Customer Reviews for

Flush

Average Rating 4.5
( 528 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(334)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

peach

Have you ever sneaked out of your house and spied on a Casino Boat that throws away poop in the ocean? Well Noah and his little sister Abbey sure has. The book Flush by Carl Hiassen is a book of adventure that includes a lot of action. Flush, is a vey good book that pe...
Have you ever sneaked out of your house and spied on a Casino Boat that throws away poop in the ocean? Well Noah and his little sister Abbey sure has. The book Flush by Carl Hiassen is a book of adventure that includes a lot of action. Flush, is a vey good book that people of all ages would enjoy.

Flush takes place in Florida, Keys in Thunder Beach. In Thunder Beach, there is this one Casino boat that that throws away poop in the ocean illegally. Dusty Muleman is the casino boat owner. He earns millions of money in one night, yet he stills try so save a little bit of money by throwing away human waste into the beach. Noah's dad is a man of nature. One day, he saw that Dusty Muleman trashing human waste in the ocean so he sunk the boat one day. Once Noah and his little sister figured out, they went on a adventure to proof that their dad is right. They start sneaking out of their house and make friends with strangers that used to work on the boat. They create a plan to destroy Dusty Muleman for sure.

The book Flush is a excellent book to read with your family since this book is about a family solving a crisis. I also would recommend this book for people who likes mystery or adventure but I think that anyone would enjoy this book. If you start reading the book Flush you would keep wanting to read the book until the last page. Flush is an excellent book.

posted by 1152475 on March 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Not His Best

As a HUGE fan of Carl Hiaasen, I was sorely dissapointed by his latest book. This book was written from the point of view of a teenage boy and lacked the adult excitement that I am used to. I also thought the plot was a little simple and didn't hold my attention like he...
As a HUGE fan of Carl Hiaasen, I was sorely dissapointed by his latest book. This book was written from the point of view of a teenage boy and lacked the adult excitement that I am used to. I also thought the plot was a little simple and didn't hold my attention like he usually does. I was hoping for a fun end of summer read but just got a boring, immature mediocure story.

posted by TXGatorGirl on September 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 531 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    peach

    Have you ever sneaked out of your house and spied on a Casino Boat that throws away poop in the ocean? Well Noah and his little sister Abbey sure has. The book Flush by Carl Hiassen is a book of adventure that includes a lot of action. Flush, is a vey good book that people of all ages would enjoy.

    Flush takes place in Florida, Keys in Thunder Beach. In Thunder Beach, there is this one Casino boat that that throws away poop in the ocean illegally. Dusty Muleman is the casino boat owner. He earns millions of money in one night, yet he stills try so save a little bit of money by throwing away human waste into the beach. Noah's dad is a man of nature. One day, he saw that Dusty Muleman trashing human waste in the ocean so he sunk the boat one day. Once Noah and his little sister figured out, they went on a adventure to proof that their dad is right. They start sneaking out of their house and make friends with strangers that used to work on the boat. They create a plan to destroy Dusty Muleman for sure.

    The book Flush is a excellent book to read with your family since this book is about a family solving a crisis. I also would recommend this book for people who likes mystery or adventure but I think that anyone would enjoy this book. If you start reading the book Flush you would keep wanting to read the book until the last page. Flush is an excellent book.

    29 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Flush

    Flush is a really good book. I am 11 and I loved it!

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Best book ever!!!

    The book starts in Florida with a character named Noah going to see his dad in jail on father’s day. Noah’s dad is in jail for sinking a gambling boat named the Coral Queen that he suspected the owner Dusty Muleman was dumping raw sewage into the harbor in fear of it washing up on a popular beach in Florida and the animals will die and the swimmers will get sick. Noah’s dad tried to tell the coast guard and law enforcement what was happening but he couldn’t prove it .Noah’s dad decides to take the problem in his own hands and sinks the Coral Queen. Then Noah sees that the Coral Queen is back up and in business in a couple of days while Noah’s dad is stuck in jail. Now Noah is determined to prove that Dusty Muleman is dumping sewage illegally in the harbor for his dad to get out of jail. Noah will get help from his sister Abbey, Lice Peeking a man with terrible hygiene, Shelly a bartender, and a pirate. Their trying to defeat Dusty Muleman clue by clue, Meanwhile Noah’s mother is really upset at his dad, but Noah is trying to tell her that it’s not his fault and thru the book he is also trying to prove it to his mom. I really liked the book a lot even though sometimes it lost my interest at times. The cover of the book really looked interesting it made me want to see what this book was about. The protagonist of the story worked really hard in the story to help his father. The book reminded me of a detective movie when their trying to get clues to prove the person is guilty. The exposition of the story was kind of boring and a lot of information to take in.The type of conflict in flush was man vs. man. The climax was really amusing to me, it was nothing like I suspected. The falling action was shocking I didn’t think that would happen and it surprised me. My favorite part in the book was the arguments between Shelly and Lice Peeking. I would recommend this book to people who like suspension in a story. If I were in this situation I don’t think I’ll be able to do it because it seems really difficult to try to prove someone really close to you innocent and you don’t want to fail them. Overall I give this book a 10 out of 10

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Flush is a really good book for ages 10 and up it is a challenge but a good book it is about a boy named Noah. Noah's dad has a little problem with anger control. He tried to stop the Coral Queen casino boat's illegal dumping by sinking the boat witch got his dad in trouble and the boat was up and running in 3 days it is a good book read it

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Not His Best

    As a HUGE fan of Carl Hiaasen, I was sorely dissapointed by his latest book. This book was written from the point of view of a teenage boy and lacked the adult excitement that I am used to. I also thought the plot was a little simple and didn't hold my attention like he usually does. I was hoping for a fun end of summer read but just got a boring, immature mediocure story.

