Customer Reviews for

Food That Helps Win the Battle Against Fibromyalgia: Ease Everyday Pain and Fight Fatigue (PagePerfect NOOK Book)

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Food, Good Insight!

Being new to Fibromyalgia, you don't know where to start and how to get control of your health. This book provides some easy steps on how to understand the foods you eat and how they can help or hinder your health. Some foods cause horrible flare-ups while others will c...
Being new to Fibromyalgia, you don't know where to start and how to get control of your health. This book provides some easy steps on how to understand the foods you eat and how they can help or hinder your health. Some foods cause horrible flare-ups while others will calm the pain receptors in your body.

Along with tons of valuable information, the book includes delicious recipes to help you get started. It doesn't take a whiz in the kitchen to whip up these great meals but just fresh products and a little bit of time.

This is a great starter book for anyone with Fibromyalgia!

posted by SKSDesigns on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It's helpful, but--

I enjoyed the recipes, but much of the information provided in the beginning is very basic. Some of it is out-of-date- I follow the latest research on fibromyalgia. Good illustrations for the recipes, but many are not usable, if you're following an elimination diet.

posted by 1506498 on June 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    very helpful

    I'm finding this book to be very helpful. I am feeling much better
    and actually able to have a life....even tho I haven't been able to
    do everything suggested...I'm seeing real results.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    Very Informational!

    I found this book to be full of useful and helpful information. Even though I do not have fibromyalgia personally, my friend does, and this book has helped me to get on track nutritionally before I ever started experiencing any pain or sickness. There is basically tons of knowledge that we all can benefit from. I like that there are great color photos of the recipes, too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    The Julie Child of Fibromyalgia Cooking!

    I just watched the recent movie about Julia Child and recall purchasing her book 'The Way to Cook' as gifts as everyone who saw my copy wanted one. Well, I have the same thing going on with this book by Deirdre Rawlings, ND, PhD, all these years later! Everyone wants one! While I have fibromyalgia and for years have studied the type of information this book so wonderfully summarizes, with the right amount of detail and references, most of the people I interact with do not, yet they ALL have really liked the book when I show it to them.

    The first part contains over 100 pages of very solid, progressive information that is considered in the 'integrative medicine world' to be quite mainstream about what fibromyalgia is all about and what to do about it, and then about 150 pages of recipes with nice photos. But what EVERYONE has commented on so far is the wonderful little summary on each recipe listing the 'health facilitators' and their nutrient density rating.

    As an occupational therapist with a focus on health education, most recently venturing into creating a website to provide a potent and complementary variety of information and providers related to chronic illnesses and pain and the management or recovery from, I very much appreciate that reinforcement tool on each recipe for the concepts she has presented in the first part of the book.

    I believe this book's information is appropriate for most people, whether they have fibromyalgia or not, because in my opinion the rates are skyrocketing because of all the reasons outlined in her book and everyone is at risk of losing their "chronic wellness" if enough of the factors causing chronic illness occur without a balance of the 'good factors' for chronic wellness. I want to underscore that the concepts in the front include information about food allergies/sensitivities which are a very different way of looking at food allergies than scratch testing/IgE, and the recipes utilize less of the most common foods, and some not at all, but the recipes are not wheat and dairy free across the board. HOWEVER, that actually makes it an ideal 'sweet spot' book for people to have and then adapt from if they find out they are not able to have wheat or dairy.

    The book definitely appeals to people who enjoy cooking. While some of the recipes might be too much for people who don't enjoy cooking or who are extremely fatigued, it provides many very simple recipes and provides ideas of how to cook in way that will return you to health, and we can all do our own recipe simplifications as needed like we would other recipes.

    I am feeling well enough for the last several years to return to cooking, I just don't have the same desire for lots of time in the kitchen as I used to in my Julia Child days, when people referred to me as the Martha Stewart of Colorado. A blessing that came from having fibromyalgia was to take my focus professionally and personally in many different directions. And it has brought me to experience some amazing people, such as Deirdre Rawlings, her website, and this book. I find her to have an exceptionally good understanding of the multi-faceted causes and treatments for fibromyalgia, and value her focus on nutrition and one of the key components. And I trust many people's health will be the better for it, no matter where on the spectrum or 'balance scale' their health is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    Absolutely the very best

    Being a health care provider and also someone who has fibromyalgia himself has given me a rather unique advantage and perspective on this condition. I have discovered through many years of research and also treating patients what works and what doesn't. I know the difference between "hype and hope". Dr. Deirdre Rawlings' book not only offers real hope for those that suffer from fibromyalgia, it offers solutions. The dietary changes she recommends are sound and healthy. Her way of expaining is such that all readers, from patients to professionals will not only understand but learn. I have read so many books on fibromyalgia. To date I have not read any other book that is clearer, as comprehensive or as up to date when it comes to dietary recommendations and fibro. Her advice is appropriate for anyone looking to improve overall health but this book is an absolute must read for anyone with fibromyalgia. I have been using it as "required reading" for everyone of my fibro patients.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    Helpful, Informative, & Sound

    I read this book in its entirety and found it extremely helpful and eye-opening. I never knew that my diet and nutrition had such a profound effect on my health. Best of all, I tried some of the tasty and easy-to-prepare dishes and have been using many of them as staples in my eating regime ever since. Bottom line -- they work. Praise to this author for making it so simple and easy to heal myself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    Alternative Way of Relief

    I have a friend dealing with this very issue. She¿s gone to many doctors and has only been given one prescription after another to elevate the pain. However, I recently got this book for her. She¿s very excited about trying alternative ways of relieving her symptoms. This book is great for all of us!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1