Customer Reviews for

Fly Away Home

Average Rating 3.5
( 649 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(187)

4 Star

(189)

3 Star

(152)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Must read! It's wonderful...

Fly Away Home
Jennifer Weiner
Atria Books, July 13th,2010
ISBN: 978-0-7432-9427-0, 416 pg
4.5 Stars

Fly away home is the beautifully written story of Sylvie, a politicians wife, and her two daughters Diana and Lizzie. In the wake and aftermath of scandal these t...
Fly Away Home
Jennifer Weiner
Atria Books, July 13th,2010
ISBN: 978-0-7432-9427-0, 416 pg
4.5 Stars

Fly away home is the beautifully written story of Sylvie, a politicians wife, and her two daughters Diana and Lizzie. In the wake and aftermath of scandal these three women are forced to face the truth about themselves including who they are, who they want to be and what they want out of life. The women deal with past issues as well as present. Weiner does a wonderful job of taking the serious issues of commitment, self-esteem, identity and choices and mixing them with comical moments.

Meet the women of Fly Away Home:

Sylvie: Wife of Senator Richard Woodruff. Sylvie has spent her life in her husbands service, helping him, guiding him and focusing on him. After his affair is brought into the open, Sylvie must re-evaluate who she is and who she wants to be. She must make the biggest decision of all. Will she be able to trust and forgive?

Diana: The eldest daughter of Sylvie and Richard Woodruff. After watching her parents marriage, Diana has a very clear path for her life and how she wants it to be. While everything makes sense on paper, Diana forgets about the heart and love. When she is reminded her world is turned upside down and she must choose to love or not to love? Will she be happy?

Lizzie: (Elizabeth) The youngest daughter of the Woodruff's and the family screw-up. Returning from rehab, Lizzie is determined to be better, to make something of herself, and to stay clean. It seems the world doesn't want to make this easier for her, and her family isn't in the best state to help. Will she be able to overcome of one the hardest parts of her life? Will she learn from the rehab and will she survive the shock and surprises she will encounter along the way?

The novel is divided into three sections. Each section skillfully sets up the next and smoothly transitions into it. Each section is divided into chapters, entitled by the woman who narrates the chapter. The first section focuses on past memories as well as current happenings. The second section dives deeper into the issues of the women, each leading to the point of no return. The third and final section brings the three women together. They face the past, present and future together and discover where home truly is.

Jennifer Weiner did a wonderful job with this novel. Fly away home quickly moved its way up the list of my favorite novels by Weiner. She encompasses so many relationships and focuses on them throughout the book. It is skillfully written and will make you laugh as well as feel the emotions of each character. You will find yourself relating to each character in your own way and rooting for them to find comfort and happiness. Fly Away Home is a heartbreaking, insightful novel, full of humor and interpersonal relationships. It will easily become a novel you will not want to put down, a novel that will carry you through many emotions, a novel you simply wont want to end.

Reviewed for http://acozyreaderscorner.blogspot.com

posted by IsabellaRenae on July 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Waster of time, big disappointment

am a huge fan of this author and was thrilled when her new book came out, until I started to read it. The entire book is slow moving, filled with large empty content, run on and on paragraphs with little to none character coversations. It was a book about cheating spous...
am a huge fan of this author and was thrilled when her new book came out, until I started to read it. The entire book is slow moving, filled with large empty content, run on and on paragraphs with little to none character coversations. It was a book about cheating spouses and not much more...and the ending was horrible. Save yourself the time and money and do not waste either on this book

posted by 4190878 on July 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was excruciating to read.

    What a formulaic, predictable, ridiculous book. I would not recommend this to anyone, unless they are a fan of National Enquirer magazine. The characters are unlikable and fit so easily into cookie-cutter roles. You have the cheating senator who really loves his wife, he just couldn't help himself! He even has the nerve to say that his "aide", whom he slept with, reminded him of his wife. The wife who is humiliated, but still "stands by her man" in front of the cameras. The two daughters; one an overacheiving ER doctor who has no redeeming qualities and has hot sex with a med student while her wimpy husband is at home playing video games. And, of course, the recovering drug addict daughter who is sweet, but misunderstood, especially by her self. I only read as far as I did because I had nothing else to read. I finally did what I should have done from the start and closed the book for good. One of the most annoying things was how the author (or whoever wrote the first 50 pages) kept name-dropping and referring to sleazy congressman and jilted wives from real life. So contemporary! Ugh!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the biting sense of humor!

