Customer Reviews for

Follow the River

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Amazing gripping

    Couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    BEST book Ever! Will be reading more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    My favorite book

    You will really appreciate this book if you live along the Ohio river. Sometime sit on the bank and try to imagine what she did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Very good book

    This book will make you appreaciate having a warm bed at night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Really really really loved this book. One of my all time favorites. I highly recommend it.

    Buy this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    One of the best books I have ever read!

    I didn't realize this was a true story until the end when I read the author's notes. This is just an amazing story. It shows the grit and determination people have and what they can endure when they have to. The author did his due diligence as well and researched thoroughly. If you start this book, you will not be able to put it down. This should be recommended reading in high schools.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Great book

    Loved the story...wholesome and easy to read. Got so involved with Mary's trials, cried alot, she is such a strong woman. So glad I bought this. Will read it again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Wonderful book

    I first read this book 22 years ago. I was 14 years old and it began my love of history. I have since read this book seven times. James Alexander Thom paints an image of what Mary Ingales Drapers life that draws a reader in. Wonderfully descriptive book about a time before the U.S.A. was the U.S.A.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    great book

    one of my favorite books ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    Loved it, loved it, loved it!!!!

    Could not put it down.... a real page turner. I worried about Mary throughout her whole journey and couldn't wait to get back to the book so that I could see how she was doing.

    Very well written and a wonderful true story! I recommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    I highly recommend this book for all readers, young and old!

    This book is well researched and well written. The author's descriptive language put me on the river bank. This is a good historical read for all ages, that chronicles the pioneer spirit of this country!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    wow

    ten times ten times ten is how I rate Follow the River . This book was heart wrenching and fascinating at the same time. What these women went thru was so unbelievable and inspiring, not only the story but the writing itself was really good though he did speak of the environment it does not have a boring page in the book and is a fast read. I really loved this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    Follow the River

    This book turned out to be excellent! I didn't think it was going to be that great, but once I got started reading I didn't want to put the book down! There were one or two parts that really stretched the limits of the imagination, but overall it was very well written and descriptive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    I recently bought this book and it was the best book I have read, since Memoirs of the Geisha. I read this 400 and some page book in 4 days. I couldn't put it down and I constantly thought about it. I couldn't stop talking about the book especially the characters. I know that there is a TV special movie of this book, but I really hope that they make a Hollywood movie of this. I think it can be the next Last of the Mohicans 1992 film. This book offers every genre from romance and love to adventure and action. This book is so touching especially knowing this is a true story. This woman went through allot! She must make many decisions for herself and children. Either stay with a Shawnee war chief who loves her or find her way home to her loving husband who she knows nothing of his fate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    Top 10 All time Favorites

    This is on my favorite top 10 lists of books. It is an amazing book, and it really made me appreciate what an easy life I have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Inspiring and strong!

    I have never reviewed a book and posted it before until I read Follow the River. This book is excellent in every way! Traggic and inspiring. It made me want to be a stronger women with hope for the future. THe beginning is heartbreaking to read especially if you are a mother but remember the account is true and therefore motivating. I am grateful to live in the time I do! I will think of Mary for years to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    WOW!! A REAL PAGE TURNER

    I read this book for my book group which will meet in another two weeks. I had to go to work with me thinking and wishing I could go home early to get back to this book!! How Mary managed to surive this ordeal was her faith in God and the the hope her husband would be there to receive her even without the family she left behind. I think we all could learn a thing or two from this brave woman. Read it, its good!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    Fantastic Historical Fiction

    This book is a must read piece of historical fiction. It has strong characters, a realistic plot, and extraordinary attention to the details of a real setting. From the minute I started the novel, I was intrigued by the main character, Mary. The idea that she was based on a real person made the reading all the more interesting and exciting. To think that a person could survive such harsh conditions and still have the will to fight back, is amazing. In addition to a strong female character, the plot is very realistic. Anyone who studies history knows that Indian raids were not uncommon so the idea that she survives one seems plausible. What really is great is the conflict with nature she must overcome on her journey. Finally, the attention to the wonderful description of the Virginias, is fantastic. A reader can read this book and then actually visit the same path that Mary had to take. I must say this has been a wonderful piece of literature and would recommend it to anyone in search of an uplifting novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    Amazing

    This is the 3rd book of Mr Thom's that I've read, and it was wonderful. He has a real knack of bringing the past alive and putting you in the thick of it. This one really makes you think and makes you marvel at the power of the human spirit and how a little determination can take you a long way- literally! I don't know that I would have been able to withstand half of what Mary went through, much less all of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    An amazing read

    This book was a detailed book that brought clear emotions of awe, pity, horror, and rage. The author does a great job of making the characters and the surroundings seem real-I felt like I was alongside Mary starving, cold, and fearful during her escape. It brought realizations and knowledge about the famous Mary Ingles and how vile, inhuman, and savage people can be to each other. I loved the setting and the story....yet, I am truly grateful for living in this time period. The author does a terrific job of getting the reader deeply involved in the life of Mary Ingles during the mid 1700's. I am still in complete wonder at how patient, determined, and strong-willed Mary was. This book was a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4