Customer Reviews for

Fool

Average Rating 4
( 319 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paying homage in a cheeky way to the Bard

In 1288, King Lear of Britain decides to divide his kingdom into three monarchies run by each of his daughters. Who inherits what will be determined by Lear based on whom he perceives loves him the most. His best friend and most loyal subject the Earl of Kent warns hi...
In 1288, King Lear of Britain decides to divide his kingdom into three monarchies run by each of his daughters. Who inherits what will be determined by Lear based on whom he perceives loves him the most. His best friend and most loyal subject the Earl of Kent warns him he is acting the fool with this proposition; for his honesty he is exiled from the nation.

His eldest daughters Goneril and Regan constantly flatter him and tell him how much each loves him; their ducal spouses also go out of their way to cajole their father-in-law. His youngest child unmarried with suitors Princess Cordelia refuses to sweet-talk her dad with blatant lies; instead she is honest and sincere with him refusing to exaggerate her love. Irate with Cordelia, Lear leaves her nothing; instead he splits the kingdom between Goneril and Regan. However, as King Lear descends into madness, his decision leads to murder and war.

Paying homage in a cheeky way to the Bard, Christopher Moore¿s take on the classic King Lear play is a brilliant mix of bawdry bedroom-bathroom comedy with a tragic novel in five acts. The story is told by the one person who knows everything that is going on because as the FOOL everyone except the apprentice FOOL Drool assumes subconsciously that Pocket is too stupid to understand court intrigue by the royals and the retinue. Well written and entertaining, Mr. Moore captures the essence of Lear in this fine rendition that is summed up by mentioning the rationale for having a ghost is simply ¿there¿s always a bloody ghost¿.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Not Fooled

I am a true fan of Christopher Moore. I have not read a scrap from him that I didn't like - now wait - love! But, Fool left me a bit ill. It was forced, unfunny and not up to Moore's standards for wittiness. Possibly if you are a non-fan you may enjoy this story of a co...
I am a true fan of Christopher Moore. I have not read a scrap from him that I didn't like - now wait - love! But, Fool left me a bit ill. It was forced, unfunny and not up to Moore's standards for wittiness. Possibly if you are a non-fan you may enjoy this story of a court jester that is written in a Shakespearean tongue. But, I couldn't get past the characters lack of inspiration. Fool revolves around a jester, Pocket, who is no real fool. Where the interesting use of words - to imply a curse word - is lost the boring story line and characters take over. Not worth my time.

posted by scovel on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 321 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    More Moore Please

    Christpher Moore gets better and better. After reading Fool it made me want to go back and read King Lear. However, and no disrespect to The Bard, I just didn't think it would be as funny, so I passed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Over the Top

    Even though this book came with a warning for the squeamish, I thought I had seen enough that I could handle it. However, this book was so debased and over the top, I returned it to the store to attempt to provide the author with a statement of my disappointment in his being a human being. The idea to turn Lear on its head was interesting, though. Call me a prude, but some things go too far. Don't waste your time or morals.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    FOOL for FOOLS

    Not very good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Chris Moore is no Fool!

    Chris Moore never fails to dazzle me with his wit and creativity. Fool is no exception. He has turned Shakespeare on his ear. Fool recounts the story of King Lear as told by his fool, Pocket. As Fool says, "heinous f----ry abounds!" Moore mixes old English with contemporary slang and as always is clever without being cloy. Although Fool isn't as laugh out loud funny as some of his other offerings, there's more than enough mayhem to put a smile on anyone's face.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great stuff but not his best work

    Fun read but the characters got a little muddled to me. Didn't realize it was based on Shakespeare's works when I bought it, but that made for an exciting story. Christopher Moore delivers again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Fool for Fool

    This book is not for everyone. The humor is crude and the characters are completely evil. With that said -- I absolutely loved this book. It was funny and outrageous. I didn't need a degree in Shakespeare to understand it. In the beginning I was a little tripped up by the language. By the second chapter, my brain had time to adjust and I just got swept up in the story. Pocket was a great main character -- rude, crude, brave, smart, and funny. The end was a little soap opera-ish (not that I minded) with characters learning about their birthrights and the ghost's true identity being revealed. Overall, it was a fun read that left me laughing.

