Customer Reviews for

Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings

Average Rating 4.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Life changing!

I am a huge christopher moore fan, but this book takes the cake! It is not a typical Moore novel, its better! The charactors are vivid and the ideas are unique. He really creates a world my imagination can live in!

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A REALLY odd stroy

This books starts off great- the characters are cute and the language is funny, but then it gets into some serious science fiction. Entertaining, but odd. Nearly gave it up half way through but stuck it out hoping it would make more sense at the end...

posted by 6098644 on January 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Life changing!

    I am a huge christopher moore fan, but this book takes the cake! It is not a typical Moore novel, its better! The charactors are vivid and the ideas are unique. He really creates a world my imagination can live in!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    I have read a few books by moore... not because I sought him out specifically but because his books tend to intersect with my interests. And every time I'm glad I read the book. This one is no different. It starts out slow but by roughly the one third point it has its tendrils around you and forces you to hold onto it until the end. Well worth reading : funny, thoughtful, intelligent and most importantly another solid read out of the author.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    Laughing while Learning

    Do you know the secrets to whale songs? Well, maybe no one does, but Chris does one hell of a job trying to explain it, just like he did trying to explain those missing passages in the Bible (see the book 'Lamb'). Christopher Moore has weaved us a tale that explains quite a lot about whales and keeps us laughing the entire time. I've heard people say the story is hard to buy, but all you need is a little imagination. If you've got it then strap yourself in for one groovy ride on the Chris fun bus. It's well worth the 23.95 price tag, but Barnes and Noble has lowered it just a bit. Enjoy. And, if you're looking for a place to start--read 'Practical Demonkeeping'.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    Prehensile Whale Dorks and a Lot of Brains

    The fact of the matter is that we're all pretty smart. We're hyper-informed, pan-curious, problem-solving up-right cell-phone jamming rulers of the earth and we don't got no time for no boring literature. While some self-evolving intellectuals might invest their valuable time worshipping Satre, David Foster-Wallace, spittle dampened politcal screed mags and Latham's convoluted, hyper-concerned, tweeded dadface of a column, the rest of us brainiacs will shoot them a collective metaphorical moon by getting our neuronic rocks off reading Christopher Moore's new book, Fluke. Now I consider myself a fairly well read, intelligent man. I can pick out a stellated dodecahedron from a group of similiar geometric offenders and I know the difference between Focault and Eco but I steadfastly refuse to waste those smarts on academic trudgology and (ahem) lit cherature. That's like eating what's good for you! I decline! I demand my authors to be entertainnig AND brilliant. Thank God for Mr. Moore, King of the Smarty Pants (I mean that in a good way). In Fluke (and I presume in the rest of Christopher Moore's novels though this is the first one I've read) we subgenius lit snobs can finally get a break. Fluke is smart and smart-alecked. The characters are people I'd like to hang out with--even the crazy ones would make for a good round of tequila shots if you keep the table between you. They're hip but mid-western hip. Chicago hip. Cool without being brittle and precious. The bok's sexy lab assistant character calls them 'Action Nerds'. I had meant to get the new Tom Robbins--his last book, 'Fierce Invalids Returning from a Hot Climate', having caused me to publicly expell liquid through my nose, and was all prepped for a hilarious nose washing, ala Robbins who can effortlessly write about back-door lovin' nuns and the last Monkey Christ without making me throw a book across the room. But I started reading Fluke and I ended up being the idiot stuck at the light at major intersections because I was stealing red-light time to keep reading. There are similarities between these authors (and maybe TC Boyle when he's in a less ironic mood) but the similarity is one of markets. An 'if you like Robbins you'll like Moore' kind of similarity. There is a more considerable difference: Moore actually likes the people he creates. And unlike Robbins who is of the nudge nudge wink wink variety of fourth wall bombadiers, Moore doesn't need to keep calling your attention to his craft or his craftiness. It speaks for itself. Fluke kept me up all night. I finished it at 3 a.m. without that dull aftertaste of desire one normally gets when done with a good book. Usually I want it to keep going-- but Moore knows how to close. When I finished Fluke I felt satisified.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Awful

    This book was simply terrible. The humor was lame, the characters were annoying and the plot was too stupid for words. Save yourself and PASS!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    A REALLY odd stroy

    This books starts off great- the characters are cute and the language is funny, but then it gets into some serious science fiction. Entertaining, but odd. Nearly gave it up half way through but stuck it out hoping it would make more sense at the end...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    Mr. Moore- are you a whaley boy?

