Customer Reviews for

Fly Away Home

Average Rating 3.5
( 660 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(191)

3 Star

(154)

2 Star

(67)

1 Star

(57)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Must read! It's wonderful...

Fly Away Home
Jennifer Weiner
Atria Books, July 13th,2010
ISBN: 978-0-7432-9427-0, 416 pg
4.5 Stars

Fly away home is the beautifully written story of Sylvie, a politicians wife, and her two daughters Diana and Lizzie. In the wake and aftermath of scandal these t...
Fly Away Home
Jennifer Weiner
Atria Books, July 13th,2010
ISBN: 978-0-7432-9427-0, 416 pg
4.5 Stars

Fly away home is the beautifully written story of Sylvie, a politicians wife, and her two daughters Diana and Lizzie. In the wake and aftermath of scandal these three women are forced to face the truth about themselves including who they are, who they want to be and what they want out of life. The women deal with past issues as well as present. Weiner does a wonderful job of taking the serious issues of commitment, self-esteem, identity and choices and mixing them with comical moments.

Meet the women of Fly Away Home:

Sylvie: Wife of Senator Richard Woodruff. Sylvie has spent her life in her husbands service, helping him, guiding him and focusing on him. After his affair is brought into the open, Sylvie must re-evaluate who she is and who she wants to be. She must make the biggest decision of all. Will she be able to trust and forgive?

Diana: The eldest daughter of Sylvie and Richard Woodruff. After watching her parents marriage, Diana has a very clear path for her life and how she wants it to be. While everything makes sense on paper, Diana forgets about the heart and love. When she is reminded her world is turned upside down and she must choose to love or not to love? Will she be happy?

Lizzie: (Elizabeth) The youngest daughter of the Woodruff's and the family screw-up. Returning from rehab, Lizzie is determined to be better, to make something of herself, and to stay clean. It seems the world doesn't want to make this easier for her, and her family isn't in the best state to help. Will she be able to overcome of one the hardest parts of her life? Will she learn from the rehab and will she survive the shock and surprises she will encounter along the way?

The novel is divided into three sections. Each section skillfully sets up the next and smoothly transitions into it. Each section is divided into chapters, entitled by the woman who narrates the chapter. The first section focuses on past memories as well as current happenings. The second section dives deeper into the issues of the women, each leading to the point of no return. The third and final section brings the three women together. They face the past, present and future together and discover where home truly is.

Jennifer Weiner did a wonderful job with this novel. Fly away home quickly moved its way up the list of my favorite novels by Weiner. She encompasses so many relationships and focuses on them throughout the book. It is skillfully written and will make you laugh as well as feel the emotions of each character. You will find yourself relating to each character in your own way and rooting for them to find comfort and happiness. Fly Away Home is a heartbreaking, insightful novel, full of humor and interpersonal relationships. It will easily become a novel you will not want to put down, a novel that will carry you through many emotions, a novel you simply wont want to end.

Reviewed for http://acozyreaderscorner.blogspot.com

posted by IsabellaRenae on July 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Waster of time, big disappointment

am a huge fan of this author and was thrilled when her new book came out, until I started to read it. The entire book is slow moving, filled with large empty content, run on and on paragraphs with little to none character coversations. It was a book about cheating spous...
am a huge fan of this author and was thrilled when her new book came out, until I started to read it. The entire book is slow moving, filled with large empty content, run on and on paragraphs with little to none character coversations. It was a book about cheating spouses and not much more...and the ending was horrible. Save yourself the time and money and do not waste either on this book

posted by 4190878 on July 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Must read! It's wonderful...

    Fly Away Home
    Jennifer Weiner
    Atria Books, July 13th,2010
    ISBN: 978-0-7432-9427-0, 416 pg
    4.5 Stars

    Fly away home is the beautifully written story of Sylvie, a politicians wife, and her two daughters Diana and Lizzie. In the wake and aftermath of scandal these three women are forced to face the truth about themselves including who they are, who they want to be and what they want out of life. The women deal with past issues as well as present. Weiner does a wonderful job of taking the serious issues of commitment, self-esteem, identity and choices and mixing them with comical moments.

    Meet the women of Fly Away Home:

    Sylvie: Wife of Senator Richard Woodruff. Sylvie has spent her life in her husbands service, helping him, guiding him and focusing on him. After his affair is brought into the open, Sylvie must re-evaluate who she is and who she wants to be. She must make the biggest decision of all. Will she be able to trust and forgive?

    Diana: The eldest daughter of Sylvie and Richard Woodruff. After watching her parents marriage, Diana has a very clear path for her life and how she wants it to be. While everything makes sense on paper, Diana forgets about the heart and love. When she is reminded her world is turned upside down and she must choose to love or not to love? Will she be happy?

    Lizzie: (Elizabeth) The youngest daughter of the Woodruff's and the family screw-up. Returning from rehab, Lizzie is determined to be better, to make something of herself, and to stay clean. It seems the world doesn't want to make this easier for her, and her family isn't in the best state to help. Will she be able to overcome of one the hardest parts of her life? Will she learn from the rehab and will she survive the shock and surprises she will encounter along the way?

    The novel is divided into three sections. Each section skillfully sets up the next and smoothly transitions into it. Each section is divided into chapters, entitled by the woman who narrates the chapter. The first section focuses on past memories as well as current happenings. The second section dives deeper into the issues of the women, each leading to the point of no return. The third and final section brings the three women together. They face the past, present and future together and discover where home truly is.

