Customer Reviews for

Foley Is Good: And the Real World Is Faker Than Wrestling

Average Rating 5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2001

    Foley is Great, and He puts the Real World in its Place!

    Some said it was beginner's luck with a boost from the WWF. Now, with yet another best seller, Foley shows everyone that his success is no fluke. I think the only dissapointment from this book is that some people who won't it because of wrestling stereotypes. I don't care if it takes ten bestsellers, Foley will eventually be respected by all and honored for his hard work and commitment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2001

    Awsome

    I thought it was awsome. I like how much deatil he put int the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    Foley Definitly is Good

    I love Mick's new book. It is just as good as his other book 'Have a Nice Day'. It was the best sequel to any book that I have read. The best part was all the Al Snow jokes. I realy recomend this book to a any wrestling fan. I gave it five stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    No Fluke

    After three best-selling books, Mick Foley either has a talent for writing or he has a damn good ghostwriter. I'm placing my bets on the former. The book is full of the self-deprecating wit, insight, and sophmoric humor that made 'Have A Nice Day' such an engrossing read. The missteps in 'Foley Is Good', however, are in Foley's analysis of the Indiana University study on violence in WWF programming and his counterattack on the Parent's Television Council (PTC) and its chairman, L. Brent Bozell III. While Foley's intentions are genuine- pro wrestling is what brought him initial fame and fortune, after all- his assessment of the PTC sometimes comes across as sanctimonious as the PTC's attacks on television programming. If this book didn't have the WWF logo displayed on the cover, critics would be taking notice of Foley's skill as an author and storyteller. Foley is certainly committed to not becoming a flash in the pan as a writer. I'm hoping to see him age gracefully as one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2001

    The Real World Is Faker Than Wrestling

    Foley is Good is an awesome sequel to Have A Nice Day. I really enjoyed that Mick did not hold back when he spoke about the media and people that run the WWF. I especially enjoyed the epilouge where he writes about the PTC and the research study that was done. It is interesting how groups like the PTC will use unethical tatics to advance their cause. Big Brother is not only watching but it appears that he is using any kind of bullying tactic that is available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2001

    FOLEY IS GOD! (GOOD)

    I Think that this book deserve 5 stars because he proves that the real world IS faker than wrestling. This is must read book for wrestling lovers (OR WWF Lovers) EveryWhere!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2001

    old friend #2

    a must for any foely fans explaining more detail more storys about the man we have come to know and love it will make laugh and cry smile and grimace so plese dont besmirch this book just because its written by a '(ex)wrestler' kindest regads s.w.regal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2001

    It's good cause Socko says so...

    Wow. Just wow. Reading the first one was a treat. Reading this one was a full course meal. And I want seconds. One of the funniest, sincerest, and best reads ever. Read this book, even if you ARE a fan of Al Snow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2001

    Mick Shoots and Scores! Again!

    Humor, action, and truth. Just a few of the many aspects of Mick Foley's newest masterpiece, 'Foley is Good'. If you thought he couldn't top his first book, you were very wrong! This one is a must read for any true wrestling fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2001

    Foley is good and even Better

    I started Reading this book on Wednesday and I can't put it down...Really good Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2001

    Foley is Good and is God

    Foley did it again with this one. The best part was the last chapter about the PTC and Mick really put it too them. Foley is God

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2001

    Foley's second book; as good as the first

    Mick Foley does it again. In Mick's own weird, yet appealing way, he show's the public how the wrestling business works, the good and the bad. Giving his honest opinions of thoes that have impacted his career, he continues his playful beration, on Al Snow, while throwing Test and the Mean Street Posse into his rotation of ridicule. For thoes who enjoyed 'Have a Nice Day' this book is a recomended reading. For thoes who have never had an interest in the 'Sport-entertainment' business, you'll learn of a industry, free from stereotypes you may have previously accepted at truth. Recommended by me, as if that means anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2001

    Foley is that Good!

    This book had me laughing for hours. Even after reading it 4 times I still laugh at the misfortune of Al Snow, and co. There is more to this than humor though. The subjects Mick talks about are difficult to deal with. He does so in a professional manner. Everyone needs to read this book to see what is really going on with the world. Simple a must read for the world. Great job Mick!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2001

    The great story of Mick's life after he won his firstn WWF title!

    This book is a must read for any true wrestling fan. This book covers Mick's life from when he won the WWF title in the last book till his retirement at wrestlemainia 2000, in much better vdetail than the bounus chapter in his paperback vesion of 'Have a nice day' did. More importantly this book not only beats on Al Snow but it also rips Test and the mean street posse a new one as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2001

    Foley is God

    This is a great read for any wrestling fan. It lets you go into Mick's mind and find out what he was thinking during some classic matches and moments. Plenty of neat pictures as well. Check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2001

    Foley is God!!

    This is a great book a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2001

    Mick Foley Has Done It Again

    I just love this book granted that I am only on page 2 of the entire book I was lmao while riding home in the car from the book store. You Will Definally enjoy this book if you like Have A Nice Day ( A tale of Blood and Sweatsocks) it is a sequal to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2001

    Why Foley Is Good

    Foley explains the most revealing secrets of his career and the dangers he's been in. He explains the advantages and disadvantages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2001

    Foley is 'That Damn Good!'

    Good book! Wutcha waitin 4, go get it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3