    The wife of a politician finds out that her husband has had an affair. She leaves to begin a new life. We get an inside view of the wife and family's vantage point, the ones who were betrayed and shamed in public. I love the biting sense of humor!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner always be featured during Beach

    Fly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner always be featured during Beach Reads at Writer’s Corner. Her novel explores what happens when a Political wife learns about her husband’s affair and how it affects her daughters.
    Synopsis:
    Sylvie has always put her husband Richard first in their family, regardless of any circumstance. Richard is a politician and a Senator for the state of New York. One day She is driving home from an event when she gets a frantic phone call from her best friend. Seal tells her that Richard has had an affair and it is all over the national news. What is Sylvie to do with this news? How will it impact their daughters? Diana an emergency room doctor and mom to Mylo has her own struggles with her marriage. Lizzy the younger daughter is coming back from rehab and trying to start her life over. Will she be successful? Will Diana be able to cope with her father and other problems?
    My Thoughts:
    Jennifer Weiner definitely has a winner with this one. So many people slam chick lit because they don’t think that there are real issues and only fluff. Fly Away Home does not have fluff at all. All the characters have to deal with the affair. I loved how Sylvie chose to deal with the problem and what insights she discovered. Diana is not a likable character. She seems to have everything but it is not what it seems. Lizzy is trying to put her life back together but doesn’t feel that it could ever be normal. I sometimes felt these conflicts went too far for me. I really appreciate the depth the writer took to convey these very real conflicts.
    The setting for this story was interesting! It took place three different states: New York, Connecticut, and Pennsylvania. I felt it was appropriate for the story that Jennifer Weiner crafted.
    Another entertaining read! I also listened to this novel and Judith Light narrated and did an excellent job! by Jencey \ Writer's Corner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This was a nice story of love, family, growth, and acceptance. J

    This was a nice story of love, family, growth, and acceptance. Jennifer Weiner's work is always a sure thing for me. I enjoyed this one, but is was not my absolute favorite (only because she has others that are even better). Still, a great story: highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Great story!

    Loved this book! Could not put it down and it was very easy to connect with the characters. Just wish it ended with a little more detail. Jennifer Weiner really knows how to pull you in. I've read all her books so far and have never been disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    Good!

    A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Bookaholic!

    Good book but not so good an ending. It left you up in the air about the charachters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Jennifer Weiner's books are equal to a great time with your best friend. Loved this book and the characters, highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Hightly Recommended

    I really enjoyed it...it is the second book of Jennifer Weiner's and I think I will look into her others.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    Fun, Fun, Fun: A Beach Read that Fits the Bill

    I was thoroughly prepared to "hate" this book as a Good Wife or Jenny Sanford rip-off, but a friend loaned it to me, so I figured "what the heck" and threw it in my beach bag. I was pleasantly surprised; it's a light, fast-paced and fun read. Weiner makes good use of her three characters' perspectives in advancing the plot. While these are not the "best-drawn" or most fullsome characters to ever grace a page, their various predicaments ring somewhat true, and the author's prose is witty and crisp. Go for it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great family drama and female bonding story

    Fly Away Home is a beautifully written story of women who rise to the challenge of accepting and changing unpleasant truths about themselves. It's about the difficulties both private and public of being a member of a Senator's family as news of his affair with a much younger woman hit the news. The book is told from the perspective of the different family members, Sylvie, the Senator's wife and each of his two daughters. They are complex and flawed characters and through them Weiner touches on some emotional but timeless topics such as drug addiction, unplanned pregnancy, infidelity and marriage. One thing I enjoyed about this story is that each of these women, although different, is very strong. It's heartwarming to witness their inter relationships grow as each looks inward, confronts her inner conflicts and becomes a shade more true to herself. Although the plot slowed in spots, my main complaint is that although I got to know the characters, neither they nor the story stayed with me for any length of time. In short, fans of Jennifer Weiner and those looking for a light airport or beach read will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    Good but not her best

    Good but not my favorite of her books. Definitely worth the time to read though!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Mediocre

    I LOVED all of Jennifer Weiner's other books, but this one did nothing for me. I pushed myself to finish it. It is slow to start, the middle picks up a little, but the ending seems to never come! Would not recommend it, but can't wait for her next book to come out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    Loved It!

    I love the way this book was written. My first book by Weiner, but I loved it! Read in a couple days. A definate read. Can't wait to read more by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10