    Jennifer Weiner did a wonderful job with this novel. Fly away home quickly moved its way up the list of my favorite novels by Weiner. She encompasses so many relationships and focuses on them throughout the book. It is skillfully written and will make you laugh as well as feel the emotions of each character. You will find yourself relating to each character in your own way and rooting for them to find comfort and happiness. Fly Away Home is a heartbreaking, insightful novel, full of humor and interpersonal relationships. It will easily become a novel you will not want to put down, a novel that will carry you through many emotions, a novel you simply wont want to end.

    Reviewed for http://acozyreaderscorner.blogspot.com

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One great book after another is what Jennifer Weiner provides to her readers

    At some point in a woman's married lifetime regardless of the years invested up to that date she will look at her husband and wonder "what am I doing with this guy"? There a number of other questions that comes to mind as well like "can I do better than this" or the wonderful "seriously did I notice he did that when we were dating"? But it will come and then at that moment you have to decide do I stay or do I go and if I go where the heck am I going.

    Sylvie Server Woodruff did not come to this decision about her husband Richard on her own it was thrust at her the day his affair was public on every 24-hour news channel. He was a powerful Senator and Sylvie considered herself to be his partner is this quest to do right by the people of his state. She never saw herself as helpless but with the other woman's picture being thrown in her face the reality of the life she had chosen vs. the one she might have had or maybe could still have becomes a wakeup call and the alarm needed to be dealt with.

    The decisions that Sylvie makes after are not ones taken lightly but decisions have to be made for herself and even her grown daughters. Her oldest was a doctor, wife and mother while the youngest was a girl struggling to become a woman and no longer an addict. But as the story unfolds so much changes for all three of them as a direct result of Richard's decision to be unfaithful and not realize the consequences of his decisions. Sylvie was now in the what if stage of her life as well and thoughts of how things could have turned out if she had pursued her law career, if she had been home more with her daughters, if she gave everything to everyone and not enough to herself.

    We watch Sylvie grow away from what she sees the photo op her life had become to forge a future that makes it not a what if but a what is and what will be. Could she forgive Richard, can her daughters make their own way in life and when did it become wrong to put yourself first? Every woman deserves her own space to be her own identity and every woman needs a room of their own to breath their own air.

    New love, new life, old issues and past problems all merge together to make this a very good read and one that will answer allot of questions about why women stay with men that are unfaithful and some about why women leave those relationships. It also reveals that marriage is more than the sum of two people, it is the accumulation of the history of the relationship and the people who are all holding hands over the Thanksgiving table.

    Mary Gramlich is The Reading Reviewer at www.marygramlich.com

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Once Bitten, Twice Shy?

    As a woman who has been hurt by love, I am looking forward to this book's tale of redefining herself. It's the story of a politician's wife who retreats to her grandmother's home in the wake of her husband's infidelity. If this book is as good as "Good In Bed" then it will be more than worth the wait.

    For anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain, because of an affair or marital problems, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. I was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it.

    6 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    An Old Story with a New Attitude

    Infidelity is not new. However, the response and reaction to the circumstances is a bit tweaked in this novel. Being a loyal wife, mother and advisor is traditional teaching for women of a certain age or background....when it serves you well, it is grand, when is challenges you, the choices can be difficult. Here the choices are made in the best interests of the wife, the victim. While her character has been lost among the duties of marriage, motherhood and a successful husband, who is a public figure, she finds pieces of the old woman and slowly rebuilds her world, on her terms. Very well done, not too sappy. A real positive twist on an age old issue that is never easy to handle.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I recommend!

    The wife of a Senator finds out that her husband has had an affair, thanks to the media. She leaves to begin a new life. The family of women are trying to adapt to the circumstances and trying to figure themselves out. This is a behind the scenes look, the after effects, how these events affect the lives of their family in crisis, and that's the story that Fly Away Home tells. The story is easy to relate to, as well as realistic. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys a true to life story full of biting sense of humor and a peek into the minds of all the characters.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    very good

    i enjoyed reading this one. I won't spoil the plot, but will only say it will keep you interested all the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2015

    To above

    Ur stupid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2015

    Snowykit

    Hid.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Math

    21
    + 14
    35
    12
    +21
    33

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Frogstar

    Please bring them to Fishclan at "Fish and hook" all results. I would like if i could have all of them. We are in need of everyhing badly right now so lots of kits are needed;)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Awesome

    Another favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Berrystar

    Autumnwhisler? Come back

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Cinderflash

    Cinderflash padded in" Autumnwhisper?" He called.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Awesome!

    Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Loved it!

    This is a heartbreaking story that even a year after readung leaves me at times wondering about the fate of the characters in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Buy it

    Loved how the story played it self out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Another Home Run!

    I can't get enough of her books! Read this in just a few short days and it was not disappointing. After dealing with a loss of my own recently, I can totally relate to the need to escape and re-evaluate life. The characters are relatable and you can almost picture this being made into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    LOVED IT!

    I absolutely LOVED this read... I wish I didn't have to put it down, but it took me a couple of days to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    MUST READ

    This is my second book that i read by Jennifer Weiner and I must say she is now one of my favorites writers. This book is about a mother and her daughters and how they come together and each one finds their true identity. I just loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Amaxing

    This book is one of my all time favorites. Jennifer is an awesome writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10