Customer Reviews for

Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Life changing!

I am a huge christopher moore fan, but this book takes the cake! It is not a typical Moore novel, its better! The charactors are vivid and the ideas are unique. He really creates a world my imagination can live in!

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Let Down!

I love Christopher Moore. He is definitely in my top five. However, this book was not very good. The characters were very underdeveloped and he humor wasn't even that funny. It was kind of sad. Everything else by him is like an A+, but Fluke is probably like a D.

posted by DeDeFlowers on August 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 199 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 10
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    This is my first Christopher Moore book, but it won't be the las

    This is my first Christopher Moore book, but it won't be the last. What a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    LOVED this story!!

    Funny, witty, unconventional and unexpected plot-- what more could you ask for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Great book

    My only complaint is that he spends so much time setting the story up, but when you reach the major cinflict, it is very anticlimatic. It's akmost like Moore got tired of writing it and just wanted it to end. That being said, I still loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    LOL

    I was rolling on the floor laughing at the line "(the whale) called me on the phone". This book is perfect for casual reading. I could easily put it down after lunch time reading and yet am immediately immersed in the story when I pick it up again. There is very little profanity except for one character who is adjective impaired and thus sinks to a frequent use of f... Re. sexual content it is inoculous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Oh....

    Oh i see them. They werent showing up earlier. I SEE THEM NOW. Wow i feel stupid. Lol.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Its cool

    Cooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    One of Christopher Moore's best. Hilarious, creative, thoughtful

    One of Christopher Moore's best. Hilarious, creative, thoughtful, you'll fly through this book then be sad you're already finished. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    HI I LOVE THIS BOOK

    SO GET THIS BOOK

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    I loved this book. This was my introduction to Christopher Moore

    I loved this book. This was my introduction to Christopher Moore and it was Awesome! I picked this book up on a summer vacation trip looking for a fun read, and I was not disappointed. I found myself giggling out loud and then worrying about who was around me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Hilarious

    If you are a fan of Christopher Moore books this is a must have. Very, very funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Hilareous!

    This is a laugh out loud book. It takes off into an incredible fantasy, but the reader just comes along because it is such fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Funny but subpar work from Moore.

    Christopher Moore is without a doubt my favorite author. After reading Bloodsucking Fiends I have done everything in my power to read all his other novels. I have now almost read them all and loved them until Fluke. While the typical Moore humor is in place this story is maybe too weird for me to get into. The quirky characters that are always present in his work are still in here but not as memorable as other books. Overall, the story is funny but not enough for me to enjoy, sadly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Humor.

    Offbeat, quirky. Gets the gray cells humming. This guy is either a screaming genius or a very talented psychopath. LOL

    I have all of the Christopher Moore books and will only borrow them to select friends. Must have them back. Discover more fascinating things with each reread.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Worth Reading

    A crazy read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    On of My Favorite Christopher Moore Novels

    Yes, it's other worldly and fantastic! The characters are outrageous and memorable and just might give another reason to save the whales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    strange, but interesting

    I liked this book and read it for a book club. I had high expectations because I loved Christopher Moore's Gospel According to Biff. This wasn't as good, but enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Book to Nowhere-Poor Whales

    Had to buy for Book Club; dull and boring;prefer non fiction or good fiction; will donate my copy to Salvation Army

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    eh

    I thought this book was going to be really good. Many people have recommended it to me. However, I wasn't a big fan of it. I thought it was completely bizarre, and to me it seemed to drag on. I could not wait to put it down. Although i will not forget the story line, it seemed to put a big impression in my brain.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    Great Read

    I really enjoyed this. In typical Moore fashion, humor and charmingly eccentric characters, I fell in love. I also learned more about whales than I ever wanted to know. He kept me guessing where the story was going and just when I thought I had it figured out, he threw a twist in. What a fun ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    the glory of singing whales??

    Marine biology can be a strenuous, yet fun job. But to Nate and his crew, they only have one question to answer, just why do the male humpback whales sing? Everyone seems to think it¿s for mating, but the crew knows different. Off the beaches of Hawaii, Nate, Amy, Clay, and the fake Hawaiian kid, Kona (Preston Applebaum) gather information about the wonderous male humpback singers. Was Nate going crazy one day when he saw the words: Bite me tattooed on the tail? Not one of his crew members seemed to notice the weird message posted on the flukes. The picture of the fluke and the message goes missing. Nate knows he saw something, but he can¿t tell any of his crew. ¿Nate just spends too much time in the sun,¿ they would probably say. But, after all the crew¿s research and equipment gets messed up, Nate starts to think something is going on. Why would someone take boring research on humpback whales? Christopher Moore is an amazing author and his book about humpback whales made me giggle and gasp for air at the same time. With a dozen books written, Mr. Moore has not forgotten just how a good story goes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 199 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 10