Customer Reviews for

Food Rules: An Eater's Manual

Average Rating 4
( 327 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

no quality control for ebook!

The book itself is probably fine, but the ebook version has not been formatted properly. Spaces appear randomly in the middle of words, and other words run together. Penguin Books apparently doesn't believe in quality control.

posted by Tev on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Pocket Guide Not A Book

Food Rules is not a book so much as a pocket guide. For the life of me I don't believe anyone would seriously tuck it into their pocket as a reference while food shopping. Within it's covers is 64 "rules" that Pollan offeres up to help people discern real food from, as ...
Food Rules is not a book so much as a pocket guide. For the life of me I don't believe anyone would seriously tuck it into their pocket as a reference while food shopping. Within it's covers is 64 "rules" that Pollan offeres up to help people discern real food from, as he calls them, edible foodlike substinces. They are not rules so much as personal policies or guideline to keep in mind before you put food in you mouth.
I'm sure that this book will be of great benefit to many... (show more)

Food Rules is not a book so much as a pocket guide. For the life of me I don't believe anyone would seriously tuck it into their pocket as a reference while food shopping. Within it's covers is 64 "rules" that Pollan offeres up to help people discern real food from, as he calls them, edible foodlike substinces. They are not rules so much as personal policies or guideline to keep in mind before you put food in you mouth.
I'm sure that this book will be of great benefit to many people. Unfortunatly if you arewell versed in Michael Pollan's previous works, particularly In Defence of Food and The Omnivore's Dilema, you will find this a boring regurgitation of that material. Nothing new for the students of Pollan I'm afraid to say. Also having watched most interviews with Pollan on YouTube regarding the release of this book, you find that somewhere in the order of 75% of the material had been discussed already.
This is most likely useful for those who are unfamiliar with Michael Pollan's previous work.

posted by NJMetal on April 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 331 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    no quality control for ebook!

    The book itself is probably fine, but the ebook version has not been formatted properly. Spaces appear randomly in the middle of words, and other words run together. Penguin Books apparently doesn't believe in quality control.

    43 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Great book, terrible ebook

    Well, I bought this ebook to have on my nook. It downloaded properly into my B&N library, but won't even open in the nook. Tried over several days, let battery drain, archived/unarchived it, rebooted nook, and downloaded it a couple of times. Bummer. 5 dollar training seminar on which publishers to be wary of.

    38 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Pocket Guide Not A Book

    Food Rules is not a book so much as a pocket guide. For the life of me I don't believe anyone would seriously tuck it into their pocket as a reference while food shopping. Within it's covers is 64 "rules" that Pollan offeres up to help people discern real food from, as he calls them, edible foodlike substinces. They are not rules so much as personal policies or guideline to keep in mind before you put food in you mouth.
    I'm sure that this book will be of great benefit to many... (show more)

    Food Rules is not a book so much as a pocket guide. For the life of me I don't believe anyone would seriously tuck it into their pocket as a reference while food shopping. Within it's covers is 64 "rules" that Pollan offeres up to help people discern real food from, as he calls them, edible foodlike substinces. They are not rules so much as personal policies or guideline to keep in mind before you put food in you mouth.
    I'm sure that this book will be of great benefit to many people. Unfortunatly if you arewell versed in Michael Pollan's previous works, particularly In Defence of Food and The Omnivore's Dilema, you will find this a boring regurgitation of that material. Nothing new for the students of Pollan I'm afraid to say. Also having watched most interviews with Pollan on YouTube regarding the release of this book, you find that somewhere in the order of 75% of the material had been discussed already.
    This is most likely useful for those who are unfamiliar with Michael Pollan's previous work.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    I would not recommend this book.

    This book didn't tell me anything that was new or original. I didn't really find it very helpful. Would not recommend.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Simple and Effective

    This is not a diet book or a fad, but an approach to eating that is simple, healthy sensical. In it, Pollan expands on his three "rules" for food: "Eat food, not too much, mostly plants." That has got to be the simplest diet ever proposed. But what is "food"? How much is "not too much"? And why mostly plants? Pollan's book, divided into three sections matching the three rules provide easy-to-remember rules of thumb to apply the next time you are reaching for that candy bar. I got the ebook version, and having it with me is a good reference for reminders while traveling, and I found the ebook format ideal for this book. I will note, however, errors in the digital text. It looks like they scanned the book in and didn't use a human to check that everything got translated to digital correctly.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Simple and Easy to Remember

    I'm a huge advocate for home cooking and eating real food (as in not processed food). We've all heard that Americans eat too much fat, salt and sugar...but that is what corporate America sells to us, and that is what we buy. Processed food (corporate made food) is cheap and easy to get, but it's making us sick! Each of us is responsible for what we allow into our bodies, but unless we are educated, how can we know what is right for us? This book really breaks it down into the lowest common denominator. Anyone with just a little time can read this book and come away with some useful ideas to get back on track. Easy to understand and good.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Nothing new in this book

    I wasted my money on this book, there is nothing new on it, pretty pathetic is like a summery of other books, and a bad copy too..........sad

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Anonymous

    Most of the information in this book is common knowledge. Not worth buying.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    Excellent - lots of useful facts and advice

    Clear, simple and useful. This book inspires me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Worth the Read!

    My doctor recommended (no, actually, she insisted) that I get this book. It is a fast read and the rules are common sense. The author makes no pretense to having any scientific background in this field, but he has clearly done his homework. While all of the rules may not be applicable to daily life for everyone, most of them will contribute to a healthy life style without drifting into the extremism that is seen in so many eating "plans." Many of the rules are sufficiently succinct that the reader can remember and apply them without continuously referring to the text. Definitely a refreshing change from the wreckage of so many fads, trends and discredited theories in the nutrition book field.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Great book!

    Fantasticly simple read that rings wise and true from every page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Simple, easy recommendations

    This is a book to review over and over again to get our addiction to junk food under control.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty interesting guide for food

    It is a nice quick read with some helpful tips on what to eat and how to buy food. I don't think everyone can live by every single rule, but alot of them make sense and are pretty common sense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    Enlightening Reference Book

    Loved this quick read book. It was so good I read it in one sitting. It has really helped me know what to look for as far as food goes to eat healty and to help loose weight etc.

    Simply written but very useful information. Simple for everyone to understand and absorb.

    Recommend it to read once and refer to over and over again.

    kiss = keep it simple stupid

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    informative

    pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Megs

    Goes home to fun res 3 with tears in my eyes

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Zach's note

    Now that you found out the truth...i'm no longer in thus world i am in Half Blood camp ~ Zach

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Miriam

    Walks out sad

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Madi

    Ill have a salad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Scarlet

    I gess we can head to the motel then..she drives to motel res 1

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 331 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17