Customer Reviews for

Following Your Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Jerry S. Eicher has left me wondering what is going to happen in

    Jerry S. Eicher has left me wondering what is going to happen in "Where Love Grows" with Teresa Long and her fatherless son, the Englisha girl that home home with Susan Hostetler, to learn the Amish ways.

    With the Deacon and ministers being strict on Teresa, she is accepting of the ministers ruling of her, but not mentioning her newborn son, the Hostetler's take him to church. Then something and or someone comes along and see that changes are made so that Teresa can better her faith. Is everyone accepting of these changes?
    Even when Deacon's son fancies the Englisha girl?

    Susan is faced with her own heart pulling her in directions to make decisions.
    But is she too stubborn to really seek God for help and to listen to him?
    Will Susan give Thomas as chance to talk to her?
    Does Susan's dad, Menno, have a secret and will he tell it?

    A surprise ending that no one will see coming in the book and are you left hanging?
    Will Susan and or Teresa follow her heart?


    I cant wait for "Where Love Grows" to be sent.

    **I received this book from Harvest House Publishers by request of Jerry Eicher. I am not required to give a positive review, just an honest one. This review will be posted to Barnes & Noble, Goodreads, and my personal run FB page. The opinions expressed are mine alone.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    For those who love Amish fiction

    This was a great followup to "Missing Your Smile". The main theme is that Susan's Englisha friend want to become Amish in order to raise her son in that Faith. It's all about Teresa's travails in trying to reach that goal. I have read other books by this author and they are always good. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Would recommend.

    Very good book. If you enjoy reading about the Amish, will like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Susan Hostetler, her friend Teresa Long and Teresa's baby, Samue

    Susan Hostetler, her friend Teresa Long and Teresa's baby, Samuel, are settling in at Susan's parents, Menno and Anna, home. Teresa is loving the Amish life and looking forward to going to her first church services. The women are busy doing their Saturday cleaning when they hear a buggy pulling in the drive way, it is Deacon Ray, coming to talk to Menno. After the Deacon leaves, Menno goes inside to deliver the bad news, Teresa is not allowed to go to services! She is disappointed but it doesn't deter her, she asks if they can at least take Samuel with them, she is determined to give him a better life than she had.

    Susan's former beau, Thomas, wants to win her heart back and comes up with a plan. He thinks if Teresa can find a beau and get married maybe he'd have a better chance. Thomas goes to Yost Byler, a man old enough to be Teresa's father, has a filthy house, doesn't clean up himself even and hardly talks to anyone, and convinces him to go to Deacon Ray and offer to marry Teresa on the day of her baptism if he'll let her go to classes. Deacon Ray thinks it over and talks to Menno about it. When Menno explains the plan to Teresa, she gladly agrees to it. After all, she'll get to join the Amish and will have a father for Samuel, a father that will raise him to be a good Amish person and support him. She will do anything for Samuel.

    When Deacon Ray's son, James, see Teresa for the first time, he can't take his eyes away. As he studies her he tries to figure out what she's up to, what she and Susan have going on. He does do a pretty good job of figuring Teresa out in his mind.

    Susan is not happy at all that Teresa is required to marry Yost and throughout the book tries to talk her into going back to Asbury Park, and she'll go with her. Susan isn't very happy being back at home even though she knows her parents are getting older and need help on the farm. It is Teresa that keeps Susan home, she refuses to leave and feels she deserves old Yost Byler, no matter how bad he is, for the sins of her past.

    Teresa is the stronger and more determined one of the two girls. Teresa's coming stirs up a few problems not only in the community but also with Menno, he starts having trouble sleeping because he remembers his past and wonders if an Englisha girlfriend really did lose his child that she was carrying. James has strong feelings for Teresa but his father, the Deacon, orders her not to even talk to him.

    I think I enjoyed this book more that the first one, it held my interest. I know that Susan had left the community and came back because of Teresa and Samuel, but I was still impressed at how she wanted to return to the English world and Teresa was the one to encourage her to stay and to give Thomas a second chance. What a strong person Teresa turned out to be, giving the lifestyle she was raised in.

    Wholeheartedly recommended as a good read!



