Customer Reviews for

Fool

Average Rating 4
( 319 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paying homage in a cheeky way to the Bard

In 1288, King Lear of Britain decides to divide his kingdom into three monarchies run by each of his daughters. Who inherits what will be determined by Lear based on whom he perceives loves him the most. His best friend and most loyal subject the Earl of Kent warns hi...
In 1288, King Lear of Britain decides to divide his kingdom into three monarchies run by each of his daughters. Who inherits what will be determined by Lear based on whom he perceives loves him the most. His best friend and most loyal subject the Earl of Kent warns him he is acting the fool with this proposition; for his honesty he is exiled from the nation.

His eldest daughters Goneril and Regan constantly flatter him and tell him how much each loves him; their ducal spouses also go out of their way to cajole their father-in-law. His youngest child unmarried with suitors Princess Cordelia refuses to sweet-talk her dad with blatant lies; instead she is honest and sincere with him refusing to exaggerate her love. Irate with Cordelia, Lear leaves her nothing; instead he splits the kingdom between Goneril and Regan. However, as King Lear descends into madness, his decision leads to murder and war.

Paying homage in a cheeky way to the Bard, Christopher Moore¿s take on the classic King Lear play is a brilliant mix of bawdry bedroom-bathroom comedy with a tragic novel in five acts. The story is told by the one person who knows everything that is going on because as the FOOL everyone except the apprentice FOOL Drool assumes subconsciously that Pocket is too stupid to understand court intrigue by the royals and the retinue. Well written and entertaining, Mr. Moore captures the essence of Lear in this fine rendition that is summed up by mentioning the rationale for having a ghost is simply ¿there¿s always a bloody ghost¿.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Not Fooled

I am a true fan of Christopher Moore. I have not read a scrap from him that I didn't like - now wait - love! But, Fool left me a bit ill. It was forced, unfunny and not up to Moore's standards for wittiness. Possibly if you are a non-fan you may enjoy this story of a co...
I am a true fan of Christopher Moore. I have not read a scrap from him that I didn't like - now wait - love! But, Fool left me a bit ill. It was forced, unfunny and not up to Moore's standards for wittiness. Possibly if you are a non-fan you may enjoy this story of a court jester that is written in a Shakespearean tongue. But, I couldn't get past the characters lack of inspiration. Fool revolves around a jester, Pocket, who is no real fool. Where the interesting use of words - to imply a curse word - is lost the boring story line and characters take over. Not worth my time.

posted by scovel on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Awesome. One of Christopher Moore's best efforts. Highly recomme

    Awesome. One of Christopher Moore's best efforts. Highly recommend for laugh out loud fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Favorite author

    I've loved Christopher Moore ever since my mom first gave me one of his books, and this book did not disapoint. In fact this is by far the best book I have ever read from him and I will continue reading this book and recomending it to everyoneI know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Going to read it again.... and again.

    Yeah... I loved it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Fun story

    Lots of fun cover to cover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Phil

    Hey miko! *hugs her*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Very funny

    This is second time I have read Fool and I want to walk around the house shouting in an English accent. Smashing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Fun fun fun...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who needs a good laugh.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who needs a good laugh. It was my first Christopher Moore book and I can't wait to escape into another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Fuckstockings

    I loved this book for the rampant shagging, cussing and mockery Moore makes of many of The Bard's plays in this book. It's a bit like the monty python boys do shakespeare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ

    I'm not one for historical fiction or anything by Shakespeare (I usually read paranormals/mystery/sci fi) but this book blew me away. The comic wit and twists and folds of the this re-telling actually allowed me to understand the work "King Lear." There were some parts that literally had me laughing out loud on the train on my way to work. I will forever own this book and will re-read it over and over again. Christopher Moore and the historical fiction genre both have a new fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    Like all of Moore's books having a background in the topic is not required but sure makes it more funny than it already is. This retelling of King Lear is absolutely hysterical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious!!!

    Love the comical approach to King Lear! Not a disappointment! A perfect example of genius that is Christopher Moore is! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    FUUUUUNNNNYYYY

    IF YOU WANT TO LAFF YOUR HEAD OFF FOR 304 PAGES GET THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You'd be a Fool not to. . .

    I know, yuck yuck yuck, stupid title. I guess that's why I'm writing reviews for free instead of writing books myself, eh? I never thought anything would unseat The Belgariad but, and with all respect due to the late David Eddings, this book is my new favorite. The characters are light and deep (yeah, figure that one out) and more complexly linked than you could ever imagine. Moore is a genius and one is forced to wonder if he's actually making this stuff up - it's that unbelievably hilarious. Shakespeare has never sounded better than he does after his work has been run through the garbage disposal and pieced back together with bits of Dr. Seuss and American pop culture. You'll love it and wish there was more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    'tis the East, and Juliet is the sun! Oh, wait. Wrong play.

    If it weren't for the f'ing French, King Lear might have had a happy ending. At least, that seems to be part of the premise behind Christopher Moore's take on Shakespearean tragedy.

    Moore introduces us to the court of Lear through the eyes of Pocket, the Fool of the title, and through Pocket, to all of the "...gratuitous shagging, murder, maiming, spanking, treason, vulgarity, profanity, and heinous f***ery..." that lies behind the throne and the Machiavellian machinations to attain said throne. For anyone not familiar with the play, a brief teaser: King Lear summons his three daughters and asks each to proclaim the depths and bounds of her love for him. Daughters Goneril and Regan comply with prose purple enough for a Prince. Daughter Cordelia, however, responds with Biblical simplicity, letting her yes be yes and her no be no*. Outraged at this seeming lack of devotion, Lear marries Cordelia off to the first f'ing Frenchman who'd have her, and divides his kingdom between his two toadying offspring. From thus such act, all manner of conniving and scheming and aforesaid treason, vulgarity, etc., ensue

    All the major characters are here: Kent, Gloucester, Oswald, Burgundy...all have their plots and plans and schemes and skullduggery. But Moore doesn't stop there: he tosses references and characters from assorted Shakespearean sources into the mix, as well as introducing more than a few memorable characters of his own. As one might suspect, all the really interesting stuff happens in closets and belowstairs.

    While this is not my favorite Moore novel -- he has a very long way to go to outdo Lamb -- it's a worthy addition to the canon, and well worth reading, if only for the footnotes.

    Oh, by the way, in all that gratuitous shagging and general skullduggery? Do not dismiss the banished Cordelia. She has a surprise or two up her sleeves.

    *James 5:12

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fool

    This book is hilarious! Classic C.Moore, constantly entertained. If you love his other books you will also love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another good read by C. Moore

    I love Christopher Moore's sense of humor! While definitely not for everyone, if you loved Lamb and like King Lear, you should give this book a shot. Also, some adult scenes make this book geared toward a more mature audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    he did it again

    loved this book, everything Christopher Moore writes is genius!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    Laugh Out Loud Funny

    This was the first book I have read by this author. I honestly could not get through 3 pages without laughing out loud. At some points I even had to close the book because I was laughing so hard I was crying! Offensive, crude, witty and hilarious! This is a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fool To Remember

    Fool was the first Christopher Moore book I have read, so, naturally I was a little skeptical about the writer's talent. However, I was not disappointed. Moore shows a fantastic world, filled with some very dark, and sometimes very inappropriate humor that you can't help but laugh to. Pocket is endearing, when he's not describing his more "mature" experiences and though Cordelia isn't present through much of the novel, plays a wonderful heroine. Definitely a good start to the Christopher Moore collection. Beware though. Novel contains profanity, betrayel, spanking, and plenty of shagging. Not for the easily flustered. you have been warned! LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9