi/fantasy. I'm not oppossed to fantasy, but Moore never prepared you for the switch he was about to make. I found myself thinking for the whole second half of the book, 'Are you serious?' Moore never made the world believable to me and his characters lost depth as he wandered off the sci-fi edge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2004

    Very Enjoyable Absurdity

    It should just be another day in paradise for Nate, action nerd biologist - researching whale song in Hawaii with his cute, smart-mouthed assistant Amy. But he starts to doubt his sanity when he sees words written on the tail of a whale, and returns to shore only to find that their office has been trashed and their research destroyed. He and his partner Clay, an underwater photographer with strong feelings on loyalty, are baffled ¿ who in the world cares that much about their whale research? Competing researchers with shady morals? Mysterious naval officers engaged in dubious projects? As the strange occurrences and disasters mount everyone pitches in to solve the mystery, including their newest assistant, Kona (a.k.a. Preston Applebaum), a dreadlocked stoner kid with surprising insights and Clay¿s girlfriend Clair, keeper of the booty and the wooden spoon of doom. In the end, the search for the secret of the whale song will lead to unimaginable locations and surprising revelations. Fluke is light, funny and fast-paced ¿ perfect for a day at the beach. The absurdity level rises rapidly and the action escalates into a potential end-of-the-world scenario before plummeting back to just mildly warped reality. The plot is a little weak towards the end, but the memorable characters, sharp dialogue, and all-around zaniness definitely make up for it. Moore doesn¿t go completely overboard with the 'save the whales' message, but he does include some serious whale info in an appendix. The humor is very similar in tone to Douglas Adams or Terry Pratchett with more of a scatological bent. This book caused a quite a few giggle-out-loud moments for me as well as a lot of quietly amused moments. While Fluke is my first Christopher Moore book, it will definitely not be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5