Customer Reviews for

Flyte (Septimus Heap Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 668 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(442)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Flyte...WOW!

Flyte... WOW!!! The followup to Magyk really makes you want to read the whole series! So do! Enjoy them, I know I have and will continue to love this amazing, touching series of the family of Septimus Heap, the boy otherwise known as Boy 412, but now Sarah Heap's son, o...
Flyte... WOW!!! The followup to Magyk really makes you want to read the whole series! So do! Enjoy them, I know I have and will continue to love this amazing, touching series of the family of Septimus Heap, the boy otherwise known as Boy 412, but now Sarah Heap's son, or Marcia's apprentice. This book is a good one! Four stars is definatly a fair rating, though, because Magyk is much more amazing than Flyte. Continue to read The Heaps' stories! They will change your life!

posted by 6049362 on February 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Boring

Not a fan. But luv jenna

posted by 11322978 on March 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Enjoyable Series

    This was purchased for my 10 year old son. He is an avid reader and liked the series very much. He feels that the children in his class that enjoy reading would also enjoy this book. It has a " Harry Potter " type of feel to it and like Potter , Septimus Heap would be liked by boys and girls . The only flaw that he mentioned was it was a little slow in parts . On a side note , for children that participate in the Accelerated Reader program , it has a value of 18 points.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Flyte...WOW!

    Flyte... WOW!!! The followup to Magyk really makes you want to read the whole series! So do! Enjoy them, I know I have and will continue to love this amazing, touching series of the family of Septimus Heap, the boy otherwise known as Boy 412, but now Sarah Heap's son, or Marcia's apprentice. This book is a good one! Four stars is definatly a fair rating, though, because Magyk is much more amazing than Flyte. Continue to read The Heaps' stories! They will change your life!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Awesome!!

    In this heap book SEPtimis finds a flyte charm

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Lol

    That last review of this book explains the hole book in abot2minuets so lol but this book is greeat in rl books my ants freind lended me this rl book and its awsome

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Good but needs more action

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Im awsomesause

    I love this book its so awsome and you need to read this and if you dont read this series you are poo a thousand butts on the side

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    Magyk is better.

    i like thi book but so far magyk is the best in the series! i am only on book 4 soo i cant decide which is the best out of them ALL yet, i said yet! a gret series of books (so far: DDD)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    I NEED

    I need a 2 or more page report on your opinion in this book. Make your headline:HONEST REVIEW TO A BOOKWORM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Fantastic

    Lot's of fun!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Great read!

    I downloaded this first book as a Free Friday and was really impressed. I will be reading the series for sure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Flyte

    this is as good as the first book. it has lots of plot twists and its the kind of thing that keeps you on the edge of your seat. I love the series and eould recomend this book to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fun series

    This series is often compared to Harry Potter, but I think in many ways it's much different. The only parallels that I see are that it involves a boy, who at one point is an orphan, and magic. Definitely written for a younger audience, the Septimus books have a tendency to be a little silly sometimes and the endings easily resolved. However, in contrast, Sage deftly creates an interesting world with often odd and humorous characters who have the ability to surprise the reader. The plot structures of each story vary, and, to any fantasy reader's great joy, she doesn't use the same antagonist throughout every single book. Some of the characters switch sides, and other, new bad guys emerge as the series progresses. Also, unlike many series writers, Sage will start a chain of events that last throughout several books, continuing to hook readers from book to book. She does not wrap everything up neatly, but is still able to finish a book in a way that makes the story seem complete. Then, the reader has the anticipation of discovering how some of the issues that arise in earlier books will unravel in later additions.

    Within Flyte specifically, Sage pulls some interesting twists out of her magical hat. I especially like the fact that Simon becomes the new bad guy and DomDaniel isn't as much of an influence. Also, some of the magical elements and intricacies that emerge from this book continue to add to the enrapturing nature of the series overall. Even the darke magic proves to be unique and engaging in its own way. Also, I love Septimus's new friend Beetle, and the ice tunnels beneath the castle seem like exactly the kind of place I would want to be careening around in a given afternoon. Sage really brings out the sense of the unbridled adventurous spirit throughout the novel. I recommend this to all readers 9+, skewing more toward boys.

    -Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    A reviewer

    I love this book it is amazing. It has many qualities that I like in a book, such as, suspense, magyk, flyte, stratigies, feeling and twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    Exciting. Excellent. Except...

    This book is an excellent read for younger people. I loved Septimus (which I reread right before Flyte) but Flyte... maybe it is just my high speed reading but Flyte just seemed to 'fly on by'. It had a great plotline, and it is nice to see Septimus is fitting back into family life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    Scarier than the first

    Maybe not as good as Magick, but still a great read. definitely a little scarier and more surprising than the first. Recommended highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8