Customer Reviews for

Fly by Night

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Delightful adventure !

These characters are my friends...the plot was intriguing but not too much so. The entire book was a perfect balance. ...and a perfect speed. Ms. Hardinge gently slips in the most tasty bits of metaphors and word-play. - the dust cover says ages 10 and up - I am 45. ...
These characters are my friends...the plot was intriguing but not too much so. The entire book was a perfect balance. ...and a perfect speed. Ms. Hardinge gently slips in the most tasty bits of metaphors and word-play. - the dust cover says ages 10 and up - I am 45. it's a joy for any reader.

posted by Anonymous on November 26, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

AWFUL

'Fly by Night' is an uninspired story with tired overused characters. Even taken as a 'fantasy-lite' story - where the emphasis is not on challenging the reader, but rather taking them on an entertaining adventure - it fails miserably. The first problem is the prose, wh...
'Fly by Night' is an uninspired story with tired overused characters. Even taken as a 'fantasy-lite' story - where the emphasis is not on challenging the reader, but rather taking them on an entertaining adventure - it fails miserably. The first problem is the prose, which is as unimaginative as it is wordy. The author seems to take great lengths to describe a scene with cumbersome detail and poorly chosen words. Every paragraph seems to drag on, and when finally finished, you don't feel as if you know any more about anything. The next problem is the dialog, which is simply poorly written and dull. Lastly, the story is so cliche that it really isn't worth getting to the end to see what happened. With the plethora of stories available in this genre, a potential reader would be best suited to go elsewhere.

posted by Anonymous on August 6, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    NOT a childrens book

    I believe that too many people think of this book as a childrens book. And the author isn't aiming it that direction. Just because the main character is a child people automatically think it's a book for children. I believe where most people get confused is when the author drops back into 'history' to explain the significance of things that happen during the books timeline. So, I would recommend it for the mature reader but it is NOT a childrens book. And just because you don't understand something, because of lack of years, doesn't make something boring for the rest of us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Delightful adventure !

    These characters are my friends...the plot was intriguing but not too much so. The entire book was a perfect balance. ...and a perfect speed. Ms. Hardinge gently slips in the most tasty bits of metaphors and word-play. - the dust cover says ages 10 and up - I am 45. it's a joy for any reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    AWFUL

    'Fly by Night' is an uninspired story with tired overused characters. Even taken as a 'fantasy-lite' story - where the emphasis is not on challenging the reader, but rather taking them on an entertaining adventure - it fails miserably. The first problem is the prose, which is as unimaginative as it is wordy. The author seems to take great lengths to describe a scene with cumbersome detail and poorly chosen words. Every paragraph seems to drag on, and when finally finished, you don't feel as if you know any more about anything. The next problem is the dialog, which is simply poorly written and dull. Lastly, the story is so cliche that it really isn't worth getting to the end to see what happened. With the plethora of stories available in this genre, a potential reader would be best suited to go elsewhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A great book!

    As a teenager i come across a great many books about high school, girl/guy drama, and other things that adults believe is all we all care about. i found this book to not only contradict such a stereotype but it also heightened my intellect and increased my vocabulary, all the while entertaining me and giving me a story with great characters that i could associate myself with... and this is not just a book for children.. nor is it a book for just adults.. when a book is just a good book then anyone of every age would enjoy reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    A complete delight

    My son recommended this to me and there is indeed a lot here for adults to love! The premise is fresh, the characters splendid and the message nontrivial. I hope there is a sequel waiting in the wings....!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A Good Read, but Requires Patience

    This book is incredible. That said, it is a hard book to get into, and I actually found myself wanting to give up on it a couple of times. This book has lots of things that are hard to understand at first, but if you manage to get into it, it becomes something truly great. The depth of it is amazing as the history of the Fracture Realm is really complex (in a good way though). The characters in the stroy actually feel like they are real people, and you watch and see how they all really grow and develop in ways that are believable. There is lots of dry humor in it as well. Many people gave it bad ratings, but that's simply because they didn't really get into it. Like I said, it does take a while to get into it, but once you do it becomes a true work of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    Funny characters

    I loved Hardinge's wit throughout the book. I was immediately pulled into the story. Some reviewers called the book slow. I'm 19 and an english major... maybe the younger crowd didn't catch her humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2006

    BORING!