    9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Great

    I love this book so much! I think it is awesome . I recommend it to any one who likes to read 11 birthdays, finally, and 13 gifts. The way the author desribes the charictars emmotions and feeling are imazing! I recommend it to all ages. There is also scat, hoot and his newest book chomp are also very good. GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Oisndnsmdmskasmmxvmfmsnlwpqpefijxnfvndnsjwjdhfhddheuejdjdjrjdjfn

    OMG!!!!!!! I ONLY GOT THE SAMPLE AND ITS GREAT!!!! NOW CAN SOMEONE TELL ME HOW TO TURN OFF CAPS LOCK?? I JUST GOT THIS THING!

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Loved it!!!!

    Such a wonderful and awesome book!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Flush

    A great kids book! My daughter is in love with it. Five stars

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    A Royal FLUSH

    I loved the book and anyone who says different I laugh at. I admit, the beginning was not all that great, but I really liked the ending. I think HOOT was better. SCAT and FLUSH are of similar quality

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Too amazing!!!

    I love this book. It took me a week to finish!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    TAP ME!!!

    HAVE NOT READ BUT LOOKS GOOD!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Great story, terrible editing

    Excellent story, I always enjoy Hiaasen. Poor editing though, made it difficult to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Flush Rocks!

    Do you like action, suspense, humor, and the enviorment? If so, read Flush! It is a beautifully written book that grabs your attention. It's NOT one of those books where your mind wanders and you start thinking of other stuff. You always want to know what happens next. You feel bad for the environment when you learn what people do to it because of the description in this uses. It wouldn't be good for a teaccher to read to his/her class because it includes bad words and there's a marriage on the rocks. (May divorce). All the same, it's a facinating book.

    I'm ten years old.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Good....................... so far

    The talking of enviorment issues makes you want to get up and clean up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Love it

    I lovw this book some bad words in it

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    Themes may be too much for young readers

    Parents should be aware that this book has characters involved in domestic violence, alcoholism, and drunk driving and could give the impression that this lifestyle is acceptable. You may want to read the book yourself before giving to grade school readers.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Sample

    I just read the sample of this book,and it sounds like it is going to be great. I' definetly going to buy it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    FLUSH

    I have also read this story is simply divine but not to thrilling when i read it it has to be more exciting ive read books tragic tigers sharks heart attacks and kid books all sorts of kinds books just call it.While i was reading this book i got bored and im only 11

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Carl Hiaasen has written an exhilarating award winn

    Carl Hiaasen has written an exhilarating award winner. Flush, Hiaasen’s engaging second novel for young readers, lures you in for an adventure through a 16 year old boy’s perspective. His Dad is in jail. Again. Apparently Noah’s dad thought sinking Dusty Muleman’s boat was the way to get him to stop dumping raw sewage. In this realistic fictional story, Hiaasen demonstrates strength and perseverance through Noah and Abbey Underwood. Hiaasen grew up in Florida and uses his life experience to build the setting of this novel. He has written four cliff hanging books for young readers. They include Hoot (a Newberry Medal winner), Flush, owner of 14 awards, Scat and his newest book Chomp. “I wait for the headlines to inspire me,” states Carl Hiaasen. “A royal flush!” – Chicago Sun Times. Are they right?
    Let’s take a jaw dropping trip into the modern Florida Keys. With dad in jail and mom out of her mind, Noah and Abbey take matters into their own hands. Could Abbey, a childhood biter, Noah, a passionate guy, and Shelly (the bartender on Dusty’s boat) come up with a creative plan to prove their father’s theory correct? Is it worth it? It’s going to take a wild imagination to find a plan so fitting and perfect to nail Dusty Muleman. Buckle up, because we’re going on a nail biting trip down south to the Florida Keys.
    “The writing is Pitch Perfect!” – New York Times. Carl Hiaasen uses wonderful language to describe the setting of the Florida Keys. For example, “In the distance, somewhere beyond the Gulf of Mexico, the sun was dropping through a coppery and cloudless heaven.” Another example describes Lice Peeking: “He was lounging on the front stoop, sucking on a cigarette.” When the Green Flash ignites, we dive into Noah’s mind for some vivid details. “When the flash of green came, it lasted for a magical flick of time- so brief and brilliant and beautiful, I was afraid I’d imagined it.” “Enough twists and turns to satisfy even the most serious adventure junkies.”- The Horn Book. Carl Hiaasen was very successful on his second novel for young readers, Flush. Hiaasen pulls you into the beauty of the Florida Keys with detailed imagery.
    If you like Flush’s action, you’d also like Chomp, Hoot and Scat. Chomp is packed with action in the lush Florida forest. Wahoo and his dad are off to the Everglades, helping Derek Badger on his next episode of Expedition Survival, until something unexpected happens. If you like to protest for what you believe in, then Hoot is the right book for you. Roy knows about the owl crime. The mystical Running Boy knows about this injustice, too. Can they save the owls from celebrities? If you want a page turning thriller, Scat would be a great choice. Does the class bully have something to do with Mrs. Startch’s disappearance after the arson at Black Vine Swamp? Are you up for a mystery?
    Are you looking for a reading hook? Ask Carl Hiaasen, maybe he’ll lend you one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 531 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27