    What can you say- it's like David Sedris- Chris Moore just throws you for a loop and before you can stop laughing he hits you again. I have enjoyed all of his books and look forward to what comes next from this 'dysfunctional in a good way' man! I think I have seen the whale that says 'Bite Me' it wanders off the coast of Cambria, CA..............

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    A whale of a time

    Nothing like an absent-minded professor, a hot assistant in sexy shorts and a boat off the coast of Maui to solve the mystery of the Whale song. Why do they sing? No, really. But Scientist Nate doubts his sanity when a humpback flips its tail with 'bite me' scrawled on the flukes. The charming story soon veers toward the severely improbable when Nate is swallowed by the object of his research and discovers a secret underwater world that challenges Darwin's theory. One cannot resist the humorous voice that never quits and hilarious secondary characters like Kona, the white native surfer with a Jamaican accent and dreadlocks 'enveloping his face like a furry octopus attacking a crab.' Thank heavens (or should I say the goo?) because at the beginning, the roaming point of view, long paragraphs and many flashbacks confuse the reader who loses sense of place and time. The imaginary world under the pacific ocean seems sketchy, unfinished, like its inhabitants. The villains remain too vague and impersonal to constitute a believable threat, including the military conspiracy (or is there a conspiracy?), as if the author lacked the time to fully develop and polish his ideas. The romantic thread also suffers from terminal vagueness. Although Christopher Moore did some serious research (as attested by the politically correct author's notes at the end), the story will make the scientific community cringe, unless they have an acidic sense of humor (let's hope they do). Still, this tale, reminiscent of Jonas or Jules Verne, presents an intriguing concept of the creation. Not as funny as other novels from Christopher Moore, like Lamb or Practical Demonkeeping, Fluke still delivers a whale of a time. Pun intended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    Keep It Coming, Moore!

    Moore keeps me, well longing for more. Got the book the other day in the mail, and two hours later was enjoying a post coital nap. I keep wondering, how does he do it? No other author can make me laugh like he does, and if I could, I'd be hanging out with every one of his characters. I have been a devoted follower of Moore since I first laid eyes on the hardback of Bloodsucking Fiends, A Love Story. Sadly, the book is finished and I pine for the next witty, irreverent and damn funny novel by Moore.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Gjgu

    Can i join?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Love it

    Christopher Moore is my favorite author. All his books are amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Fluke

    Not his best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Absurdly entertaining

    This book is one of the most ridiculous pieces of fiction I've ever read... Such a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    I love this book

    I've read it and listened to it and loved it both times. The characters were funny and endearing and I miss them enough to go back and re-read this story again and again. Christopher Moore is clever and creative (and if you listen to it, Bill Irwin does a perfect job with each character). The fun never ends, and we get some great information on whales and marine biology at the same time.

    "Cool runnings, brah."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    What an original story!

    I read another review said to just take a chance on the book. It was only $1.99, so I thought,"why not.?" I am glad I did. I have never read Christopher Moore but I really like his writing style. It's subtle yet hilarious wihout seeming contrived. And the story was really great! I can honestly say I have never read anything like it. The characters are interesting and easy to stick with. The story takes some crazy twists so that it ends in a lace you could NEVER have predicted. Toward the end I kept thinking, "how does someone even imagine this!?" But you know what, it was good and I'd read it again. Really- take a chance on this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    An interesting read.

    I wasn't expecting the things as they happened. I guess it is Sci-Fi, I'm not a fan of it but this was an OK book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Not what I expected - very disappointed

    Disappointing story; not what I expected by the preview

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    5 stars

    Great read! Love the humor, the wonder of it all and the adventure. What a wild ride...like nothing else I've read before. You simply must read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Moore is amazing... A little strange, but amazing.

    Great characters and setting, smart and fun to read... But a little strange at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Not

    Not good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6