Customer Reviews for

Fobbit

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    I am a senior citizen, a woman, a Quaker and a pacifist┬┐not som


    I am a senior citizen, a woman, a Quaker and a pacifist…not someone likely to read a book about war. Regardless, I picked up Fobbit by David Abrams and was sucked into the good, bad and the ridiculous in Iraq. This novel is not an analysis of how, why and what is happening from an academic perspective. It gives no history at all. What is does do is take you into the minds and angsts of the fears and folly experienced by a select few of the fictitious service men and women serving our country overseas. Despite the illusion and media portrayal of the brave and dedicated soldiers, you see, instead, the men and women who just want to get out of the whole ordeal alive and come home: men and women who wake up in the morning riddled with anxiety attacks and suffering from migraines and stomach cramps much of the day.
    I was struck by the ingenious way that Abrams could turn this tragedy into a paradigm shift again and again, i.e. the NFL game playing on the big screen TV while soldiers outside the bob wire fence are trying to defuse a bomb wired to a truck; the pure terror that is wrenching the soldier sent to see if a terrorists who has his fingers on an explosive device is still alive while local inhabitants crowd around the scene and CNN and NBC are taping the entire event live. His example of e-mails exchanged in an attempt to differentiate between the use of the words insurgents or terrorists in press releases makes you swing from laughter to tears. Abrams has written a book about the war in possibly the only manner you can get the majority of Americans who can’t locate Iraq on a world map to stop and read more. The news media presents the same sterile reports night after night. Abrams offers us a glimpse, quite possibly the most honest one we’ll ever get, into what’s happening in the lives of our service men and women caught in this nightmare.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    David Abrams' FOBBIT is a pointedly funny, witty, over-the-top s

    David Abrams' FOBBIT is a pointedly funny, witty, over-the-top sarcastic
    look at life at war without really being IN the war. A
    "fobbit" is a US Army slang for a soldier stationed at a
    forward operating base, or "FOB," who avoids combat at all
    costs by remaining on the base at all times. Vietnam vets will closely
    associate the term with "REMF." Abrams' tale is of several
    such fobbits who's tours overlap and interconnect, although each is
    living his or her own life and trying to survive the deployment in their
    own way. The author is a career soldier, and uses his experience to
    paint ridiculous stereotypes of different kinds of soldiers, including
    infantry types like LtCol Duret and tough-as-nails Sgt Lumley, PAO NCO
    Staff Seargeant Gooding, and the hapless ne'er-do-well CAPT Shrinkle
    (also infantry). There also a bull-headed chief of staff, an overweight
    public affairs officer, and a commanding general who does nothing but
    clip his toenails. Abrams uses his considerable talents to paint a story
    for each that takes advantage of each character's particular flaws in
    order to poke fun at fobbits, war, and the Army in general. The result
    is a highly entertaining story that moves well and has more than a few
    smiles as well as one or two laugh out loud moments. Veterans of any
    war will appreciate the humor, especially if they served on the ground
    in some capacity.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Anon

    December 28, 2012, and I can finally answer the question "what was my favorite read this year?" In the eleventh hour, between Christmas and a new year, Fobbit took the lead. I personally found it to be hilariously heartbreakingly honest. So honest that " just get them home...just get them home...just get them home" is what repeats in MY own head stateside.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    David Abrams is a magician. With one hand, he's teasing, making

    David Abrams is a magician. With one hand, he's teasing, making ruthless fun of the characters in his book. For readers, the types he sends up may be new: the public affairs officer with a perpetual nosebleed, the company commander with stockpiled baby wipes from charity care packages, the press release writer who's got a template for everything from heroics to disaster. Abrams defines a new ridiculousness, a new absurd to go with a high tech war against a low tech enemy. Readers will find it funny. But they will have a hard time laughing, because I believe they will also find it sad.

    Because while one hand is creating this clever farce, the other hand delivers a fair and accurate context for these farcical people. In giving us a glimpse of what this war was really like: the horror of uncertainty, the misery of separation, the impossibility of "the truth" -- Abrams makes it impossible not to like his characters, not to feel complete sympathy for them, so that the more they are cartoons, the more pathos they engender in the reader. My sadness was real.

    If this is comedy, then it is comedy in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh, or the Coen Brothers. Comedy you have to own as true and therefore can't dismiss.

