Customer Reviews for

Flyy Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 646 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(544)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

this book should be past down from generation to generation!!

I read this book when i was 13 years old,i'm now 19 and i still read it over and over. This book truly is what ever african amercan girl goes through growing up!! But it also very universal.anyway i still can't belive a man wrote this,omar tyree was on point,and i think...
I read this book when i was 13 years old,i'm now 19 and i still read it over and over. This book truly is what ever african amercan girl goes through growing up!! But it also very universal.anyway i still can't belive a man wrote this,omar tyree was on point,and i think every young girl should read this,this book is whats up for real!!!

posted by rachel_beautiful19 on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

its okay

this book was just okay. the dialogue was flat and hard to get through. i normally read books in less than a day but this took me 2 weeks to finish. i wish i could get a refund.

posted by kimuhhify on April 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 61 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    To Flyy

    I thought the book was the bomb.I read it in like 3 days.Being a young black girl it made me happy to see a book i can kinda relate too.Thumbs up to Omar Tyree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2003

    hot

    this book was one of the best books i have ever read.Omar tyree is an outstanding author. once you start reading, you wont be able to put it down. A lot of the characters are un forgetable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2003

    The first to be an urban classic.

    I enjoyed reading the book and I thought it was a good urban teen story. I was a senior in high school when I first read the hard-cover version back in the fall of 1996. But I also found the story to be kind of unrealistic. Like when Tracy was going around having sex with all of those boys, and then at the end of the story she successfully makes it to college without facing the consequences for her promiscuous behavior. But I did noticed that there were two other characters that suffered the consequences for trying to live in the fast lanes. Like Mercedes, the original "flyy girl" of the story and Carmen who was even more promiscuous than Tracy. But I will admit that I could relate to Tracy when I was a teenager, like when I was fourteen I remember being tall for my age and wearing nice clothes and having my hair look nice. But I would have to say that I could relate more to Raheema because as a teenager I really wasn't having sex with anybody and I wanted to wait until I was married. I would have to say that Raheema was really my favorite character and I would rather consider her the heroine of the story too. But other than that I would have to say that it was a good book though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    Omar does it again!

    this book was one of the best i have ever read, by one of he best authors in the business. being in tracy's age group, i can relate to her problems--i also live in Germantown, the setting of the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    Hottest Book Eva!!!!!!!!!

    I read the sequel to this book (For the love of money) and i just had to read flyy girl. Im a teenager myself and i can relate a lot of the characters in this book to some of my friends and myself as well. It is off the hook and it speaks the truth. I reccomend this book to all teenagers, especially the flyy-a$$ girls who think they have it all together. Omar Tyree keep doing what your doing baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    a great book

    this book is a great book and the auther made his book come alive in your mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    Flyy Girl...Flyy Book

    Flyy Girl Author: Omar Rashad Tyree Published By Simon & Schuster, Inc. New York, New York First Edition published 1997 ¿...don¿t give them nothin¿ unless they got something to give you...what you do is get a nice-looking nut dude with some money and romance his ---. If you can get somethin¿ without doing anything, then do it. But if you can¿t, then make sure you play with his mind real good before you do...¿ That¿s how young Raheema tells her version of the love game to her neighbor Tracy Ellison. Young men will do anything to get next to Tracy, a flyy girl possessing knockout looks, captivating hazel eyes, and extreme attitude. This blossoming attention-getter and her friends have other strategies in mind. Motivated by the fast growing material life surrounding her, Tracy is determined to keep up with the fashions, the boys, and anything that¿s ¿in.¿ Traveling down the fast lane leads the young girl and her peers into some drama, including loss of virginity, loss of trust, disagreements with friends and family, and the introduction to new crowds and environments. When surroundings and relationships threaten extreme heartbreak and a dim world to come, Tracy and others are forced to reexamine their way of life. The lives of each character are based on decisions they make involving love, family, friends, and their future. At some points, one may feel controversial over the actions of the characters, and yet, other times you just feel exactly what the young adult is experiencing. Currently a supporting husband and father of two, Omar Tyree easily captures the pain and triumphs of each evolving teenager as they love and leave those that enter their lives, as well as learn the lessons of the streets. Written with fluent narrative dialect, Flyy Girl strives to explore other themes besides the continuous bedroom issues of African Americans, while bringing new multidimensional characters to life. As a professional journalist, author, poet,and lecturer, Omar Tyree¿s intention was simply to create literature about these subjects, from a fresh voice and perspective through characters who serve as examples of our shared human struggle in the new millennium. His mission--to affect the cultural intelligence of American readers. The realism and unique details of this particular novel, were effective in demonstrating these aspects. An example can be seen in the way the author gives an inside look into the characters lives, their views, and opinions. And, in some parts, the descriptions and reversal point of views, make me feel as if I were actually on the sideline watching the events unfold. I suggest one should read this book if you crave the anticipation of fiction in great detail and sensation. This piece of literature would best suit teenagers and young adults, in their early exploration of love and life. Personally, Tyree¿s writing had me hooked, and was full of entertainment that led to a satisfying ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    This is a Hot book for teenagers

