Customer Reviews for

Folly Beach

Average Rating 3.5
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Great Summer Read!

Dorothea Benton Frank does it again! Her latest book tells the story of Cate Cooper, a widow whose husband left her broke, humiliated, and with a soiled piano ( you'll understand once you read it). She heads down South to Folly Beach to stay with her crotchety Aunt Dais...
Dorothea Benton Frank does it again! Her latest book tells the story of Cate Cooper, a widow whose husband left her broke, humiliated, and with a soiled piano ( you'll understand once you read it). She heads down South to Folly Beach to stay with her crotchety Aunt Daisy and Daisy's partner Ella. These two ladies were wonderfully portrayed in this book. Cate goes to live in a cottage once owned by a couple who worked with George Gershwin on one of his musicals. Each chapter starts with a vignette about Dorothy Heywood and her husband Dubose, all of which tell a sub story in itself. Cate finds the inspiration to start a new life, career, and romance on Folly Beach. I especially enjoyed her interaction with her son Russ and his obnoxious wife, Alice. As usually happens when I finish one of Ms. Benton Frank's books, I want to head for the beaches of South Carolina and soak up the south and all of its ways !

posted by SharonRedfern on June 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointed

I purchsed this book before it was released as I truly have loved all her books. This book does not come close to her other books. I cannot recommend it to my friends. I will anxiously await anther book and hope it is more like her previous books. July 2, 2011

posted by 8204949 on July 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Summer Read!

    Dorothea Benton Frank does it again! Her latest book tells the story of Cate Cooper, a widow whose husband left her broke, humiliated, and with a soiled piano ( you'll understand once you read it). She heads down South to Folly Beach to stay with her crotchety Aunt Daisy and Daisy's partner Ella. These two ladies were wonderfully portrayed in this book. Cate goes to live in a cottage once owned by a couple who worked with George Gershwin on one of his musicals. Each chapter starts with a vignette about Dorothy Heywood and her husband Dubose, all of which tell a sub story in itself. Cate finds the inspiration to start a new life, career, and romance on Folly Beach. I especially enjoyed her interaction with her son Russ and his obnoxious wife, Alice. As usually happens when I finish one of Ms. Benton Frank's books, I want to head for the beaches of South Carolina and soak up the south and all of its ways !

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    A good story

    This was a good story and held my interest. A quick read for a summer day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Mistkit????

    Mistkit?????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Shadow

    She telliports to a cloud

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Interesting Read

    Took a while to get into but once I figured out the connections, I enjoyed the book. Loved Aunt Daisy and Ella. Would recommend to anyone who likes an education along with a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    The fiercest thing in the world is a woman’s strength. F


    The fiercest thing in the world is a woman’s strength.

    Fate brought Cate back to Folly Beach because of a vicious betrayal, a betrayal that left her with absolutely nothing, by the weakest and callous husband that she loved maybe once a long time ago. She could have just curled up fetal and died of depression. But her family helped her through and gave her even more strength to move forward through her life, to find love again, and finally find what she really loved to do, to write.

    Frank writes a character that is precious in Aunt Daisy, a true spitfire that raised Cate and made her the woman that she is finally allowing herself to be.

    Women all know that there’s a little bit of Cate’s strength in all of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Excellent book

    A must read for Frank readers. Flows well and has a great plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Good Read

    I enjoyed the book. Not her best but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    I love this story

    I love this story. Its a little hard to follow at first given you are read the play then the book but well worth the read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Make it your next read

    Love Aunt Daisy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Excellent!!! Read

    I really love this author and each one of her books make me feel like I am on vacation at the beach. This one in particular was different and kept my interest. I actually would love to see these characters in future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of DBF's best

    I found this book very entertaining. Dorothea Benton Frank brought in a different element in this book, sort of a parallel life from the past presented like a stage play.
    The magic happens when the past life interweaves with the current one.
    And, the romance always top notch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    INTERESTING SUMMER READ ABOUT FAMILIAR PLACES

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3