Customer Reviews for

Follow the River

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    good historical read

    gets a little wordy and repetitive midway through but it's worth a patient read to the finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Anonymous

    I lived near Drapers Meadow in the '60s and never knew the story until I read this book years later. Loved it then and love it now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    Great story of survival and what a person is capable of when nec

    Great story of survival and what a person is capable of when necessary. Great Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Ashley

    Your not looking for se x are you? She asks with a serious gre. I HA TE guys like that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Mimiji to ashely

    *blushes* oh well you kissed me...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Girl

    Be here at 9 pm mountain time tomorrow and we will find u love. ~Kimberly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    This is the one book that I can read over and over again!

    This is the one book that I can read over and over again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    My favorite book

    I love this inspiring story. A book you cannot put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Amazing gripping

    Couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    repetitive

    This was a book group selection, I would never have chosen it myself. The first part where the woman is abducted by the raiding indians was fine. The escape was fine. The long, long, LONG walk home was beyond tedious! It was also unbelievable that two women, barefoot, in late Autumn, could walk a thousand miles in six weeks, fording raging rivers, climbing mountains, with no real sense of where they were going, with no food and nothing to protect them from the elements. As I said it would not be my choice but that's what a reading group is for.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    BEST book Ever! Will be reading more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    My favorite book

    You will really appreciate this book if you live along the Ohio river. Sometime sit on the bank and try to imagine what she did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Very good book

    This book will make you appreaciate having a warm bed at night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Really really really loved this book. One of my all time favorites. I highly recommend it.

    Buy this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Started off promising but lagged at the end!

    I bougt this like all the other suckers that read these unrealistic reviews. Dont get me wrong it started off promising but about halfway it became a little redundant. It was like the author didnt want to end it so he wrote the same five to six chapters over and over again. At the end i felt like i was reading a twighlight novel. Defintely a one time red on day that u have nothing to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    One of the best books I have ever read!

    I didn't realize this was a true story until the end when I read the author's notes. This is just an amazing story. It shows the grit and determination people have and what they can endure when they have to. The author did his due diligence as well and researched thoroughly. If you start this book, you will not be able to put it down. This should be recommended reading in high schools.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Great book

    Loved the story...wholesome and easy to read. Got so involved with Mary's trials, cried alot, she is such a strong woman. So glad I bought this. Will read it again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Wonderful book

    I first read this book 22 years ago. I was 14 years old and it began my love of history. I have since read this book seven times. James Alexander Thom paints an image of what Mary Ingales Drapers life that draws a reader in. Wonderfully descriptive book about a time before the U.S.A. was the U.S.A.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Encouraging

    Follow the River is an amazing and inspirational story. Mary Ingles is a determined and courageous person. This story told the true hardships of the early settlements, and the decisions that one had to make in order to survive. This is the true story of Mary Ingles. If you like books that will make you weep and at the same time have some suspense in them then this is the perfect book for you. This book has many moments where you just want to break down and cry for the person in the story. There are other moments where you are at the edge and don't know what to expect from the story. Follow the River is based on the true ordeal of Mary Ingles and tells of the wilderness of the world back in the 1700's. This book also has parts that are boring and you just want to skip them, so if you are one of those people who don't have patience don't even pick this book up. There is also a little rated R parts they're not so bad but just warning you in case you don't like these kind of books. Like I said this book is not what I expected it to be and surprised me at the end, which I did not like at all. Since the ending changed my perspective I give this book a 7/10. Except for the ending this book is really good. READ IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Amazing and Inspirational

    Follow the River is an ispirational and astonishing story. Mary Ingles is a determined and courages person. This story tolded the true hardships that people had to live through in the early settlements and the hard decisions they had to make in order to survive. Some of the decisions that had to be made would never be forgotten. This story is also the true story of Mary Ingles. If you like books tht will make you weep and at the same time want some suspence then this book would be the perfect book for you. Follow the River has moments where you just want to break down adn cry for the people in the story, but it also has moment when you get surised at what the characters do. This story is long and has parts where you just want to put it down because it is boring, so if you don't like books like this then don't even pick this book up. The whole story is just the journey of one women with a lot of determenation to get what she wants and in the end she gets it but she had to lose other things in order to get what she wanted, things she will never forget.I had to make hard decisions in my life, but never as hard as Mary. The ending of the story is not what I expected and took me by suprise. Since the end was not what I expected my rating for this book would be a 7/10 other then that this is a great and inspiring story. READ THIS!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6