BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Food Revolution: How Your Diet Can Help Save Your Life and Our World

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2002

    CHANGED MY LIFE

    This book literally changed my life. I'm only 15 and i never before even thought that my diet would have that much of an impact on me later in life. Robbins has shown me that especially if i start young, i can significantly improve my chances of living longer and being healthy. every child, teen, adult, and elderly person in America should read this, and the world would be a better place.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    Learn the Truth about Food Production and the Environment

    The Food Revolution is an eye-opening book if you haven't done your homework about how food is produced in this country and the environmental impact that it has! The commercialization of meat production illustrates most clearly how taking control of our food supply (domesticating, breeding, and artificial feeding) has affected its nutritional content and our physical health. Today, as John Robbins points out, much of the cattle in the U.S. does not graze on green pastures and are not allowed to roam free, like portrayed on the product labels. Instead most live their lives on feeding lots confined to small areas and are fed grain. The grain is what gives steak the fatty, marble look. This drastically elevates the saturated fat and cholesterol content within the meat and dairy (milk, cheese, yogurt, etc). On a side note, these cattle are rapidly depleting our fresh-water supply that's stored underneath the great plains, since we have to provide them with water! Most cattle in the United States (unless certified organic) are injected with Bovine Growth Hormone (BGH), fed antibiotics, and then the feed lots are blanketed with insecticides which fall into the cattle's food and water and eventually become part of someone's dinner. The cattlemen found that when they inject BGH into a cow it produced between 15-25% more milk although it seriously damaged the animal's health and reproduction capacity. This injected hormone significantly increased their profit margin however this is terrible news for you and especially children. We note that kids today are physically maturing at an unusually earlier age now. I'm convinced based on widespread expert research there is an obvious and direct correlation between conventional food production, early physical maturation, and reproductive organ cancers. This would explain the fact that every industrialized country in the world, except for the US, has banned BGH! When the animal products mentioned above are ingested, you are also indirectly flooding your system with synthetic antibiotics. Bearing in mind that 90 percent of the bacteria in and around your body are beneficial and vital to your overall health, antibiotics are unable discriminate between good and bad bacteria. They kill everything! Vast quantities of certain antibiotics are routinely included in the diet of healthy farm animals because this practice has been shown to make animals grow faster. Experts have recently concluded this ultimately leads to an environment conducive to the evolution of antibiotic resistance. Needless to say, I cannot recommend this book enough!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2001

    A must-read

    If you can only buy one book today, this should be the one. If you came here planning to buy several books, this should still be at the very top of your list. And while you're at it, consider getting a copy for someone you dearly care about as well. The Food Revolution is the one book that will tell you the truth about the food you eat, and how your food choices impact your own health, as well as world hunger, the environment, and the welfare of the other creatures that share this planet with us. In his inimitable, gentle way, John Robbins presents the facts about the impact our animal-centered Western diet has on our bodies and our world...never judging, never saying 'you must do this or that,' but simply presenting the facts YOU need to make informed choices. The beauty of this book lies in its readability. Robbins is an outstanding writer, and he blends anecdotes with hard data in a way that makes The Food Revolution highly accessible. In fact, it's difficult to put it down. That said, it's also a supremely well-documented work, as was its predecessor, the bestselling Diet For a New America. Robbins doesn't expect you to take his word for what he says...the primary sources are clearly indicated. This is a book for the scientist and the truck driver...for the secretary and the dietician. It should be required reading for all medical doctors, nutritionists, and politicians. It should be top on the list for anyone concerned with human health, world hunger, animal welfare or the environment. Whatever you know, or think you know, about the food you eat...where it comes from, how it's produced, what it does for your body (good or bad)...I strongly encourage you to read The Food Revolution. You may or may not agree with Robbins' conclusions, but I guarantee you will never regard the food on your plate the same way again. You will be challenged...you will be amazed, appalled and quite possibly inspired...but most important, you will be educated as to just how much power you hold, over your own health and over the health of the planet and its peoples, in the hand that wields your fork.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    Learn the truth about animal products - save yourself and our Earth

    I'm truly touched by John's story of the Pig farmer in this book. Eating a piece of pork chop or steak is more than just satisfying your palate. As John points out in this book, it's about poisoning your health slowly, causing misery and cruelty to the animals, depleting natural resources too rapidly and unnecessarily and playing a part in increasing starving population in other parts of the world. A true read to save yourself and our Earth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2001

    A Must Read for Conscious and Compassionate People

    Other reviewers have said it all. I can only reiterate that John Robbins' latest book should be read by every literate American. It will force you to take action - in your own kitchen and on the streets.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2001

    A magnificent work!

    Within a week of its arrival, my copy of 'The Food Revolution' was dogeared and coffee-stained. Such is the fate of a book kept at hand and read and re-read. I pick it up often, opening it to random pages, and find myself instantly absorbed in the powerful telling of how we can save ourselves and our planet by making saner choices at the supermarket. As in his earlier bestseller, 'Diet For a New America,' the facts are meticulously researched and the conclusions are undeniable - the way we eat can either save or destroy our own lives and the world we live in. But 'The Food Revolution' is no dry, scolding compendium of facts. It's an immensely readable book that leaves the reader both sobered and inspired. Robbins empowers us to take control of our lives and our health and our environment. Heady stuff, indeed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2001

    John Robbins Does it Again!

    Mr. Robbins' earlier book, 'Diet for a New America' made the case for a plant based diet so thoroughly and convincingly, I had wondered what more there could be to say about it. As it turns out, there's plenty and Mr. Robbins says it eloquently - with passion and compassion. As in DFNA, the facts in this book are so well-researched and documented, they are simply beyond question. And updating the statistics has only served to make them more even conclusive.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Gripping and horrifying the things we eat

    This book changed the way I look at the food I not only eat but feed to my children as well. Not only did show you the whole picture of our farming industry but he included the science which makes this book hard to ignore

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    haven't yet read but,

    I've read 'Eating Animals' by Johnathon Safran Foer as well as all of the Michael Pollan books relating to diet, and I can say that this cannot be a book to pass up. I've had references to this book by the aforementioned and I'm anxious to read. I hope I beat you to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    One Sided

    I was very disappointed with this book. It only shows the bad farming which is done by feed lots and cooperate farms

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2