Customer Reviews for

Food Rules: An Eater's Manual

Average Rating 4
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Food Rules Rules!

I picked up Food Rules: An Eater's Manual, because I have been searching for just this type of book for many of my clients as a New Year's gift. I read the slim book quickly in a bookstore and it is the perfect present for my clients who are not eating healthy diets (bu...
I picked up Food Rules: An Eater's Manual, because I have been searching for just this type of book for many of my clients as a New Year's gift. I read the slim book quickly in a bookstore and it is the perfect present for my clients who are not eating healthy diets (but who have confessed they wish to.)

I am an interior designer/organizer and see how my clients eat all the time when I redesign and organize their kitchens. Pollan's In Defense of Food and The Omnivore's Dilemma are both excellent, but can be intimidating. Not Food Rules--it is short and easy to understand.

The book is divided into three parts and has 64 chapters or rules. The following will give you an good idea of what the book is about: Part I, What should I eat? Includes such chapters as "Don't eat anything your great-grandmother wouldn't recognize as food", "avoid food products that contain more than five ingredients", and "avoid foods that contain high-fructose corn syrup".

Part II, What kind of food should I eat? Includes "Eat mostly plants, especially leaves", "eat your colors", and "the whiter the bread, the sooner you will be dead."

Part III, How should I eat? Includes "pay more, eat less," "eat less," and "limit your snacks to unprocessed plant food."

For those of you who desire a healthier diet, Food Rules is a terrific guide that makes understanding what to put into your body simple to understand and implement.

Finally, if healthy eating is a new concept for you, you will find the clever chapter titles easy to memorize, thus making the concept of healthy eating a simple one to learn.

Highly recommend.

By the author of the award winning book, Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify & Energize Your Life, Your Home & Your Planet.

posted by NormaHartie on January 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Helpful

Going back to the basics. Good read, short and simple. Some really good rules for the grocery store.

posted by Senona on February 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Food Rules Rules!

    I picked up Food Rules: An Eater's Manual, because I have been searching for just this type of book for many of my clients as a New Year's gift. I read the slim book quickly in a bookstore and it is the perfect present for my clients who are not eating healthy diets (but who have confessed they wish to.)

    I am an interior designer/organizer and see how my clients eat all the time when I redesign and organize their kitchens. Pollan's In Defense of Food and The Omnivore's Dilemma are both excellent, but can be intimidating. Not Food Rules--it is short and easy to understand.

    The book is divided into three parts and has 64 chapters or rules. The following will give you an good idea of what the book is about: Part I, What should I eat? Includes such chapters as "Don't eat anything your great-grandmother wouldn't recognize as food", "avoid food products that contain more than five ingredients", and "avoid foods that contain high-fructose corn syrup".

    Part II, What kind of food should I eat? Includes "Eat mostly plants, especially leaves", "eat your colors", and "the whiter the bread, the sooner you will be dead."

    Part III, How should I eat? Includes "pay more, eat less," "eat less," and "limit your snacks to unprocessed plant food."

    For those of you who desire a healthier diet, Food Rules is a terrific guide that makes understanding what to put into your body simple to understand and implement.

    Finally, if healthy eating is a new concept for you, you will find the clever chapter titles easy to memorize, thus making the concept of healthy eating a simple one to learn.

    Highly recommend.

    By the author of the award winning book, Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify & Energize Your Life, Your Home & Your Planet.

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    I found this book to be a great read, well written and informative. But it is not really a diet, it is about living healthier. Recommended.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    Great, Great, Great Resource!!

    As a personal fitness trainer and nutritionist, I am constantly being asked if this or that book is good. So, I read A LOT of fitness and diet/nutrition books. Many have "pearls" that the reader can take and use---even if they aren't a 100% great book.

    I REALLY like Mr. Pollan's book. It is very easy to read, very practical, user-friendly and most of all I really like that it is not filled with "fillers" or nonsense like many fad diet books are. This isn't so much even a diet book, as just a great reference from which to learn about practical, healthy eating...in a fun way.

    So, definitely pick this up. One of the only books that I like better than this, and actually give to ALL of my training clients is: "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow". That book, which is an easy read, helps you focus on yourself, understand proper motivation and puts the reader on the course to accomplishing any fitness goal they identify!! So, if you are about to diet, read "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow" first.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Excellent Reference

    This book is simple, informative, inspiring and, at times, humorous. It is a stripped-down version of Mr. Pollan's other books, specifically the "Omnivore's Dilemma," I believe. In any case, I appreciate that this book provides bare-bones information without all the science and back-up theories rhetoric. It's just what I was looking for and didn't even know it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Food Rules

