BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Flying through Midnight: A Pilot's Dramatic Story of His Secret Missions over Laos during the Vietnam War

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    A true treasure of lifes lessons! A book for all! A miracle in print!

    This book is a MUST READ! Not just for the soldiers and their loved ones but for all who desire to learn some of lifes lessons! A true gem of wisdom, hope, and friendship. This Author tells his story with truth,grace,humor and poetry! A book so fitting for our times. Infact timeless in it's lifes lessons. Its had me rethinking times in my life with a new fresh twist.What a gift! An edge of your seat page turner!The worst part of this book was that it had to end! A true literary treasure to be passed down from generation to generation! John Halliday is a 'shockingly real' person and this book will have a profound impact on ALL who read it! Thanks John for this work of art! I hope you won't stop here! I look forward to many more Halliday books! Shawn C.(upstate N.Y)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    Best Flying Story

    I have been in and around flying my whole life, and I have never heard of such a great aviation story! John's writing style held my interest through every paragraph, right to the dramatic end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    In 1970, twenty-four years John T. Halliday reported to his unit, the 606th Special Operations Squadron in Thailand. Having little flight time outside of school, Halliday anticipates minor cargo deliveries until a seasoned pilot takes him up on an orientation trip that nukes the Air Force rule book. He begins to better understand the top secret mission of project 'Candlesticks' the bombing of the Ho Chi Minh Trail in Laos to include the emergency landing of his plane in the dangerous mountainous of northern Laos at the same time that Nixon denied any strikes in that country................ Timely with the reasons provided by the White House for the Iraq War, this is a terrific first hand account of a part of the Viet Nam War that the American government denied was happening. Thus all roads lead to John¿s struggle to safety at the same time Nixon says he and his compatriots do not exist (sound familiar?). Readers will see through the eyes of pilots dodging enemy fire while struggling with sanity as a form of battle fatigue sets in on pilots and crews. The war that never happened is a fabulous exposé of secret brutal missions as related by one of the insiders who provides readers with a deep account of what really occurred............... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    Once Again, Fact Is More Incredible than Fiction!

    Flying Through Midnight is a book you'll not want to put down. It's a must read for anyone who wants to know the truth of war. This is a book every citizen needs to read. Even if you don't agree with the war, our men and women in uniform deserve our support. What an eye opener!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    Finally, what the Viet Nam air war was all about!!

    In spite of Hollywood's attempts to glamorize war, it is a terrible concept and it changes participants drastically. Furthermore, in spite of the fact that more bombs were dropped on southeast asia than were dropped in WWII, very little TRUTH has been written about the Viet Nam air war. This book comprehensively covers all issues and as a BONUS, it relates the absolutely, positively ultimate aviation war story of ALL TIME. The reader will be taken on the rapid maturation of novice to combat vet, the reader will be shown how screwed up that whole war was with inept leadership and incompetent guidance and finally, the reader will be put in the cockpit of the most harrowing airborne emergency and unbelievably phenomenal recovery in aviation history. If you like aviation, if you like war, if you like suspense, if you like history..... THIS BOOK IS FOR YOU!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Must read!

    You can not put this book down! I felt I was sitting or walking next to JT the whole book begging to end. The author gives you the whole gut seaaring fear the laughter the pain.I put it up there with the late Ed Rasmius book "when thunder rolled" it must be a classic for the secret war during Vietnam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Highly Recommended - enjoyed this book very much!

    One of the professors at the college I work for is a character in this book. He said I wouldn't believe what happens in the book and he was right. Captain Halliday has a good writing style that makes feel as if you are a part of the action. Along with my personal investment due to my friend and colleague here, I was hooked from page 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Great read...but did it happen?

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book...found it riveting, moving and literally hard to put down. Great war time drama, some history of little known secret operations and lots of philosophy and meaning of life type of stuff.

    I do wonder, however, if this would have been better as a novel. Some of the dates and incidents don't jive, and the climatic event sounds more than embellished. Still, I would highly recommend this as a wonderful read you will thoroughly enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    Flying through Midnight - Telling how it was!

    To me the title had a double meaning, which you have to read it to grasp the full meaning. As a retired USAF NCO this book pointed out how when the chips are down sometimes the hard fast rules have to be bent or broken to succeed. JT's description of cutting through the wall between officers and enlisted as well as some needless regulations pays dividends when its crunch time. His description of 'Desktop Pilots' and the 'Church of the Air Force' is still going on today as it was in the 20 years when I was serving. The use of his musical additions really sets the tone as well and makes the memories flow. I had a hard time putting this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1