BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Flygirl

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story, Great Author

    I love the author for this book. She captivates me with her amazing writing. This book was unforgetable and extremely amazing ! I will always remember it for its edgyness, amzingness, and happiness ! Smith drives me nutts while she constantly continues to prove to me how amazing of a writer she is. I'm thinking, if she hasn't already written another book, she should do so NOW ! Flygirl has no inappropriate parts and not too much cussing. This book is definitly great. Great Story, Great Author

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Amber Gibson for TeensReadToo.com

    World War II is raging across the globe and Ida Mae Jones is doing everything she can on the homefront to support the war effort. With her brother, Thomas, off fighting in the Pacific, Ida Mae wants nothing more than to see the boys come home safely. <BR/><BR/>Donating bacon grease and nylon stockings is not enough. Ida Mae cannot just sit at home when she knows that so many are dying overseas. When she sees an article in the newspaper announcing a new army initiative - WASP (Women Airforce Service Pilots) - she knows that she has found her calling. Like the Russians, Uncle Sam is finally letting women do more. <BR/><BR/>Flying has always been a passion for Ida Mae, since the first time her daddy took her up in his "Jenny," a Curtiss JN-4. She might not have a license, due to a sexist flight instructor, but Ida Mae is an experienced pilot. In fact, she feels more at home in the sky than on the ground. Her father flew to dust crops, and now Ida Mae wants to fly in the army. <BR/><BR/>There is just one problem. WASP is a program for white women, and Ida Mae is colored. <BR/><BR/>With her light skin and brown hair, she just might be able to pass for a white woman. To pursue her dream of becoming a WASP, Ida Mae must deny her identity and face unimaginable dangers. Graduating from the rigorous training in Sweetwater, Texas, to become a full-fledged WASP will be no easy task. <BR/><BR/>Can one colored girl prove to herself and the world that the sky really is the limit? <BR/><BR/>Sherri L. Smith smoothly incorporates extensive historical research to paint a bold and extraordinary portrait of the courageous women of the WASP. Like her idols, Jackie Cochran and Nancy Love, Ida Mae is a plucky, adventurous heroine, defying race and gender barriers to surpass even her own expectations. Smith is honest in portraying the often rough and unfair treatment that women of WASP endured, the unappreciated sacrifices that these women made all in the name of a country that did not see them as equals to men. <BR/><BR/>Ida Mae herself says it best - "We don't get any medals for the things we do. We don't get a parade when we go home." Even without the fanfare and celebrations that they deserved, the WASP played an essential role in winning World War II. <BR/><BR/>And for Ida Mae? "It's all the reward we need."

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Fly girl

    Ida mae is very brave and strong I feel bad for her because of her dad.it is very sad and sad ehen her big brother had to leave to go to the army .she was trying to get her friend to do somthing to help snd the war is also like 9.1.1.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Historical Fiction

    In the winter of 1941, Ida Mae Jones has graduated from high school in Slidell, Louisiana and lives on a strawberry farm with her widowed mother, her grandfather, older brother Tom and younger brother Abel. Tom is a student at a Negro college studying medicine and Ida Mae works as a maid for a well-to-do white family in nearby New Orleans with her best friend, Jolene. Before his death in a freakish accident, Ida¿s father had bought a plane for crop dusting and taught her how to fly. It is her life¿s passion. Sadly no respectable flight school will give her a pilot¿s license because of her gender. As December rolls around, she is resigned to the fact that she may never realize her dream of becoming a professional aviator. When Japan attacks Pearl Harbor and the United States enters the world war already raging in Europe, everything changes for this spirited young woman.<BR/><BR/>Two years later, Thomas is in the army serving in the South Pacific and Ida is going stir crazy at home wanting to get involved. When she learns that the WASP (Women Airforce Service Pilots) program is recruiting women to help fly planes across the country, her dream is rekindled. This unique organization was a merger of WFTD (Women¿s Flying Training Detachment) and the WAFS (Women¿s Auxiliary Ferrying Squadron) whereby the US Army Air Force employed civilian female pilots to fly military aircrafts on missions that ranged from ferrying planes from factories to military bases and towing aerial targets. They made it possible to free up thousands of male pilots for combat roles overseas. Sadly, in 1943 they were also discriminatory against blacks and qualified Negro women were refused entry into the corp. <BR/><BR/>Which is where Sherri Smith¿s story takes-off much like her high flying heroine. Ida Mae is a light skinned Negro who can easily pass for white. She is also a person of high moral character and the realization that she must lie to achieve her goal of joining the WASP is a truly bitter pill. Against her family¿s wishes, Ida applies for flight school and is accepted, her subterfuge successful. Soon she finds herself stationed at Avenger Field in Sweetwater, Texas, with hundreds of other would-be pilots. There she meets two other spirited girls in Patsy ¿Cakewalk¿ Kake, a veteran wing-walker and barnstormer and Lily Lowenstein, a wealthy socialite from New York. They become close friends and in the weeks and months ahead, support each other through the grueling training.<BR/><BR/>Smith¿s research is flawless and she vividly recreates the daily life of a WASP. For the most part, these brave young women were given very little credit by their male counterparts, when all too often they performed to higher standards then the men. Time and time again, WASP pilots were put to the test and their skills and courage always won out. Thus Smith weaves both a marvelous historical narrative that is one hundred percent factual with a warm and endearing fiction. It is a seamless tale that is both sad and inspiring. FLYGIRL is one of those rare books you wish would never end and Ida Mae Jones is a character you will never forget.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Loved this book!!

    I loved this book!! You should read it! :-D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Amazing

    This is an amazing book that i loved so much i will recomend this book to all my friends. Not many books can make me cry at some of the event twists but this did. One reason why i loved it so much was because it takes place during world war two and talks about the first women allowed to fly in the military.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Y

    Awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Amazing book

    A gret book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Great Book

    I loved this book, it was such a beautiful story i want to read it over and over again !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Very good book

    This is a very nice book. It really explains about Ida's life and her challanges when she lost her father.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    !!!!!

    IT WAS AWESOME!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    2

    Is there going to be a second book?????? I read this a long time ago and i though it deserved a sequal? I looked it up and can up with no info so i am now looking to u guys. HELP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Love this book

    This book is an inspation to me i am light skinded and i learned that it dosent matter how you look you are beautiful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Pretty good

    I enjoyed reading this and recomend it to kids who can read a book with a slighty boring beggining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Lmg!!

    Great book!!! Very sad and inspiring a must read:):):)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!!!!!!

    Fantabulous book u should read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Absolutely...

    Amazing inspiring undescribably fantastic. A rollercoaster of terrific emotions. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    So great!! Highly reccomended

    Amazing! I totally loved this book! It is clean and is especially great for girls who dream of being a pilot. Luved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    gettin anxious!

    it gets better every time i read it! i wish that my parents would let me buy it........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2