Customer Reviews for

Follow the River

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Adventure from beginning to end!

    I love this book! It focuses on Mary Draper Ingles, a twenty three year old wife and mother of two, soon to be three young children. Mary, despite the hard ship of being a early American settler, is living a idyllic life on a settlement called Draper's Meadow in West Virginia with her husband William and two sons Thomas and George. The story takes a horrifying turn one morning, when a Shawnee Indian tribe attack the settlement and take Mary her two sons and her sister in law Bettie hostage while their husbands are out working in the fields. What follows is a heart wrenching story about how one woman's love, courage and her amazing will to live give her the strength to make the most incredible journey of her life. This book was well written, painfully realistic and perfectly detailed. I believe anyone who hears about Mary Ingles will find her story to be absolutely awe inspiring.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Follow the river

    What a wonderful story of survival, amazing courage, and determination. Takes you back to a time in America when our freedom wasnt yet our own. I have read it a couple times and am looking forward to read it again!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    highly recommend!

    when i read this, i try to imagine if i would have been able to make it back my simply "following the river"
    Thom goes deep into this historical fiction, where the facts surrounding the story come from distant family members who had this story told to them over the years.
    If you love stories of peoples lives, you will love this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Good book!

    In the beginning of the story, Mary Draper Ingles is a young, healthy woman who is nine months pregnant. Mary, and her husband Will, and their two kids, Georgie and Tommy, live in a house in Draper Meadows. One day Will leaves to go to work and leaves Mary and the kids at the house alone. While he is gone Shawnee Indians come and kill Mary's mother and kidnaps Mary, and the kids along with another man.
    The Indians take them through trails, past rivers, all the way to their Indian camp. But before the make it to the camp, Mary gives birth on the trail to a baby girl. After she had given birth, Wildcat, the chief Indian favors Mary because she didn't make noise given birth. At the camp, Mary met a woman named Ghetel. While she is at the camp, she makes shirts for exchange of blankets. After a while of being at the camp, Wildcat wants Mary to be his wife, but she refuses. So Wildcat decides to get back at her. He takes her sons away from her and she is sold to Frenchmen. Then she is taken to the "land of big bones". After a while of being there Mary and Ghetel plan their escape. In order for them to escape, Mary has to leave her daughter with an Indian squaw.
    On the journey home, Mary and Ghetel come across some difficulties. They are running out of food to eat, so they are forced to eat things that may or may not be poisonous. They also dropped their main weapon and a blanket. But they survived.
    I highly recommend reading this book. I would give it 5 out of 5

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I read this years ago in a book club and never forgot it. I red

    I read this years ago in a book club and never forgot it. I rediscovered it when sorting my books and read it again, enjoying it just as much as I did 25 years ago. What a story! Am going to recommend this to my current book clubs. This author has a true storytelling gift , so I'm planning on re-reading more of his books.
    True stories that make history come alive are my favorite and painless way to learn from the past.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    Very good book based on true events. Brave pioneers that struggled to survive and make a good life in new territory. Interesting as well as keeps you interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    This is a really good book!!!

    Follow the River is a book for young adult readers about the real life story of Mary Ingles. It is a facinating account of the life of one of the first settlers in WV. It gives a clear picture of life during frontier times, and showcases one of the bravest women in history. However, be forewarned; this is NOT Little House on the Prarie.James Alexander Thom has written many books for young adult readers about frontier life in early America. He is able to bring these characters to life and make the reader feel what it would be like to live that way. In Follow the River we learn about a pioneer woman who was kidnapped and forced to live with the Shawnee tribe that stole her and her children from their home. She faces more hardships than anyone these days could imagine, including losing her children, but she manages to stay alive and return home. During her time with the indians, Mary finds an inner strength to keep her dream of getting home to her husband ,alive. She also learns there is good and bad in ALL cultures.This book has some really gory parts, so if you are sensitive to that kind of thing, you may want to pass this one up. I thought it made the book more realistic. Life at that time was not an episode of Little House on the Prarie. As the old Dutch woman in the book proves, the trials these people faced were enough to push some to the brink of insanity. Some, like Mary Ingles,found an inner strength to keep going. I would highly recommend this book. It is inspirational to see the kind of ancestors we have. It will be especially interesting to readers from Virginia and West Virginia where the book takes place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    highly recommended

    This book is about a woman named mary ingles. when she is only days away from having her third child she is kidnapped by the shawnee indians. her two boys also get kidnapped with her. the indians attacked their village killing many and taking hostages. Mary and her two sons go on a treturous journey with the indians trying to survive. Mary ends up being the only one out of her family to survive the Indians and their tricks. she finds her way back to her love, william, by following the river back to her village. this book is entertaining, exciting, thrilling, and romantic. i highly recommend this novel to anyone who wants to read a well written story about how love can keep two people together even though they are so far apart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    you've gotta check this out!

    This book, Follow the River, by James Alexander Thom, is about a woman named Mary Ingles, happily married with two children, plus one on the way, was twenty-three when Shawnee Indians attacked her settlement, took captives, and left dead bodies. Mary was among the captives.
    While on their long journey to the Shawnee settlement, Mary was planning escape. She kept in mind that she belonged to Will, her husband, and only Will. She refused to be the squaw of anyone else. She built trust among the Indians and when she knew they trusted her, she slips away into the deadly wilderness, following the river, on the long journey back to Will.
    I liked this book because I loved Mary's spirit and hope, plus it was greatly detailed. I think James Alexander Thom is a great author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    An unbelievable journey!

    I could not put this book down. Hard to believe it is a true story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2006

    Best of all books!

    I loved this book! I read it twice and then told everyone i knew about it. My neighbors read it then i passed it on to my family members who all read it also. I got so into this book I felt like I was with Mary on her journey. My favorit part was when Gretal, Mary's friend, threatened to eat her and Mary put her on the other side of the river. You have to read this book. Betsy Locklear NC

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2004

    Great hsitorical fiction!

    This was a very good, very descriptive book about survival and the sheer strenth and determination of a woman. However, I was also disappointed by the cover. Mary looked nothing like that, I'm sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2000

    I Love This Book

    This is one of my fave books, it's up there with Jurassic Park.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Tigerfrost

    Curls up in a ball and falls ta sleep

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Warriors Den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Awesome

    One of the best books ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    A good story, well told, but not fully believable because of the

    A good story, well told, but not fully believable because of the weather conditions (hypothermia a certainty in some of the conditions) coupled with the fact that these women supposedly didn't have enough food to keep themselves alive in the best of conditions, let alone keeping alive in freezing weather, with many trips through very cold water, with little or no protection. Can you say hypothermia?



    Nevertheless a fun read. Just don't take all the heroics as absolute truth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This is a book of the dangers of the early setters from the Native Americans. The attack capture of settlers. The journey to the native american camp. What I found most interesting was the escape the struggle of two women who endured many hardships to return to the home. I read this Book in three night little sleep that is how much I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Wonderful book, well written,great history

    This is a book you have a hard time putting down.
    It's a great & tragic story, But a Great read.
    Good for book reports or book club

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Fantastic!

    This is a story that stays with you long after you finish the book...a must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6