BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Foley Is Good: And the Real World Is Faker Than Wrestling

Average Rating 5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    Foley is GOD!

    This is the greatest book I've ever read. Mick Foley is one of the funniest authors you'll ever read. Go Mankind, 3-World Champion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Foley is good... REAL good.

    Professional wresetling is sometimes a world believed to be filled with idiot yokels who can barely speak proper English. Mick Foley, who is the author of Foley is Good, shows that professional wrestlers are far from stupid by writing a book that is both humorous and educated. The book starts off following his career in late 1998 following Foley¿s WWE Championship victory, and tells of his children getting a hold of the title and how rival company WCW made a remark about his title victory that cause many viewers switch over to watch WWF. The book then continues to tell the story of Foley¿s career in an order paced by the writer himself, as he will tell stories of his career which are sometimes followed by lists of his favorite thing. The book also explores different aspects of the world, including television media, pointing out ways that they are, in his eyes, faker than wrestling. He makes sure to present information in an entertaining way and comes off as nothing less than professional. One thing that I didn¿t like about this book is that sometimes chapters come off as being slightly too preachy and one sided, although that can be expected when somebody is defending the business that they love. A good thing about it is that it is very approachable, requiring no knowledge of his previous book, Have a Nice Day, to understand this book. His tone is very friendly and does come off as professional and well educated. Also in his favor, he makes sure to cite sources that he used when finding information, a small detail which gives him bonus points for credibility. One of the major messages throughout the book is that major organizations that people tend to trust can be deceptive when presenting information. One major chapter in the book focuses on the Parent Television Council, an organization that looked to discourage advertisers from purchasing advertisements on WWE¿s Smackdown television show in 2000. The PTC at the time was blaming WWE for the deaths of kids who the PTC claimed died because they tried moves similar to professional wrestling moves. Foley looks at results of a study done by the PTC, and conducts a similar study, which contains vastly different results. When Foley tries to contact the PTC, they decline comment. Foley uses situations like that to show that sometimes groups like the PTC have tricks to show their view, based on criteria for finding data. This book is not for everybody though, as stories such as ¿the penis suplex¿ show a more juvenile side of professional wrestling. Although the story is the pinnacle of his juvenile side, although he makes sure to crack jokes about fellow wrestlers Test, Al Snow, and a group known as the Mean Street Posse, at every turn. It is part of Foley¿s personality, and for those who can get into it, can be very entertaining. Who this book is for, is for people who want a unique look at the industry that is professional wrestling. Foley didn¿t earn the title ¿Hardcore Legend¿ by being the most sane person on earth, and much of the more brutal stories are in his previous book. This book instead looks at the later part of his career and the effect that wrestling had on both his body and his family. Anybody who finds that to be even remotely interesting should definitely check this out. Overall, the book is very well written, and I would give it a 4.5 out of 5 because it is very well written and entertaining, but at times can be very preachy. Foley is able to back up what he says which really gives him credibility. But this site only allows for whole numbers, so I am giving him the 5, because Foley is GREAT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2004

    Best Book

    I give this book +5 stars!If you like wrestling and you like reading you really think about getting this book!I'm 12 years old and I've read alot of books but this is the best book yet!I hope Mick Foley writes a part 3 on his life.If he does i'll get it!I really think you sould get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2004

    The greatest book I ever read in my whole,entire,life,period.

    I have read this book at least a dozen times,and it never gets old.Even if you've never watched a wrestling match in you'r life,read this book.It's less a book about a wrestler,and more of a book about wrestling as a business.An astounding behind the scenes look at one of the worlds most talked about pastimes.All the chairshots Foley has taken (and there have been lots) haven't his knocked brainstem loose,as he whips out keen observations,humerous prods,and intelectual probes.Buy the paperback version,as it contains nearly 200 extra pages of research defending the business he loves so dearly from the powerbombs,DDTs,and clotheslines of the media,and American Justice system.Foley is good,and Foley Is Good is good,very good. Oh yeah,Al Snow jokes abound

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2003

    This book is great for anybody, not just for wrestling fans

    Anybody who thinks wrestling is fake should really start reading this book. After reading this you will know how much wrestlers wrisk everyday to perform for people. Also, people should look at Mick Foley's other book. Both of these give people and indepth look into the world of wrestling and once you start reading them, you won't be able to put them down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2003

