Customer Reviews for

Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings

Average Rating 4
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Life changing!

I am a huge christopher moore fan, but this book takes the cake! It is not a typical Moore novel, its better! The charactors are vivid and the ideas are unique. He really creates a world my imagination can live in!

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A REALLY odd stroy

This books starts off great- the characters are cute and the language is funny, but then it gets into some serious science fiction. Entertaining, but odd. Nearly gave it up half way through but stuck it out hoping it would make more sense at the end...

posted by 6098644 on January 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    I have read a few books by moore... not because I sought him out specifically but because his books tend to intersect with my interests. And every time I'm glad I read the book. This one is no different. It starts out slow but by roughly the one third point it has its tendrils around you and forces you to hold onto it until the end. Well worth reading : funny, thoughtful, intelligent and most importantly another solid read out of the author.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    A whale of a time

    Nothing like an absent-minded professor, a hot assistant in sexy shorts and a boat off the coast of Maui to solve the mystery of the Whale song. Why do they sing? No, really. But Scientist Nate doubts his sanity when a humpback flips its tail with 'bite me' scrawled on the flukes. The charming story soon veers toward the severely improbable when Nate is swallowed by the object of his research and discovers a secret underwater world that challenges Darwin's theory. One cannot resist the humorous voice that never quits and hilarious secondary characters like Kona, the white native surfer with a Jamaican accent and dreadlocks 'enveloping his face like a furry octopus attacking a crab.' Thank heavens (or should I say the goo?) because at the beginning, the roaming point of view, long paragraphs and many flashbacks confuse the reader who loses sense of place and time. The imaginary world under the pacific ocean seems sketchy, unfinished, like its inhabitants. The villains remain too vague and impersonal to constitute a believable threat, including the military conspiracy (or is there a conspiracy?), as if the author lacked the time to fully develop and polish his ideas. The romantic thread also suffers from terminal vagueness. Although Christopher Moore did some serious research (as attested by the politically correct author's notes at the end), the story will make the scientific community cringe, unless they have an acidic sense of humor (let's hope they do). Still, this tale, reminiscent of Jonas or Jules Verne, presents an intriguing concept of the creation. Not as funny as other novels from Christopher Moore, like Lamb or Practical Demonkeeping, Fluke still delivers a whale of a time. Pun intended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    What an original story!

    I read another review said to just take a chance on the book. It was only $1.99, so I thought,"why not.?" I am glad I did. I have never read Christopher Moore but I really like his writing style. It's subtle yet hilarious wihout seeming contrived. And the story was really great! I can honestly say I have never read anything like it. The characters are interesting and easy to stick with. The story takes some crazy twists so that it ends in a lace you could NEVER have predicted. Toward the end I kept thinking, "how does someone even imagine this!?" But you know what, it was good and I'd read it again. Really- take a chance on this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Moore is amazing... A little strange, but amazing.

    Great characters and setting, smart and fun to read... But a little strange at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    ANOTHER GREAT READ FROM MOORE!!!!

    Though not a favorite of mine, this still contained classic Moore humor. It was a funny read with some ideas that make you think (also classic Moore). Funny characters that will have you rolling with laughter and groaning at bad puns.

    LOVE LOVE LOVE Mr. Moore. Hope he never stops sharing his wonderful humor and insight with the world.

    -- SPeeD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Slow to start

    It was slow to start for a while and I didn't kniw if I could finish it. But then it got good and I really enjoyed it. A bit science fictiony... a llot science fictiony, but I will read it again as I have read every book this pyscho has written, and enjoyed each of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Interesting, with a viewpoint, it kept my interest

    Well written, while it is a serious subject, it doesn't take itself seriously and is a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Really enjoyed this. As a Douglas Adams fan, I was glad to stumb

    Really enjoyed this. As a Douglas Adams fan, I was glad to stumble upon this book, and Christopher Moore. It was humorous and a bit crazy, but just enough to wonder if....
    I also appreciated the science and conservation info attached in the epilogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Fun and thought provoking

    I did enjoy this book very much, even though Christopher Moore books can be very hit or miss. This one was a hit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    This is my first Christopher Moore book, but it won't be the las

    This is my first Christopher Moore book, but it won't be the last. What a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Great book

    My only complaint is that he spends so much time setting the story up, but when you reach the major cinflict, it is very anticlimatic. It's akmost like Moore got tired of writing it and just wanted it to end. That being said, I still loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    I loved this book. This was my introduction to Christopher Moore

    I loved this book. This was my introduction to Christopher Moore and it was Awesome! I picked this book up on a summer vacation trip looking for a fun read, and I was not disappointed. I found myself giggling out loud and then worrying about who was around me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2