Customer Reviews for

Fool Moon (Dresden Files Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 807 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(458)

4 Star

(237)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Dresden Files books are a hoot.

Second in the series, Fool Moon, gives a fun take on werewolves. Who knew there were so many types?

The Harry Dresden character is witty, sarcatic and oh-so-human. How can you not like a guy who combines the grit of Philp Marlowe with the helpless charm of an Eagle...
Second in the series, Fool Moon, gives a fun take on werewolves. Who knew there were so many types?

The Harry Dresden character is witty, sarcatic and oh-so-human. How can you not like a guy who combines the grit of Philp Marlowe with the helpless charm of an Eagle scout? Dresden is bull-headed, reckless yet clever and resourceful. I plan on reading many more of these books. Too bad Sci-Fi channel didn't renew the series.

posted by diverwpg on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

I don't see the appeal

I usually like this type of book where the world is similar to ours, but with a magic element and when I saw all of the rave reviews on this series I decided to try it. Well, the whole book was this guy getting beat up, explained in graphic detail, over and over again ...
I usually like this type of book where the world is similar to ours, but with a magic element and when I saw all of the rave reviews on this series I decided to try it. Well, the whole book was this guy getting beat up, explained in graphic detail, over and over again until eventually, by a coincidence he has the right piece of equipment to finish the job and outlast everybody who has been beating up on him. I almost quit halfway through, but I stuck it out because I wanted to see how it ended. I'll never read another book in this series again.

posted by michaelsjlrc on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    Second novel can't live up

    I'm sorry to say, after reading the second novel in this series, i was not satisfied. The first novel was just too perfect. After rereading it again, i was more satisfied, but it still did not live up to the caliber of the first novel. Jim Butcher seems to have thrown out the investigative part of Harry and concentrated entirely upon the action, which was too incomplete to fully enjoy. I must admit there are two very satisfying battles, one in a police station and one at the end, and even one including an off-ramp and some exploding tires. , but the novel would have been so much fulfilling if these were three of the only battles. But there are so many conflicts and too-short fights beside that it is exasperating that there is no one Harry can just go talk to to find out what he needs to know. It seems that Harry's fresh investigative half was left behind in this novel. I just wish Jim Butcher would have seen that once in a while, he should have taken a breath and turned down the action. It seems rediculous, but in this instance, it should have been necessary. But all in all, still worth reading. And the next novel more than makes up for this one's shortcomings.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A Good Read

    The stories get better with each book. This is a good quick read that will leave you wanting more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ok I guess...

    CSI meets a modern day Harry Potter. I like the concept which is why I decided to read the second book, but this one seemed to focus on pointless details that served ZERO purpose, and tended to lose me at times. It had some issues and questions left unanswered. Overall, it was just an OK book. Didn't hate it, but didn't love it either. I'm sure I'll read the 3rd book at some point, but I'm taking a Harry Dresden break.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2014

    Harry is still a magnet for trouble in Fool Moon. The way he g

    Harry is still a magnet for trouble in Fool Moon. The way he gets out of this trouble, I'm not sure if you'd call it good luck, bad luck, or some kind of twisted mix of the two. It is entertaining.

    Yes, there are weaknesses in the book. For a cop, Murphy is a weensy bit stupid. Harry looks at every female character in terms of their sexual appeal - even the evil ones. And he tends to treat them as damsels in distress. Chauvinist much?

    But, Harry is funny. I can forgive so much if someone makes me laugh! He's not afraid to admit his weaknesses. People are chasing him and he doesn't want Susan, who is giving him a ride, to get hurt. Harry says, "So I, uh, sort of threw myself out of the passenger seat of a moving car. Don't look at me like that (he tells the reader). I'm telling you, it made sense at the time." And for Harry, it did! So it makes sense to keep riding along with Harry to see what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Not a bad read

    Mr. Butcher described his Dresden series accurately. "It's popcorn fiction". If you like a fun read with enough twists and turns to keep you interested this isn't a bad choice for a leisurely nights entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Whole world of magic and werewolves drawn here.

    Kim Delaney approaches Harry in McAnally's Pub asking about symbols. Harry refuses to tell her about something that could cause her to be killed. Finally he tells her about most but not of the dangerous inner circle related to demons, demigods or Arch Angels. After Kim leaves pissed to not get her information and Harry feeling as he did wrong with doing right, Murphy shows up. There's been a murder and she needs Harry's help, after all this time. A distorted dead body with pay prints visible in the dust and blood, and a full moon. This case is out of Murphy's jurisdiction but identical to ones four weeks earlier. If things go according to last months murders this is the first night past of four total murders to come. If things don'e work out with Harry on this case, Murphy might lose her job and Harry landing in jail as Internal Affairs is investigating her after the last case Harry helped with.

    After the happenings of Storm Front, Harry's work with the Special Investigations unit at Chicago Police Department has tapered down to nothing, which was a big source of income for him. So Harry is broke beyond broke. This is nice to see a wizard that has to fight to make it and not just instantly have money at his disposal. Murphy stayed away as she was being looked at, thinking in kahuts with the mobster Marcone. Murphy is also still holding a grudge against Harry for not letting her know what was up with the case in Storm Front.

    I like that this one shows Harry needs to trust in others, or just a select few. He has things they can not know with the council, but they need to know much of his knowledge with the dangers they are crossing, and killing around them that they fight. Harry gets scared and knows it. He's not all brass balls all the time, but he pushes on as he has to get the job done as there is no one else around to do it. Harry does take one heck of a beating in this book, exhausted physically and magically, and keeps going.

    I still love Bob, the brilliant skull. I think he might be my favorite character in these books thus far. He's got a sense of humor and sticks out to me when I read these.

    This book has much more magic from Harry, which I enjoy seeing. We get into different types of 'werewolves.' I like this classification system and the differences between them. Great setting for the world with this.

    Harry works with Special Investigations and the FBI in this round. He also gets himself in trouble with one of the 'werewolf' groups, the mobster drug dealing Marcone is at his door wanting him, and there is another werewolf out on the prowl killing. The story and mystery flow better for me this time around, along with the world building. There are more hints of things to think on in the future. Harry's name to a demon (he has more than just three) and Harry's mothers dark past. There is an opening to the dark magic here, I'm curious to see more of it. And I'm again curious as to why the White Council seems to be cautious with Harry, other than with his troubles with his mentor.

    All that being said, I still feel I'm falling short of the awesomeness everyone else sees in these books. Now, I've heard the third book is where it picks up and gets good, so I will continue onto the next book to check it out. But with all the great elements present, thus far I'm not sold on the series yet. Maybe I'm one of those few that doesn't connect with this one, but we will wait and see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5