    Great follow up

    I didn't want the first book to end, then this book came out and I couldn't have been happier. This book is a great compliment to the first one. With even more humor and more touching moments from this man's life. If you haven't read either, I highly recomend both books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2002

    Foley does it again

    This book is great follow up to Have A Nice day and a great book for any wrestling/Foley fan. It take off where Have a Nice Day leaves off. And it covers everything and anything that maters. He gives a great description on how Backyard wrestling is bad and shows what he went thru at the end of his GREAT career. BUY IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    Mick IS... a GOOD writer

    What can you say about Mick Foley but GOOD things. Once you start the book it pushes you to read on. Mick mixes his life situations and story telling so well that the book just gets better and better. The honest things that Foley writes about really do him justice as a person. I finished reading this book at the fire station, and was sad to have it end, and have nothing but praise for the man who writes with such enthusiasm. Hey MICK...you are GO(O)D. And MICK if you happen to read these...email me, I have an important piece of history that you may want to add to Dewey's Owen collection...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    Review on foley is good

    This book is the best book i have ever read it tells you how Mick Foley came from backyard wrestling to the top of the world wrestling entertainment it also mentions Mick Foleys accomplishments such as the king of the death match, 3-time wwe champion, first ever hardcore champion and of course a 8-time tag-team champion. Mick Foley has jumped of an 8-ft shed and travelled from his university to his wrestling school just to make it to the top of the world wrestling entertainment Mick Foley has inspired me to try the same and come to the world wrestling entertainment now you re-live all these memories by purchasing this book. this is Foley is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2002

    foley is very good

    i am 13 years okd i read this book and loved it Mick Foley has always been my hero and him writing an autobiography is outstanding. Read this book y0u can not possibly be disappointed. WOW!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2001

    It is the best book ever.

    It is so cool, parents who think that wrestling is all a bunch of BS or that the wrestlers are all thickheaded illiterate morons should really read this book, then you'll REALLY know what wrestling is all about and not say that it's just a bunch of grown men jumping around in speedoz pretending to fight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2001

    I noticed the bad grammer in the title too.

    When I first saw the word 'Faker' on the cover of this book I was almost compelled not to read this book. Being the big Mick Foley fan I am, I couldn't pass up the chance to read it. This book had all the qualitys I want in a book pluss more. This book had humor (although it sophmoric), drama, It almost made me cry on some parts. It had all these things pluss it was infomative, although I am in to current polotics I had never even heard of McCarthyism until I read this book. Compared to his first book this book had less pages, less violence and less wrestling. This is why I think 'Foley is Good' will appeal to more than just wrestling fans. I think this book has the potential to be a classic if non-wrestling fans will give it a chance. Over all I thought this was the best book I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2001

    And I thought his first book was hard to put down!

    I really liked have a nice day but this book is also a great read. Foley is Good picks up right where the last book left off with everything that happend after he won the WWF title for the first time. Read all about the story behind the 'I Quit Match' he had with the Rock as well as other great matches. There is also a chapter about the writing of Have a Nice Day and top 10 lists that list some real intresting things like his favorate T.V. shows. If that's not enough there is a whole section about the PTC and a study that Indiana University did on wrestling that is very interesting. Mick did a ton of research on it. Get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2001

    Awesome Book!!!

    I think that it is totally awesome that Misk Foley writes his own books. I'm now slightly hesitent to read other autobiographies because so many people don't write thier own lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2001

    Kicks Hardcore A@#

    This book is great! If your a fan, thats a plus, but if your not, this book may make you one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2001

    Foley is GREAT

    Foley is Good was a great book, especially since he included his own opinions.I would love to see more wrestler written books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2001

    Foley is God

    This book is, simply put, the BEST book ever written. I especially enjoyed, and personally share, his opinions about the PTC, L. Brent Bozell III, and censorship. I reccommend this book to everyone, wrestling fan or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2001

    Just Plain Good

    Foley Is Good by Mick Foley is very outragegouly good. He is very good at writing books and i hope he has the best life and keep writing Mick Foley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2001

    Foley is Great, and He puts the Real World in its Place!

    Some said it was beginner's luck with a boost from the WWF. Now, with yet another best seller, Foley shows everyone that his success is no fluke. I think the only dissapointment from this book is that some people who won't it because of wrestling stereotypes. I don't care if it takes ten bestsellers, Foley will eventually be respected by all and honored for his hard work and commitment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2001

    Awsome

    I thought it was awsome. I like how much deatil he put int the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2