BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Flying Changes

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

AMAZING!!!!! best book ever. This book is so inspiring. This is the best book i think i have ever read. Sara Gruen is an outstading author. MAKE A THIRD BOOK!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on November 5, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

flying changes

boring! Nothing like Water for Elephants

posted by 1611586 on September 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    AMAZING!!!!! best book ever. This book is so inspiring. This is the best book i think i have ever read. Sara Gruen is an outstading author. MAKE A THIRD BOOK!!!!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The most spectacular read of your life

    This book was amazing and irrestiable!!! I could not put it down. People of all ages would enjoy it. I am 13 years old and loved it!!! I let all my friends read it too. they all enjoyed it(even the ones that don't ride) I read this book before I read Riding Lessons. You can really understand it if you don't read the prequl first. I can't wait to go to the store and buy Riding Lessons!!! :) I am a book-worm and this is a must-have book!!! Everyone can relate to Eva and bad choices that she made or her mom. This book really shows you how strong the bond between horse and rider really is. This is one of those feel-good books that makes you want to have your chance to fly and be fearless.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Flying Changes

    Better then the first book "Riding Lessons".. Be sure to read Riding Lessons before reading Flying Changes.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy read enjoyable characters

    I enjoyed this book very much but I am a horse person and have a very good understanding of the terminology. Someone who hasn't riden may not always understand what the author is describing but the story is still a good one and the horse vernacular shouldn't be too distracting. Some aspects of th plot aren't developed fully and I found that annoying. Definitely for woman, and those with teenage daughters will find it easy to relate.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    A good read.

    This was a great rainy day book. I found the characters interesting and could not put the book down.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    More than a horse book!

    The complex relationship between three generations of women is artfully explored in this novel. So many women will relate to this! Gruen's obvious knowledge of horses adds a great deal to the story as well!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    flying changes

    boring! Nothing like Water for Elephants

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    This book has a good story line, believable characters, and I would definitely recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    i hate reading but loved this book

    i hate reading but i loved this book... not only did it include my favorite things (horses and romance) but it was also well written... i'm reading another book about horses and it isn't nearly as good. i think this book would appeal to even those without horse obsessions.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    Absolutely LOVED It!!!!

    I could not put it down! This could describe so many women's lives. It shows that even when you think you're a grown up, you still have a lot of growing up to do!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!

    Great sequal to the equally great book Riding Lessons. I recomend this book to anyone who has a passion for horses.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2005

    A fabulous follow-up to RIDING LESSONS

    In Flying Changes, the sequel to debut novel Riding Lessons, Sara Gruen continues the story of Annemarie Zimmer and her headstrong daughter, Eva, who is determined to chase her dream of equestrian success despite her mother¿s misgivings. Again, Gruen is pitch-perfect in her portrayal of this turbulent mother-daughter dynamic, and it¿s a credit to the author¿s deft touch that the reader remains invested in her characters even when¿especially when¿they¿re behaving badly. The riding scenes with Eva and her gorgeous Nokota horse, Smoky Joe, are breathtakingly executed: 'They are flying. Joe¿s powerful body is pounding the footing so hard it flies up in chunks behind him. His muscles are so defined he looks like separate pieces you could take apart and reassemble, like Lego. He barrels toward that jump like nobody¿s business and Eva is right there with him, pumping her arms with each thrust of his head.' Several juicy subplots involving Annemarie¿s loves, both past and present, propel the story to a conclusion at once tragic and redeeming. Gruen is a hugely talented writer, and her saga of this exceptional family is so authentic and richly textured they seem like people you¿ve known for years. The series would make a spectacular movie!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    A story deeper

    This is the most wonderful book, phenominal. I've read many books and have been riding since I was 5 and this book touched my heart. A story of grasping on to life pulling yourself together and showing you can do anything your heart desires I love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2005

    Another Extraordinary Novel By Sara Gruen!!!!

    Once again, Sara Gruen has written a gritty, powerful novel that continues where the debut novel RIDING LESSONS left off. I loved the first novel so much, I could hardly wait for this sequel. I could not put it down. She starts the novel off with a bang and although Annemarie has grown considerably and her relationship with her daughter has somewhat improved...there is still a lot of work to be done.... It was great that the same characters were in the novel, and they have all grown in some way. But again, things seem to be better and once again, tragedy occurs. How will they handle it? Well, you'll have to read the novel to find out! I will say that Sara Gruen has out done herself again, and you can tell she did her research, especially about NH! I am a NH Native and it was great to read a novel set in my home State, that included many of our little nuances and our old houses/barns and even our Old Man of the Mountain! This novel also introduced another horse I had never heard of before reading it. The Nokota, which are a wild breed that there are not many left of. I learned about them on the authors website. Sara writes so well, that the books play like movies in my head! This makes the novel move so quickly, that you can not believe your at the end when you are! I was once again moved to laugh, cry and otherwise sob and I could feel every emotion that Annemarie went through, as if I was there myself and going through it with her. I was once again left with some questions and I really hope that she does a third book. I would love to see where this family goes and what happens next! If you love horses and strong, but realistic women characters and storylines, you have to read this book. I am suggesting that my 13 year old daughter read it too! She loves horses and the daughter Eva in this story sounds a lot like my daughter at times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Good read

    Another good read by Sara Gruen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Fabulous read

    Great book. It has loads of humor & real life tragedy. Strong characters & horses! Highly recomend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    One of the best

    Very interesting

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Good for specific readers

    If you love horses, and specifically the world of show horses, you will enjoy this book. I believe if you are not a horse person you will have a harder time relating to the characters and situations. I love horses, but actually enjoyed Sara Gruen's "Water for Elephants" much more than "Riding Lessons" or "Flying Changes". Worth reading though!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Great book

    I love this author. Everything I have read by her so far is wonderful. I really could relate to the main character in a lot of ways. She understands people so well. Im going to go read ape house.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Loved it

    This was a really good book and as someone whos been riding my whole life (well, im 13 but ive had riding lessons since i was 6) i can kinda relate to it. I didnt realize that there was a book before this until after i finished it, but im excited to read the first one now! I finished this book in a day, and stayed up all night doing so I AM A TOTAL BOOKWORM

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7