BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Life changing!

I am a huge christopher moore fan, but this book takes the cake! It is not a typical Moore novel, its better! The charactors are vivid and the ideas are unique. He really creates a world my imagination can live in!

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Let Down!

I love Christopher Moore. He is definitely in my top five. However, this book was not very good. The characters were very underdeveloped and he humor wasn't even that funny. It was kind of sad. Everything else by him is like an A+, but Fluke is probably like a D.

posted by DeDeFlowers on August 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 199 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Life changing!

    I am a huge christopher moore fan, but this book takes the cake! It is not a typical Moore novel, its better! The charactors are vivid and the ideas are unique. He really creates a world my imagination can live in!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    I have read a few books by moore... not because I sought him out specifically but because his books tend to intersect with my interests. And every time I'm glad I read the book. This one is no different. It starts out slow but by roughly the one third point it has its tendrils around you and forces you to hold onto it until the end. Well worth reading : funny, thoughtful, intelligent and most importantly another solid read out of the author.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Let Down!

    I love Christopher Moore. He is definitely in my top five. However, this book was not very good. The characters were very underdeveloped and he humor wasn't even that funny. It was kind of sad. Everything else by him is like an A+, but Fluke is probably like a D.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Awful

    This book was simply terrible. The humor was lame, the characters were annoying and the plot was too stupid for words. Save yourself and PASS!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    A REALLY odd stroy

    This books starts off great- the characters are cute and the language is funny, but then it gets into some serious science fiction. Entertaining, but odd. Nearly gave it up half way through but stuck it out hoping it would make more sense at the end...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    LOVE IT !!!!!!! ( so far....) POSTED BY: A

    Hi, this is my first book that I wrote a review on. I am only 6% in to the book and so far it is great! I am almost done with all of the Christopher Moore books and will write a review on all of them. I will also be writing the dates for each and every one of them. My signature is A. I will keep you posted on this one and more.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    GREAT read for a vacation in Hawaii!

    I loved this incredibly imaginative and very funny book when it first came out, and bought it again (Nook version this time) to read on vacation in Hawaii, where Fluke and the whaley boys lurked (In fact, I'm on Kauai, where Christopher Moore once lived.)

    Just as happened on the first read, I started to dread finishing the book by the time I was halfway through, and am just as sad now that it's done--I really miss Kona and the entire wacky team! What incredible yarns Moore weaves, with even some actual education on the side! Now re-reading Island of the Sequined Love Nun.... long live Christopher Moore!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good, but not his best.

    I'm a huge fan of Moore's books, and they're very good especially with the laugh factor. But [Fluke] was a little "out there" for me, and keep in mind that I liked the demon hounds from [A Dirty Job] and whatever vampire nonsense he could throw at me from [You Suck]. But some parts of this book just hit me out of nowhere- think of a quiet suburban town that SUDDENLY GETS ATTACKED BY A GIANT RUBBER DUCKY.

    Yes, it's that kind of hits-you-out-of-nowhere action. (Not that a giant rubber ducky really appears in [Fluke] though) But you get the point.

    Overall, [Fluke] is very good with tidbits to make the characters likable and interesting. And the ride of the book is a fun and unexpected one. And you still get those laughs. That's important.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    Cracking up

    I wasn't prepared for what I undertook. The switch half way through the story caught me off guard, but once I accepted it (kind of like accepting your dead) it flowed and continued to be damn entertaining. Ah, Kona. I love Kona. I live in Hawaii and Kona thus holds a very special place this snowy biscuit's heart. Ire.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Gjgu

    Can i join?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Love it

    Christopher Moore is my favorite author. All his books are amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Fluke

    Not his best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    This was such a great read. Bill Irwin was the perfect voice fo

    This was such a great read. Bill Irwin was the perfect voice for these characters. Dead-pan delivery with a hint of surfer and even a goofy pseudo Rastafarian. I loved every one of these guys and even read the book after listening to it because I missed the characters. Super funny, interesting details on whaling (both factual and fictional) and an overall joy. I'm looking for a whale watching trip now. I love Christopher Moore. Fluke definitely gets a 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Absurdly entertaining

    This book is one of the most ridiculous pieces of fiction I've ever read... Such a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    I love this book

    I've read it and listened to it and loved it both times. The characters were funny and endearing and I miss them enough to go back and re-read this story again and again. Christopher Moore is clever and creative (and if you listen to it, Bill Irwin does a perfect job with each character). The fun never ends, and we get some great information on whales and marine biology at the same time.

    "Cool runnings, brah."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    What an original story!

    I read another review said to just take a chance on the book. It was only $1.99, so I thought,"why not.?" I am glad I did. I have never read Christopher Moore but I really like his writing style. It's subtle yet hilarious wihout seeming contrived. And the story was really great! I can honestly say I have never read anything like it. The characters are interesting and easy to stick with. The story takes some crazy twists so that it ends in a lace you could NEVER have predicted. Toward the end I kept thinking, "how does someone even imagine this!?" But you know what, it was good and I'd read it again. Really- take a chance on this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    An interesting read.

    I wasn't expecting the things as they happened. I guess it is Sci-Fi, I'm not a fan of it but this was an OK book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Not what I expected - very disappointed

    Disappointing story; not what I expected by the preview

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    5 stars

    Great read! Love the humor, the wonder of it all and the adventure. What a wild ride...like nothing else I've read before. You simply must read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Moore is amazing... A little strange, but amazing.

    Great characters and setting, smart and fun to read... But a little strange at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 199 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10