Customer Reviews for

Following Atticus: Forty-eight High Peaks, One Little Dog, and an Extraordinary Friendship

Average Rating 4.5
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

We should all be so lucky to have an Atticus in our lives

This is not a man and his dog book. This is book of friendship between Atticus M Finch (a miniature Schnauzer) and Tom Ryan a writer. I had not made time to read a book in quite some time and a friend told me about the blog and Tom & Atticus on Facebook. Once I started ...
This is not a man and his dog book. This is book of friendship between Atticus M Finch (a miniature Schnauzer) and Tom Ryan a writer. I had not made time to read a book in quite some time and a friend told me about the blog and Tom & Atticus on Facebook. Once I started reading the blog and then the advance chapters I was hooked. I laughed, cried and was amazed at the friendship between them.

Little did Tom know how his life would change when he decided to climb the peaks of New Hampshire as a way to raise money for cancer in honor of a friend who passed away. Atticus joined Tom in climbing those peaks, only they did it in winter and they did it twice. No small feat as you will soon see. You will learn about Tom's childhood, family and his time in Newburyport as a writer of a small town newspaper. But most of all you will learn of the extraordinary friendship between Tom & Atticus and how Atticus led, Tom followed and how Tom changed his life. Trust me when I say we all need a little Atticus in our lives.

posted by CoreysMomIL on October 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

B

Here goes harriet klausner ruining another book with her excessive plot reveals. Between her and heart2heart, there is no need to buy the book. Stop ruining books fir other readers. It is rude and inconsiderate.

posted by 8888649 on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Very good book, especially for dog lovers

    My neighbor recommended this book since i have new puppy. It is an interestimg book but probably would be enjoyed most by dog lovers. My only criticism is that sometimes the author gets a little "gushy" while describing the scenery

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Calming

    heartwarming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    A dog Lover's delight!

    Amazing true story about a man and his dog. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Great book

    Such a wonderful book. Loved Atticus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Highly recommend

    The author tells an open, honest and transparent story of healing through nature and a special friendship with a very special little friend. A heart warming story that will take you through the emotional continuum, laughter to tears and back again. Those who do not own a dog, but share life with a canine companion will really appreciate Tom and Atticus relationship. I live in a flat land, but have taken some short hikes in the Rockies. This book has me longing to walk outdoors and to return to mountains again in my lifetime. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    It is a very good story (true).

    The adventures of Atticus are very note worthy and interesting. Tom Ryan has had a very interesting life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Heartwarming

    Aticus will steal your heart. Good easy read for a cold, snowy afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    I would have given this a 5 except that I trudged a bit through

    I would have given this a 5 except that I trudged a bit through the first chapter or 2. After that, it was a can't put-it-down story, and that it's true, is even better. They are on Facebook and have a blog. It's one of the few that I bought 3 autographed and "pawtographed" copies (it's in HC and PB) - 2 for friends. I look forward to Tom's sequel, which will be largely about his other companion, Will, who's almost totally deaf and almost totally blind, but loves music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Enjoyable!

    This story touched my heart. The love and looking out for each other was wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    great book

    this is a great book about a dog and his owners journey to discover themselves. through this book you will see how they grow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly reccomended

    Make two new friends, both Tom and Atticus. This book is one you will love to return to as a brief 'mental vacation' as you travel the mountains with this pair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Lovely story of the human-animal bond.

    I don't read much non-fiction, but I love animals and was drawn to this story. The journey they take is physical, emotional and spiritual. The bond between Tom and Atticus is special and he expresses it very well. I felt like I was with him the whole way. An enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Heartwarming story

    If you love animals, you'll love this real-life story about a man and his dog. It will warm your heart and put back your faith in people. The only downside was he went a little long in the description of the mountains. I would love to have a dog like Atticus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Highly Recommend - great story, well written.

    You will fall in love with this wonderful little dog who does great things. Not only is he a great adventurer he is a great friend and touches the lives of many people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    What a journey!

    My love of dogs was the original reason behind selecting this book. The bond which developed between Tom and Atticus cannot be described. You have to experience it. They touched so many lives along their journey. Nice to read something which provides inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    excellent read

    I really liked this book. Dog lovers will definitely be into it, and even if you don't have a dog, you'll get drawn in. My only criticism is that I thought it dragged a little bit about 3/4 of the way in, but it picked back up at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    A Good Read for Inspiration

    For anyone who loves small dogs and adventure, this little book is a great find. Tom Ryan weaves a good story with such detail, it was a pleasure to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    You have to love a dog that climbs mountains!

    An overweight middle-aged newspaper man, a fascinating little dog that will steal your heart and 48 4,000' mountains challenging them makes for a fascinating true story about the amazing bond between a loving and lovable little critter and his equally loving master. Get ready to laugh, be amazed, shed just a tear or two, and enjoy a very happy ending! A wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    A wonderful story about a dog, a man, and the lessons and gifts

    A wonderful story about a dog, a man, and the lessons and gifts they
    bring to each other. As a NH native, living and hiking here for 40+
    years, it was additionally fun to read about places that I know and have
    hiked before. This is a story that will make you laugh and cry, and
    realize that all species have something to give to another if we take
    the time to listen, learn, love and and open up to what the universe has
    to teach us. And the best part is the dog doesn't die in the end. If
    you get the chance to see Tom on his current book tour he is a warm and
    funny speaker who is great fun to listen to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2