    To see my whole review go to:http://barneysbookblog.blogspot.com/2009/03/review-fool-by-christopher-moore.html

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Whatever else you do, DO NOT read this book in public, or in the presence of a friend...

    If you read Christopher Moore's Fool in public, you will start laughing out loud, probably guffawing even if you don't guffaw, and people will wonder why you can't control yourself. Read it in the presence of a friend, and you will test your relationship for you will want to read passages aloud, and go on and on. Entertaining as that will surely be, it will take you away from the balance of the book.

    Moore is an unrelenting wit at work in this book, every page a delight. Eerily often, you'll think, did Shakespeare really write that? Well, he may not have written every word (in fact, Shakespeare may not even have written any Shakespeare, but that's another story), yet the plot and characters will sound distantly familiar. Is it as bawdy as They say? No, it is bawdier, Yes, and more raucous. It is not for the easily flustered-by-classic-as-well-as-innovative raw humor. (But then, there is some smut in a close read of much of the original Shakespeare.)

    I predict you will be a better person after reading this book. If you believe, as another more recent bard has written, that you'd "rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints", this book, Dear Reader, is definitely for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is one of Moore's best!

    Although slow to start (for me), this new take on King Lear ended up being a delight. Once you get started, it's a raucous, rowdy, randy ride all the way to the end. Moore's intensive Lear research pays off in so many ways, from the twisty language to the character development to the wonderful footnotes that become a book within the book. The hallmarks of a great Moore read are still there in the snappy dialogue and loveably prickly characters. The protaganist, Pocket, is a love, as he is so fond of calling Lear's daughters. This is written by someone who honors the original story (ok, ok, so it's not so original...get over yourself) in a way that I believe the Bard himself would have loved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Where has everyone been?

    It seems to me that most people are just now learning about the talented Christopher Moore. I've been reading him for years and telling EVERYONE I know about his quirky books. He's like a David Sedaris or Woody Allen ramped up a notch or two. FOOL is no differnt in that it is wisely written with a beautiful style. Be warned though: this is not a book for kids! I love this guy--he's tooooo funny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing...really

    Christopher Moore does nothing but impress with the way that this piece. It's simply amazing. Fool is beautifully written, well thought out and overall and fantastic book. Christopher Moore fans will enjoy this no doubt. Christopher Moore newcomers will find this just as amazing. 10/10.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best Yet!

    If you're already a Moore fan, you're in for a treat! If not, you will be after this read! No one else could combine Shakespeare, British comedy and American slang like our favorite Author Guy. If your not into crass, toilet humor sprinkled with historical inaccuracies, then this is not the book (or the author) for you. Fool will not make you want to read King Lear if you haven't yet, but it will make you want to "Give it, give it, give it" to everyone you know! The book that is!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Classic Christopher Moore

    King Lear, a little Macbeth, and - the Fool! Classic Christopher Moore comic writing. Not to Be Missed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    I liked it:)

    I liked it:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Funny

    A great comedy derived from King Lear. Fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Cvbbfgf vbggbdfjgfhhgnffvbhfgghjbjjmkgec bmn. Jkvvufgugc g cvc gmmmmmmmm

    Turtgtdvnbcyyrrtyftrtcb.qesU

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Laugh out loud funny

    Christopher Moore has a gift for making obnoxious funny. Pocket is hilarious and brilliant, outrageous and kind. He's full of sardonic and often scathing wit that is never anything less than hysterical. The old style English accent had me in stitches the entire book. I'm thrilled to see that the sequel is out and can't wait to get to it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Great fun

    One of Moore's best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Love

    Loved loved loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Great escape

    Just good crude fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Recommended for adults only

    This is one of the funniest books I have read in a very long time. It is a little "crude" but it is done with a Shakespearean attitude. A laugh out loud experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 321 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17