    Come to Abrams' show, and fondly chuckle at the acts he sends out. But don't be surprised when you find yourself on the edge of your seat, halfway through, having inadvertantly grown fond of the buffoons, and urgently fearing for their safety. Fobbit is a nail-biter disguised as a cartoon, a wrenching portrait disguised as a caricature, a brilliant point between cold criticism and warm sentiment -- a war novel everyone should be reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    After reading an advance review copy from NetGalley, I can vouch

    After reading an advance review copy from NetGalley, I can vouch that David Abrams has indeed pulled off a remarkable blend of comedy and tragedy in this first novel, as the incredible press this book is receiving has said again and again. It's a story that will have you awkwardly scratching your head, covering your mouth to hide your inappropriate laughter, and wiping away an errant tear when you read the final, completely unexpected scenes. Characters you'll never imagine you'll understand or cheer for when you first begin to read steal into your subconscious and assert themselves as real and sympathetic, even in the cartoon-like world FOBBIT seems to inhabit. An important novel for all of us, no matter our persuasions about war in the current political climate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Catch-22 for Iraq

    FOBBIT by David Abrams is a fantastic masculine satire set during Operation Iraqi Freedom. For those of you who don't know, a Fobbit is a U.S. soldier stationed at a Forward Operating Base who avoids combat by remaining at the base. Each chapter sets you solidly in the boots of different soldiers and their perceptions of one another as they move through the sand-covered world of Iraq, with mortars flying overhead and situations so ridiculous they're only eclipsed by the fumbling efforts to control the public perception of them.

    It's CATCH-22 for our generation, and I won't be the first person to make that comparison. Granted, there's a sly aside in FOBBIT where one of the narrators is reading Heller poolside, but it's a deserved nod and organic to the situation. I had Heller on my mind while reading FOBBIT for sure, but Chuck Palahniuk as well (another great genre-buster to read, b/c hey - none of us write like him). The writing is masculine and gorgeous at the same time, gut-wrenching and mind numbing. Abrams captures the ridiculous and makes the reader want to put their head in their hands right along with his characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Excellent

    Great, just great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    There are so many layers of fabulous to this novel. I fell in lo

    There are so many layers of fabulous to this novel. I fell in love with the writing, the characters, and the gloriously un-pc humor. None of my emotional reactions were predictable, and I love that as a reader. In the early chapters, I cried with laughter many times, but as the characters evolved, I entered a darker mindset. My heart even raced with fear on the last page. I loved that Abrams made me laugh and made me care. Honestly? I struggle with anything that touches on war and violence, but this novel was pitch perfect. It captured the absurd and the tragic and even touched on fate. As Richard Belmouth would say, "Bloody brilliant."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    An Unusual Perspective of Iraq War Experiences from Public Affairs Officers, and More...

    The book is a fictional portrayal of real life experiences. Well written. As a civilian defense contractor, I read military fiction and nonfiction to gain better perspective on my work environment, and this alternate spin was worth reading. Yes, it's fiction and yes, it likely isn't a fair depiction of all deployed fobbits, but still, it brings home tedious routines and soldiers' loss of physical, mental, and situational control. "Yesterday's weird is tomorrows reason why." (H. S. Thompson)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    SKIPPIT

    I purchased this book partly based on a review which said “A modern day MASH.” In hindsight, I can see why someone might write that, but it has none of what made MASH great.

    The premise is the term FOBBIT, used to describe those who serve in the military but never see combat, or want to. A cohesive story is non-existent until the last few chapters, and all but one chapter is entertaining. The rest seem to be copies of each – like Groundhog Day, over and over. A plethora of obscenities, a handful of military acronyms that you forget the meanings to, and the death of a US serviceman and/or “Hadjis”.

    On about four occasions I considered chucking it and going to something else, but felt both a need to see it through and give the book a chance. Much like leaving a game early, the losing team can come back. This book never really did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    WE NEED TO KNOW

    We need to know the true happeness and not the lies we are told be the lying press.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Can't recommend

    I ordered this book over a month ago and never received it. When I called Barnes and Noble, they informed that it had been damaged in shipping. They never bothered to email or call me. So they said they ship me another one. Which as of today I have not received. Bottom line: TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!

    0 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    In FOBBIT, David Abrams manages to juxtapose irreverence and res

    In FOBBIT, David Abrams manages to juxtapose irreverence and respect, humor and horror, and fact and fiction. It is a gripping story that pulled me in to the darkness of war. Even as sidelined as the characters were for the most part, the danger felt real, immediate, and threatening. A brilliant book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Bummer

    Crappy story with little to no humor. Baseless story line that never went anywhere but down. I would not recommend to anyone unless you want to be bored and waste your money.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2