Customer Reviews for

Fool Me Twice

Average Rating 3
( 423 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(112)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Read

I enjoyed this book very much, everything except the ending. This has a similar fell to the Ashes series by William Johnstone. I'm hopeful for another in this line sometime soon. I would recommend this book.

posted by rvbowman on June 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

I thought for sure I had missed downloading the ending of this book. It just stopped. There was no plot and no ending. It was a total waste of time.

posted by 322093 on July 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    Good up to the End

    I took a chance on this as a Free e-book that sounded interesting. I was sucked in from the first line - "I can't believe the B.... shot me".

    The book itself is mostly full of action, a bit of romance (though sometimes that aspect seems more high school hormones than anything), a bit of comedy, and a whole lot of warfare. The story revolves around Colin Chapel, former cop, sometime in the way future. America as we know it has fallen, and the Black Regent (think of any dictator that oppresses opposing views) rules what was America with an Iron Fist. Through tricks of the trade, Colin learns the identity of the First Regent, and disposes of them - only to have another, worse regent take the place of the first.

    The focus of the story is on Colin, and his journey to restore the Republic of North America to its former freedom and glory (in the Pre-Regent days). The book has some memorable characters and a few memorable lines - and builds up to the ending..which completely falls off the cliff.

    I found the end to be a major let down given how entertaining the rest of the story was. It's a fairly easy read for the most part, but hard to recommend given the build up and what I can only call the anti-climax.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Left hanging.

    The Book flowed fairly well if you were not expecting lots of detail. simple plot and fairly predictable until the last few pages. would really like to see this fleshed out to come to a final conclusion, good or bad.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    what happened?

    Language is a little rough but story overall not bad. The ending was just very dissatisfying and ruined the book for me. You are still in the middle of the story and all of the sudden it ends and you wonder if the auther ran out of paper and pencil.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Anon

    Really good until the last 20 pages. The author could've ended it more conclusively.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Did you just get tired of writing? You just stopped. I looks a

    Did you just get tired of writing? You just stopped. I looks and sounds like you just gave up. Dumb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was your typical post-apocalyptical story. Bad Guys ha

    This book was your typical post-apocalyptical story. Bad Guys have taken over the world, and it is up to a few rag-tag rebels to take it back. I liked the beginning very much. The revelation that the Black Regent was not only a woman, but Chapel's former partner was very surprising, given that I didn't read a lot of the reviews beforehand. I did have notice a few spelling and punctation errors, but for they didn't really distract that much from the story.The end was a little disappointing however. It's not really a cliffhanger, and I doubt that there will be a sequel unless it revolves around a grown-up Shoestring and the army she raises if she manages to survive that long. All of the people who wrote that the book just ended abruptly need to go back and re-read the last few pages. The ending is there. The Army of the Republic of North America was massacred, Chapel was taken prisoner, told of the Regent's plans to conquer the rest of the world, and then he is beaten and left to die a slow and painful death alone on the cellar floor. The last sentence infers this, "In the end, they didn't even bother to kill me." It just wasn't the end that anyone wanted. We all wanted the happy ending where the Black Regent underestimates the rebel army and is summarily defeated. Chapel assumes his place as the new President of the Republic of North America, the country rebuilds itself, and Colin, Suzie, and Shoestring all live happily ever after as the First Family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    What happened???!???

    What happened to the ending? The story line dragged on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Good but werid ending

    Was a good read and had a great story line and great characters but the end left things unfinished. Is there or will there be another book. What happens?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Worth reading

    An interesting book. I agree it sort if ends strange. I assume that it is a build up for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    I thought....

    That maybe i had found another favorite author, but the ending leaves too much too abruptly. I would recommend it but warn them to be prepare to crash at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    I keep wondering what happended!

    The story is actually a good story, but it just ends and I keep wondering what happens next. The author needs to finish the story. After 400 and so pages of reading, I felt it was a waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    What actually happened?

    The book had some funny lines and a bit of the "Mad Max" element. I knew from the first few pages that it would be very violent. I was caught up in the aspect of the main character adopting a waif and really wanted it to work out for the two of them. When I got to what was - surprise - the last page with the lack of an ending, I kept trying to turn to the next page. It did leave the reader with some hope for the future and the feeling that the author was hoping he could offer the tantalizing sequel. What happened to the waif? I'm not sure I would read a sequel; perhaps I would if, like this book, it is free. But, I doubt it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    I was fooled twice.

    Reading along....pretty good story....looking forward to a fantastic closing...and then...'the end'. The book just ended without a conclusion. Frustrating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Good storyline - worst ending I've ever read!

    I really enjoyed this book from the very first page and I did not put it down until it was finished. The characters were entertaining, especially Shoestring. Unfortunately, the ending is the worst ending I've ever read and I've read thousands of books. I checked to see if I missed the last page or something. The book just STOPPED in mid-stream. If you do read this, be prepared for a let down at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    loved it ..but..

    it was a good read that had me captivated, until the end. i was wondering if this was a really long sample or if that really was the ending.. very dissatisfying. hoping for book 2 SOON!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    Great story ruined by ending

    I don't mind cliff hangers as long as there is some sort of real end to the story. This story however, just leaves you in left field. I am sure it is so that in the next book (if written) the battle will go on. But how long do you wait to read the rest of the story?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    Good Book BUT....

    This book really pulls you in, fast paced and keeps you wanting more. THE END, however really pissed me off. After getting to the end I went and looked the author up to see if there was a sequel but found nothing. It was like the author lost the end of the book before they published it. IF a second book comes out I would for sure read it...but I haven't heard or seen anything about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Good book...until the ending

    No closure in the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6