Customer Reviews for

Follow Me: A Call to Die. A Call to Live.

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Accurate and timely.  It is not at all  about being judgmental,

Accurate and timely.  It is not at all  about being judgmental, it is about being sure, and knowing that we are known through relationship.
I appreciate Platt's honesty and willingness to go against the flow of a post Christian society that often sees itself as biblica...
Accurate and timely.  It is not at all  about being judgmental, it is about being sure, and knowing that we are known through relationship.
I appreciate Platt's honesty and willingness to go against the flow of a post Christian society that often sees itself as biblical,
even though the reflection of the NT church is rarely seen in the culture we have built in the church.   

posted by 5672319 on April 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book was hard for me to get into at first. The opening was

This book was hard for me to get into at first. The opening was somewhat slow…but if you stay with it, it makes a strong impact. We, as Christians, are commanded to spread the Good News and gather new disciples. Are we doing that? If not, you’ll be convicted, and hopefu...
This book was hard for me to get into at first. The opening was somewhat slow…but if you stay with it, it makes a strong impact. We, as Christians, are commanded to spread the Good News and gather new disciples. Are we doing that? If not, you’ll be convicted, and hopefully your life will be changed.

I didn’t particularly like some of the descriptions (too wordy, and somewhat repetitive) but the whole of the book is inspiring.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a Review Copy free from the NetGalley book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 

posted by Nicnac63 on July 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    I usually enjoy fiction more than non-fiction but this book is v

    I usually enjoy fiction more than non-fiction but this book is very enjoyable to read. Platt discusses the sinner's prayer that is said in churches and television shows daily and if that is the starting point for being a Christian. The basis for this prayer is inviting Jesus into our hearts to save us. However, Platt offers a different philosophy - we don't invite Jesus, he invites us. Christianity does not come from us chasing Jesus, but with him chasing us. Throughout the book, Platt discusses aspects of Christian life and what believers think and then challenges them through references to scripture. For example, he challenges Christians that don't regularly attend church for various reasons to participate in the community of followers of Jesus.

    What I liked about this book is that Platt doesn't put forth anything too radical or revolutionary about how faith in Jesus should look in readers lives. Rather, he encourages readers to deepen their personal relationship with Jesus through following what is outlined in God's word. I particularly liked the chapter on following God's will in your life and the different methods people employ to try to figure it out. Platt gave some humorous examples of what people do to find God's will.

    This book is a deep, challenging book to read. It gives readers a lot to think about and chew on, but it very helpful and interesting. I will definitely read this one again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Accurate and timely.  It is not at all  about being judgmental,

    Accurate and timely.  It is not at all  about being judgmental, it is about being sure, and knowing that we are known through relationship.
    I appreciate Platt's honesty and willingness to go against the flow of a post Christian society that often sees itself as biblical,
    even though the reflection of the NT church is rarely seen in the culture we have built in the church.   

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Another excellent book from David Platt...but don't read it if y

    Another excellent book from David Platt...but don't read it if you don't want to be convicted :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Must read

    This book really opened my eyes to what kind of christian ive been and how i need to be. Such an amazing read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    This book is simply amazing. I've yet to finish the second chapt

    This book is simply amazing. I've yet to finish the second chapter and am already buying copies for friends. It's opened my eyes to who Jesus is and who I am called to be in Him! Completely shifting my perspective in an amazing way!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Here is a call for Christians to think about what it really mean

    Here is a call for Christians to think about what it really means to be a Christian - it is more than just saying the "sinner's prayer". The church does not need to be building buildings and having fun programs but to really be telling about Christ to the world. Not an easy read and probably controversial but definitely makes you think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was hard for me to get into at first. The opening was

    This book was hard for me to get into at first. The opening was somewhat slow…but if you stay with it, it makes a strong impact. We, as Christians, are commanded to spread the Good News and gather new disciples. Are we doing that? If not, you’ll be convicted, and hopefully your life will be changed.

    I didn’t particularly like some of the descriptions (too wordy, and somewhat repetitive) but the whole of the book is inspiring.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a Review Copy free from the NetGalley book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    excellent!

    This book is great for realigning our responsibility commanded by Jesus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    This was an encouraging book to read about the importance of dis

    This was an encouraging book to read about the importance of discipleship in the Christian life. There are some questions at the end to think through about your own life and about following Christ. The book is well titled because it is all about following Jesus and not getting caught up in other christian things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2014

    A thoughtful, practical challenge This book wasn't as moving as

    A thoughtful, practical challenge

    This book wasn't as moving as I expected it to be, but it still contains solid information that those who think they are Christians need to hear. Most Americans claim to know Christ, most Americans - in all likelihood - do not know him. Platt lays out how this is the case, and what we can do to fix it. At the end of the book he provides a nice set of questions to help you formulate your response to his book, including space to write down your thoughts, if you desire. A worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Meh

    Nothing new. I had trouble staying with it. I'm not a fan of his writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    I think all Christians should read this book. What could be more

    I think all Christians should read this book. What could be more important than a discussion about whether or not you are truly saved?! Platt challenges readers to follow Christ with total abandon and die to self. This book will certainly make you think, but don't let it stop at "thinking." Take action steps to live your faith out day-to-day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    A must read for any that claim to be Christian.

    An old hymn came to my mind while reading this. "Why Do I Sing About Jesus" This work of David's will challenge you and encourage you. It will give you an evaluation of how you have been following Jesus. While you are being laid low, you will be lifted up with new vigor to follow him in a way that was always intended. You cannot help but to share the good news of Christ with all in your life in word and in deed after reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1