    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a print copy of this book from Harvest House Publishers and a ebook copy for my Kindle from Net Galley. I was not required to give a positive review, this review is my opinion. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    This Blog Linked From Here The Web


    This Blog
    Linked From Here
    The Web


    Tuesday, May 8, 2012



    FOLLOWING YOUR HEART
    by
    Jerry S. Eicher


    Publisher's Description


    Readers will delight in this warmhearted novel by bestselling author Jerry Eicher (more than 350,000 books sold), a former Amish man, who writes with authenticity and compassion about the people he grew up with.
    Susan Hostetler a young Amish woman who had left her community for life in the outside world, returns home to her family with her English friend, Teresa Long, and TeresaÂ’s newborn, fatherless son. Teresa has come in hopes of settling with the Amish people.
    Deacon Ray gets wind of the situation and forbids the unwed mother from attending the church services, fearing she will pollute the young people of the community.
    SusanÂ’s estranged boyfriend, Thomas Stoll, who still has hopes of winning her back, fears the trouble with Teresa will drive Susan back into the English world.
    Thomas convinces Yost Byler, an old bachelor, to propose to Teresa and adopt her child after the marriage. When Yost visits Deacon Ray with his plan, Deacon Ray agrees to the idea and removes the restriction, allowing Teresa to begin attending instruction classes.
    Outraged at this turn of events, Susan is unable to persuade Teresa from her plans to marry Yost. Yet throughout it all, Deacon RayÂ’s son, James, notices the depth of TeresaÂ’s devotion to the faith and to her son, and finds himself drawn to her.
    With two Amish men interested in her, Teresa has a decision to make...and so does Susan. Will Susan stay in the community she loves....or venture back to the freedom she enjoyed in the English world?
    Book Two in the Fields of Home series


    ISBN: 9780736944786
    Paperback, 271 pages
    Harvest House Publishers

    MY REVIEW:

    Susan Hostetler had been living in the English world as you all know that read book one in this series. She had met another young woman that had a baby out of wedlock, so she brough back to her parent's home in the Amish community. Teresa Long had a little baby boy, and it seemed the parents were fine with her living in their home, but the leaders of the church were not. They would not let her attend their worship services but Susan took the baby with her.

    Susan had left behind a boyfriend that she had caught kissing another your woman so she broke up with him. As soon as he found out she was back here he came begging her for forgiveness, but she just could not let it go. She felt as though if he cheated on her once he would do it again, but her parents thought other wise, they wanted her to get back together with him.

    Mean while Teresa was having some Amish suiters of her own and one was the Deacon's own son. Is Deacon Roy didn't want her to attend their church meetings what was he going to think about his son falling his son. Teresa was wanting to go Amish when she first came but Susan was not sure if she wanted to give up the English life where she had some guys that she had went out with a few times waiting for her.

    I want to thank Harvest House and Jerry S. Eicher for sending me this free book for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Following Your Heart - The Story Continues!

    This is a continuing story of Susan Hostetler and her Englisha friend, Teresa Long. Susan has returned home bringing Teresa her friend from the outside world and Teresa’s baby Samuel with her. When Teresa told her boyfriend she was having his baby he wanted no part of her unless she got rid of the baby. Wanting to give her baby a chance and to get out of the situation she was living in and completely away from her boyfriend Teresa convinced Susan to let her and baby Samuel come along with her. Teresa’s hearts desire was to settle in with the Amish community and raise Samuel in the way God intended for her to raise him. Upon returning home Thomas, Susan’s ex-boyfriend, wanted to immediately begin where they had left off. Susan hasn’t and doesn’t plan on forgiving Thomas for betraying her by kissing her best friend. Thomas is the reason Susan fled the Amish community for the outside world. They had grown up together and planned to be married some day. Thomas wants her back. As the story continues two men become interested in Teresa. Yost Byler has been a bachelor all his life and is in need of some house cleaning and some good cooking. Those are the main interests he has in a life with Teresa. On the other hand, James the son of Deacon Ray is interested in her too, but not for the same reasons that Yost is. There are a few twists and turns in this book; also, a hidden secret from the past. Which character in this book has a less than perfect past life that they hope to keep hidden forever? Is Teresa interested in Yost or James; perhaps neither one? Will Susan allow her heart to soften toward Thomas and forgive him? Can she forgive him? This was a great read! I would strongly suggest if you haven’t read book one you do so before reading this book. They go hand and hand together. I wouldn’t want you to miss out on all that takes place in book one that leads into book two. You will read all about Susan’s life in the Englisha world. Once again author Jerry S. Eicher brings God, Faith, Trust and the importance of a loving family into this mix. It was a wonderful page turning read. I loved it and I gave it a 5 star review! I am looking forward to reading Where Love Grows the third book in this series. I wish to thank Jerry S. Eicher and Harvest House Publishers for sending me a copy of Following Your Heart to read and review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1