Customer Reviews for

Food Rules: An Eater's Manual

Average Rating 4
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Food Rules Rules!

I picked up Food Rules: An Eater's Manual, because I have been searching for just this type of book for many of my clients as a New Year's gift. I read the slim book quickly in a bookstore and it is the perfect present for my clients who are not eating healthy diets (bu...
I picked up Food Rules: An Eater's Manual, because I have been searching for just this type of book for many of my clients as a New Year's gift. I read the slim book quickly in a bookstore and it is the perfect present for my clients who are not eating healthy diets (but who have confessed they wish to.)

I am an interior designer/organizer and see how my clients eat all the time when I redesign and organize their kitchens. Pollan's In Defense of Food and The Omnivore's Dilemma are both excellent, but can be intimidating. Not Food Rules--it is short and easy to understand.

The book is divided into three parts and has 64 chapters or rules. The following will give you an good idea of what the book is about: Part I, What should I eat? Includes such chapters as "Don't eat anything your great-grandmother wouldn't recognize as food", "avoid food products that contain more than five ingredients", and "avoid foods that contain high-fructose corn syrup".

Part II, What kind of food should I eat? Includes "Eat mostly plants, especially leaves", "eat your colors", and "the whiter the bread, the sooner you will be dead."

Part III, How should I eat? Includes "pay more, eat less," "eat less," and "limit your snacks to unprocessed plant food."

For those of you who desire a healthier diet, Food Rules is a terrific guide that makes understanding what to put into your body simple to understand and implement.

Finally, if healthy eating is a new concept for you, you will find the clever chapter titles easy to memorize, thus making the concept of healthy eating a simple one to learn.

Highly recommend.

By the author of the award winning book, Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify & Energize Your Life, Your Home & Your Planet.

posted by NormaHartie on January 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Helpful

Going back to the basics. Good read, short and simple. Some really good rules for the grocery store.

posted by Senona on February 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    America needs Michael Pollan

    This is a great, concise book to help average Americans make some simple yet important changes to what they eat, the way they eat and their attitudes about food. On the negative side, it is a simplified and regurgitated version of In Defense of Food (also by Pollan). It should also be priced lower. It is about 100 pages of which about a quarter of each page has print. It took me about 30 minutes to read. For $11.00 I'd like a little more to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I have lost 20 pounds in the month since I have read this book!

    It took 10 minutes to read, It is more of a pamphlet than a book, but I can quote more of it than any diet/wellness book I have read ever. WELL DONE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cost

    It really wasn't worth the money I spent on it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Read this again!

    This has been around a while and continues to be quoted. A good reminder, and a great present for someone who is beginning to be aware of their health and intake. Keep one for yourself lying around the house!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Sample stinks

    I have been disappointed in the B&N samples in general for ebooks. ITunes offers much longer samples. But this one was ridiculous! Eleven pages, which didn't ever get to the book itself. Waste of my time when I only got the table of contents.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    Food Rules

    All pretty common sense stuff, but good to have the reminder.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Transformative

    I think this book really changed my view of eating, of eating well, of dining, of dining as a context for relationship, of consumption, of choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "Food Rules" Rocks

    This book is awesome because it gives people today the truch about food. Also, the tips are interesting and will open up your eyes on how to eat healthy. This book is so small you can bring it with you everywhere, so you can follow the tips on the go,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    An eye-opener, very helpful in explaining the basics on creating healthy eating habits, understanding foods and helping to determine the good and bad of different foods.

    I enjoyed this book very much because I have embarked on a "healthier me" journey for 2010. It has helped me to understand the rules for making better food choices. I find this book to be a very valuable tool in my journey and find myself referring back to it as needed. I have brought it to work to read and had a few co-workers asking me information on the subject, makes me feel like an authority on healthy eating! The rules make sense and often are small changes that one would not think of but make a big difference in your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Food rules RULES!

    The book is a quick read but full of good and valuable information about food and eating. I highly recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Good advice!

    It makes sense - the fresher we eat, the healthier we'll all be!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Everyone who eats food should read this book and talk about it.

    A breezy read, and full of good, sticky food-rules. 'Sticky' because they'll stay with you. Following even a handful of these rules will make you a better food shopper and a vastly healthier eater. It's written in a clear, light tone and makes such sense that you'll wonder why you were ever confused about how to eat healthy. I think it may be intended as a companion read to his 'Omnivore's Dilemma' and other books, but I'm absolutely certain that this one stands alone. In fact, if you haven't read any of his other books, start with this one and use the others for back up or more research. And eat food!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    Informative

    This little book is packed with insightful information. If you are trying to start a new eat life style, and I am not talking diet, this book is a wonderful guide to begin that. Easy to read, very informative and a great beginners guide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What should you eat? Read this book

    This book is perfect for anyone, on any reading level, who is just wondering what to eat. There is a lot of confusion out there today on such a basic question and Pollan answers with such simplicity. One review said that it was 'not based on much research', but Pollan explains that if you want the science and history behind it then read his previous book "In Defense of Food." I have read both books now and have learned so much. I would recommended reading this book first and then going back and reading "In Defense of Food." Everyone should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    Simple, but too simple

    The author created an easy to read book, but he lack tact. It became redundant after a while, and sound non-sensitive to those who might not know the things he spoke of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    A must-read

    It's unlike any book I've ever read! Succinct + to the point. Just the facts, presented in a very functional, non-judgemental manner. Thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Sincerely
    PKY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book - quick read

    This book sums up nicely easy ways to eat better. The "rules" work for vegetarians and meat eaters alike - just good "rules" to eat by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Easy read - and easy to understand. Real impact after reading if you r health and the environment are a priority.

    love this and am sharing with lots

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Pollan Rules with Food Rules

    Informative compact compendium. If you've read any of the previous books this little guide will come as no surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A perfect "primer" for my 21 year old junk-food loving son!

    Smart messages that simply speak the facts. Easy quips to remember. Rules make perfect sense. Something other than a parent to remind the kids to eat better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6