Customer Reviews for

Follow the River

Average Rating 4.5
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    highly recommend!

    when i read this, i try to imagine if i would have been able to make it back my simply "following the river"
    Thom goes deep into this historical fiction, where the facts surrounding the story come from distant family members who had this story told to them over the years.
    If you love stories of peoples lives, you will love this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Good book!

    In the beginning of the story, Mary Draper Ingles is a young, healthy woman who is nine months pregnant. Mary, and her husband Will, and their two kids, Georgie and Tommy, live in a house in Draper Meadows. One day Will leaves to go to work and leaves Mary and the kids at the house alone. While he is gone Shawnee Indians come and kill Mary's mother and kidnaps Mary, and the kids along with another man.
    The Indians take them through trails, past rivers, all the way to their Indian camp. But before the make it to the camp, Mary gives birth on the trail to a baby girl. After she had given birth, Wildcat, the chief Indian favors Mary because she didn't make noise given birth. At the camp, Mary met a woman named Ghetel. While she is at the camp, she makes shirts for exchange of blankets. After a while of being at the camp, Wildcat wants Mary to be his wife, but she refuses. So Wildcat decides to get back at her. He takes her sons away from her and she is sold to Frenchmen. Then she is taken to the "land of big bones". After a while of being there Mary and Ghetel plan their escape. In order for them to escape, Mary has to leave her daughter with an Indian squaw.
    On the journey home, Mary and Ghetel come across some difficulties. They are running out of food to eat, so they are forced to eat things that may or may not be poisonous. They also dropped their main weapon and a blanket. But they survived.
    I highly recommend reading this book. I would give it 5 out of 5

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    Very good book based on true events. Brave pioneers that struggled to survive and make a good life in new territory. Interesting as well as keeps you interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    This is a really good book!!!

    Follow the River is a book for young adult readers about the real life story of Mary Ingles. It is a facinating account of the life of one of the first settlers in WV. It gives a clear picture of life during frontier times, and showcases one of the bravest women in history. However, be forewarned; this is NOT Little House on the Prarie.James Alexander Thom has written many books for young adult readers about frontier life in early America. He is able to bring these characters to life and make the reader feel what it would be like to live that way. In Follow the River we learn about a pioneer woman who was kidnapped and forced to live with the Shawnee tribe that stole her and her children from their home. She faces more hardships than anyone these days could imagine, including losing her children, but she manages to stay alive and return home. During her time with the indians, Mary finds an inner strength to keep her dream of getting home to her husband ,alive. She also learns there is good and bad in ALL cultures.This book has some really gory parts, so if you are sensitive to that kind of thing, you may want to pass this one up. I thought it made the book more realistic. Life at that time was not an episode of Little House on the Prarie. As the old Dutch woman in the book proves, the trials these people faced were enough to push some to the brink of insanity. Some, like Mary Ingles,found an inner strength to keep going. I would highly recommend this book. It is inspirational to see the kind of ancestors we have. It will be especially interesting to readers from Virginia and West Virginia where the book takes place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    highly recommended

    This book is about a woman named mary ingles. when she is only days away from having her third child she is kidnapped by the shawnee indians. her two boys also get kidnapped with her. the indians attacked their village killing many and taking hostages. Mary and her two sons go on a treturous journey with the indians trying to survive. Mary ends up being the only one out of her family to survive the Indians and their tricks. she finds her way back to her love, william, by following the river back to her village. this book is entertaining, exciting, thrilling, and romantic. i highly recommend this novel to anyone who wants to read a well written story about how love can keep two people together even though they are so far apart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Just shows how strong some women truly are! I just could not imagine anyone could go through and survive what she experienced. I also admired her for keeping her focus in the physical condition she was in...amazing woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Warriors Den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    good historical read

    gets a little wordy and repetitive midway through but it's worth a patient read to the finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Encouraging

    Follow the River is an amazing and inspirational story. Mary Ingles is a determined and courageous person. This story told the true hardships of the early settlements, and the decisions that one had to make in order to survive. This is the true story of Mary Ingles. If you like books that will make you weep and at the same time have some suspense in them then this is the perfect book for you. This book has many moments where you just want to break down and cry for the person in the story. There are other moments where you are at the edge and don't know what to expect from the story. Follow the River is based on the true ordeal of Mary Ingles and tells of the wilderness of the world back in the 1700's. This book also has parts that are boring and you just want to skip them, so if you are one of those people who don't have patience don't even pick this book up. There is also a little rated R parts they're not so bad but just warning you in case you don't like these kind of books. Like I said this book is not what I expected it to be and surprised me at the end, which I did not like at all. Since the ending changed my perspective I give this book a 7/10. Except for the ending this book is really good. READ IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Amazing and Inspirational

    Follow the River is an ispirational and astonishing story. Mary Ingles is a determined and courages person. This story tolded the true hardships that people had to live through in the early settlements and the hard decisions they had to make in order to survive. Some of the decisions that had to be made would never be forgotten. This story is also the true story of Mary Ingles. If you like books tht will make you weep and at the same time want some suspence then this book would be the perfect book for you. Follow the River has moments where you just want to break down adn cry for the people in the story, but it also has moment when you get surised at what the characters do. This story is long and has parts where you just want to put it down because it is boring, so if you don't like books like this then don't even pick this book up. The whole story is just the journey of one women with a lot of determenation to get what she wants and in the end she gets it but she had to lose other things in order to get what she wanted, things she will never forget.I had to make hard decisions in my life, but never as hard as Mary. The ending of the story is not what I expected and took me by suprise. Since the end was not what I expected my rating for this book would be a 7/10 other then that this is a great and inspiring story. READ THIS!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read

    Alexander Thom continues his excellent writing on Native Americans and the Early Settlers.
    This book is not for the faint of heart. There are many very descriptive passages of violence to women and children, but certainly in keeping with the theme of the book.
    Thom does an excellent job of writing a balanced story that gives each group its due.
    The trek of Mary Ingles is remarkable and certainly were it not based on a true story, one would think the author was operating in Fantasyland. His detailed description of Mary's journey of almost 1000 miles on foot and accompanied by a half-crazed senior citizen, begs description. At times the reader will be so exhausted from reading of their many sufferings, that it will be necessary to put the book down for a day or two.
    This book is strongly recommended for those who enjoy reading of our nation's early history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2006

    Everyone needs to read this book!!!

    This book was so thrilling ( especially at the beginning when the massacre took place)that it had my heart racing. Mary Ingles is an excellent example of strength and endurance. This is the first I have read by this author and I plan on reading more of his works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2002

    PERSONALLY INSPIRING

    One of, if not the best inspirational books I have ever read. Mary Ingle's is a heroine beyond compare. Kidnapped, brutized, abused, and the loss of her children would have been impossible to bare, but she did and survived. Start to read the first chapter and you'll not be able to put the book down. I have often used the knowledge that Mary shared in my own personal life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1