    A fascinating book for anyone who desires a greater knowledge and awareness to our American diet. The author takes our blinders off and uncovers the role of corporations that have manipulated our diets for their monetary gains at the cost of our long term health. Short, one page doses that uncover the information that we need to eat healthfully and responsibly all dished out with humor and thoughtfulness. Michael Pollan is on a crusade to make Americans aware of what is occurring at our grocery stores and factories and offers the information in order for the reader to make intellectual choices.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    must read

    If everyone would read this book, we could change the world and our health significantly. Pollan's ideas are simply stated and understandable. I read this in a couple of hours.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Simple Rules that will change your mind

    If you are looking into changing your life to a healthier lifestyle this is a book for you. The rules are simple to follow and easy to memorize. After following the rules for a short time you will notice a difference.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    Simply witty

    A short read of easy to remember quips to guide you to healthy food choices while at the grocery store. Great coffee table read. I plan to read his more popular book soon: The Omnivore's Dilemma. Can't wait.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    simple, genuine, helpful & empowering

    This slender volume of wisdom is a great reminder of how to truly look at food. It is also a great primer for people who are curious on how to take better care of themselves through what they eat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    It's not a diet book, it's a lifestyle book

    Some of these rules are so obvious you'd think someone would have thought of them sooner. This is a great compliation of common sense that, if followed, has the potential to make us all healthier people. I have recently stopped eating meat and have begun to eat only "whole" foods (ie: not processed) and this book has been a great help. We live in a country full of beautiful packaging and low-fat, low-carb options and yet we are getting bigger and bigger. This isn't a diet book, it's a lifestyle book. It won't tell you what to eat and what not to eat by product name, but if you follow even some of these rules I'm sure you'll begin to be healthier.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Place to Start

    This is a simple, easy read and perfect for those beginning to realize that what we put into our bodies really does make a difference and matter. It's not profound but definitely an excellent starting place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Have You Any Idea What You're Feeding Your Family?

    Michael Pollan distilled the basics of his first two books and the film, "Food, Inc." into a very small, quick read. It's a little handbook that I carry with me and study as I try to change the way I buy and consume food. He sets forth rules: "Don't eat it if it's made in a plant;" "Don't eat it if comes through your car window;" or "Don't eat it if your great grandmother wouldn't recognize it as food."

    Pollan packed the volume full of information about the food industry, and how it affects us and our health. It is so simple, yet so powerful. If you have children, before you make out your next grocery list I suggest you read this. Think about the choices you make, and the long term effects of eating all this chemically engineered food hauled by trucks for thousands of miles from laboratories. Pollan made me and my family re-think food. We feel much better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Bring this to the grocery store with you.

    This book is small, fits right in your pocket, and is a simple guide to eating healthier. It's mostly common-sense information, but it comes in handy as a reminder of what to eat, and what to avoid. Eating better means feeling better. This book is perfect for struggling dieters. Anyone who's sick of disgusting fast food, and the majority of foods that are common in the American diet: Check Food Rules out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A Simplified "In Defense of Food" - Should be in all Doctor's Offices!

    This book states Pollens ideas simply, clearly and may just change the way YOU choose to feed yourself and your loved ones! Pollen takes an enlightening look at the poor state of affairs concerning the "American Diet" and our food delivery system. Pollen seems to state the obvious, but clearly most Americans don't seem to know "the obvious" or maybe they don't care? They will when they need serious health care and it is not there!
    Pollen makes it pretty simple to assess what is good to eat and how to go about it.
    Should be read and distributed throughout schools in this country!
    For more thorough explanations, read Pollen's book "In Defense of Food"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I have lost 20 pounds in the month since I have read this book!

    It took 10 minutes to read, It is more of a pamphlet than a book, but I can quote more of it than any diet/wellness book I have read ever. WELL DONE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Read this again!

    This has been around a while and continues to be quoted. A good reminder, and a great present for someone who is beginning to be aware of their health and intake. Keep one for yourself lying around the house!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "Food Rules" Rocks

    This book is awesome because it gives people today the truch about food. Also, the tips are interesting and will open up your eyes on how to eat healthy. This book is so small you can bring it with you everywhere, so you can follow the tips on the go,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Food rules RULES!

    The book is a quick read but full of good and valuable information about food and eating. I highly recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Everyone who eats food should read this book and talk about it.

    A breezy read, and full of good, sticky food-rules. 'Sticky' because they'll stay with you. Following even a handful of these rules will make you a better food shopper and a vastly healthier eater. It's written in a clear, light tone and makes such sense that you'll wonder why you were ever confused about how to eat healthy. I think it may be intended as a companion read to his 'Omnivore's Dilemma' and other books, but I'm absolutely certain that this one stands alone. In fact, if you haven't read any of his other books, start with this one and use the others for back up or more research. And eat food!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    Informative

    This little book is packed with insightful information. If you are trying to start a new eat life style, and I am not talking diet, this book is a wonderful guide to begin that. Easy to read, very informative and a great beginners guide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2