    this is a very good book cause it actually tells us what we teenagers like to do and also tells us that its not all about the sex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2002

    A Must Read

    This book is for young females who struggle to get learn the meaning of life. As with all of Omar's books it gets you ready for excitement and of course pain. Very interesting for people with a mind for the streets. he has done it again. I love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2002

    It Was All Good

    I thought this book was good, cause I think that when I was younger I experienced some of those things talked about in this book.. It was good just like the rest of Omar's books..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2002

    This book was most definitely written by a mans point of view

    First of all Im 12 years old and I read this book in a couple of hours. When I was reading this book I couldnt put it down it was so interesting and because I havent expierienced love yet it was way intriuging. I thought it was degrating and sexes because even though she was acting like a hoe and sleeping with lots of men she didnt get Hiv aids geonerrea hirpies and lots of other stdes. she didnt suffer or was ever emotionally suffereing.I mean it wasnt realistic at all. The only reason I couldnt put the book down it was very bad and I was full of disgust. The ending was very sucky. I know I have grammatical mistakes and spelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    It's a Recommened Book for Teens

    I heard so much about this book. I heard it was so good and one day when me and my mom went to Border's Bookstore and I flipped through the pages it was good. I think if I read the book when I was 9 10 11 or 12 then I probably would have liked it. If i read Flyy Girl before I read True to the Game then I probably would have liked it. It was kind of slow and was good when it talked about Raheema's sister Mercedes but it's a pretty good book and recommend it to teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2002

    I like it!

    At the start of the book I thought it was gonna be boring but as I got into it, it got good. I was very dissapointed at the end though I thought her and Victor Hinson should of hooked up at the end even if he was a player. I can't find the title "Flyy Girl Return's" If you find it please tell me where. Thank You

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2002

    great

    This was the first novel I have ever read and it remains my favorite. You didn't read a good book until you read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2001

    This book was hot!!!

    This book was real good. It got boring at some points, but it was still good. You get very into it. I would actually get mad and Tracy as if she were a real person. This is a book every one must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2001

    I love this book!!

    I reccommend this book to all 6th through 9th grade(female)students. This is our time when we go through our changes. Going from the sweet little 11yr. old girl to the 14yr. old boy crazy wanna be woman. An excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2001

    It's Real

    This book was off the chain. The author kept it real and very down to earth. I love that in a book. It's what keeps me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2001

    The Best Yet

    I really enjoyed Flyy Girl. I would really recommend this book, because it is based on life experiences, and what goes on today in this world. Once you get into it it's hard to get out of it. It captures your attetion right at the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2001

    Get Cozey

    This was a very good book, and it was interesting how Tyree recreated her life. I would defiently recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good book to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2001

    Real

    I was in the book store looking for a good book to read while I was recently on vacation. The clerk at the book store suggested I try reading some books by Omar Tyree. I was glad I did. The book was down to earth and real. I know a few girls like Tracey and now, I see what leads them to behave the way they do. I plan on buying more books by Omar Tyree. Hopefully the will get better and better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 61 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4