    This book is a complete and total waste of time. DO NOT read this awful crappy book unless you want to suffer a very painful reading experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    I know why most people don't like this book!

    Hey there! (I really enjoy writing reviews, so I have quite a few out!) There are plenty of people who rate this book--BORING! But I don't see why they did. For one thing, I think I do know why people don't like it. IF YOU WANT TO READ THIS BOOK, READ THIS PART! This book contains large vocabulary--what I did to enjoy the book was keep track of the words I ran into that I didn't know. Each night, I would look them up in a dictionary and learn them that way. That way, things made much more sense. So, if you're looking for an easy book to understand and enjoy, this may not be the book for you. HOWEVER--this book is beauitfully written. Though confusing at some points, it has a very interesting story line that is fun to follow. I think this book has much potential and has an urbanely (learned that word from this book!) manner. If you want a challenge, this book is right for you! It's very interesting how the storyline runs. It's constantly twisting and turning and I was always caught surprised and so excited to see what would happen next. This book is great for fantasy, suspense, surprise, adventure and patient readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2006

    Terrible

    Like others, I was really surprised by the lack of quality in this book. I was quite disappointed in the book. I have read a lot of Sci-Fi/Fantasy genre and I would NOT recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    BORING

    I was interested at first, I read the first say ten chapters, and then I couldn't bear the book a single second longer. The plot is rambling. It is hard for children to understand, as it may be enjoyable to an adult, the main character is uninteresting. A disappointment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2006

    Blue Among a Sea of Red.

    If I could use but one word to describe this book, it would be: different. I'm not implying that it is so original that you have never seen one of it's kind before but it was just like a classic story with a few things that were new to me. The fact that a con man is included within the story was a example of a difference. The story on its own was a bit plain but Hardinge's words made it seem more vibrant than ever. No matter what people say, Fly By Night is a classic example of one of the better books in childrens' literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    Welcome to the Fractured Realm

    Welcome to the Fractured Realm. Here is a land, a country in many ways similar to England in the eighteenth century. The basic premise of a world where books are censored and meted out by the elite few and the everyday lives of the people are spent trying to please a vast array of minor gods (or Goodmen as is the case here) is not necessarily original. But Hardinge¿s ability to create and sustain a believable alternate world, whose reality is never made questionable, and a story that honestly perplexes and surprises is rare and welcome. We learn how the Fractured Realm came to be broken, of the battles between the Guilds, the jockeying to bring back the monarchy, and the dangerous religious wars of the followers of the Beloved and the Birdcatchers and never doubt for a moment that this is the chilling history of a real world. This beautifully crafted tale begins in the village of Chough with the naming of Mosca Mye. This little fly on the wall is destined for great, if not good, things. Raised by her father, a man of letters named Quilliam Mye whose past is shadowed in deepest black, Mosca has the distinction of being on of the few girls in the Fractured Realm who can read and write. This distinction is not one of honor as we see by the distrust with which she is treated. At age twelve, Mosca is a sharp, shrewish girl, rough spoken and bold. Her father died four years ago, his books soon following in a fiery blaze, destroyed for reasons unknown by the people of the town that had always distrusted this strangely silent man. She has since been living with her dead mother¿s sister and her husband, a mill owner. On the night we again meet Mosca Mye, she has set in action a course of events from which she cannot turn back. Along with Saracen the goose, Mosca escapes the watery wasteland of her childhood with a reluctant companion, Eponymous Clent, a wordsmith and con artist. Their journey will lead them directly into the writhing turmoil of their land centering on the town of Mandelion. As Mosca strives to identify the truth in a vast sea of new ideas, stories, and histories she often makes mistakes. She is not the anemic heroine of many modern tales, a girl of high birth raised in squalor but untouched by its filth. She is a very human girl who has suffered from the neglect she has experienced in the last few years of her short life. That neglect has tarnished but not destroyed. We see Mosca grow and learn and change nearly every moment of the book. She is real and as such is not always likable she is, however, captivating There is a fairly large cast of characters important to the outcome of the story, and each among them is given a chance to shine and develop. It is a dangerous land, this Fractured Realm watch all and trust none. This book is appropriate for its specified age range and beyond, addressing more mature issues with a discretion that parents will appreciate. The vocabulary is at times advanced you may want to keep a dictionary handy for your child (and yourself).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    Ok

    Ok, but not as good as it is made up to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2