BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Flukes

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    First for me

    Mermaids different but i enjoyed the read. A little drama and romance a great short read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Mermaids enough said!

    Meena was adopted when she was found at sea with he dead mother. Meena is a mermaid raised by humans. She meets blake and they have a connection. As their feelings grow they are blindsided by a monster who doesnt like meena.
    Its a wonderful love story with alittle +18 scenes. Couldnt put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Hard to describe how disturbing I found this book

    I'm not sure who the intended audience is, as there is a warning about the mature language and sexual content making it unfit for any but a mature reader. Yet the style and storyline make it only palatable for a young teen reader. As a grown up with a daughter of my own, I found that the opening chapter describing Meena as a baby was just too jarring placed next to the next chapter with it's sexual undertones and situations. I kept thinking of Meena as a little girl, and the sexual undertones with her in the scene just made me want to throw up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Flukes is a completely original take on the mermaid tale

    <i>Flukes</i>
    is a completely original take on the mermaid tale...not tail :D.  Sorry, had to do it.




    Nichole Chase is a master at writing and capturing sexual tension.  Through out Meena's and Blake's growing relationship you could cut the sexual tension with a knife.  While the story is based on two recent high school graduates, this story is not for the younger reader because when the sex scenes finally do happen they are described and not implied. 




    I found <i>Flukes</i>
    to be a completely captivating read.  From start to finish, I was pulled in by the story being based around a marine rescue center, enthralled with Mitch (the female dolphin) as well as all the rest of the pod and loved watching the relationship between Meena and Blake grow and progress.  I also enjoyed the mystery behind Meena's heritage.




    Head down to <i>Flukes</i>
    where you can spend the afternoon swimming with the dolphins, discover a family to cherish and  fall in love with the sweet romance.  It is definitely a trip worth taking.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Not bad, worth a read

    This book wasn't too bad. It was interesting and defintely worth the read. Saying that, I wish there was a little more action. It was kind of slow at parts, and incredibly predictable. But it was entertaining enough and the chemistry was as believable as it could have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Did not enjoy

    Did not eveen finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Love it :)

    Love it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Enjoyed just wish it had been longer

    I really enjoyed this story and the romance between Meena and Blake jus wish it had been longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Definitely a teen book

    Need I say more, but I actually finished it - so it was that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Flukes is a lovely novel. Sweet and adorable will most likely be

    Flukes is a lovely novel. Sweet and adorable will most likely be the first two words to pop into any reader's head whenever their thoughts turn to Nichole Chase's latest YA novel. Meena lives in the Bahamas with her adopted parents, helping them run their animal shelter, Flukes. Since she's been home schooled her whole life, her biggest worries aren't bullies or boys, but the secret she's hiding. That dynamic changes the moment she meets Blake. Blake is assigned to work at Flukes because of an incident that leaves community service as his only option if he wants to receive his high school diploma. While Meena may believe that staying away from Blake will protect her secret, she learns that maybe her secret isn't in too much danger with him.

    Flukes flows at a very quick pace filling readers up with romance and mysticism. Blake and Meena ruled this story and every moment that Chase spends on their growing relationship is well spent. However, for readers who love the catch of suspense and strong hints of danger, Flukes doesn't have much of either. The limited amount of conflict in the plot gives the story a breezy feeling, as if anything bad that might happen will be very easy to overcome. Out of the whole novel there's just two or three scenes that provide real conflict in either Meena or Blake's lives and they're short-lived or too simple. The impact could have been much greater on the intensity of the plot, if Chase expounded when it came to relating the issues to readers.

    Meena's sweetness coupled with Blake's protectiveness takes the novel's romance to a warm, cherishing level. Chase's characters are strong and humorous, giving Flukes a lightness that will make readers sigh with contentment throughout the story.
    *ebook provided in exchange for an honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    First I want to say thank you to Nichole Chase for giving me a c

    First I want to say thank you to Nichole Chase for giving me a copy of Flukes. This is my first time reading one of her books and omg I loved Flukes it was freaking awesome. Also a first to read about mermaids as well. I loved every character in the book and with Meena and her family you just felt part of it while reading it. I love how Meena and Blake's relationship started out and grew through out the story. Also love the connection with Meena and her human family. They would do anything to keep her secret from anyone and even her best friend Vi kept her secret that is what a true friend would do. Oh ya and you can't forget about the dolphins that was great with Meena's connection to them. It's a wonderful story and I can't wait to see what Nichole Chase comes up with next. If you love mermaids,dolphins and a family connection then you need to buy yourself a copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Terrible

    Do not read it nasty

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2012

    Excellent story!

    I read this book in less than 24 hours. That's how good it is. If you enjoy a good love story with a mystical twist (we're talking mermaid here), you'll enjoy Nichole Chase's "Flukes".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2