Customer Reviews for

Fool Moon (Dresden Files Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 794 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(452)

4 Star

(232)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Dresden Files books are a hoot.

Second in the series, Fool Moon, gives a fun take on werewolves. Who knew there were so many types?

The Harry Dresden character is witty, sarcatic and oh-so-human. How can you not like a guy who combines the grit of Philp Marlowe with the helpless charm of an Eagle...
Second in the series, Fool Moon, gives a fun take on werewolves. Who knew there were so many types?

The Harry Dresden character is witty, sarcatic and oh-so-human. How can you not like a guy who combines the grit of Philp Marlowe with the helpless charm of an Eagle scout? Dresden is bull-headed, reckless yet clever and resourceful. I plan on reading many more of these books. Too bad Sci-Fi channel didn't renew the series.

posted by diverwpg on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I don't see the appeal

I usually like this type of book where the world is similar to ours, but with a magic element and when I saw all of the rave reviews on this series I decided to try it. Well, the whole book was this guy getting beat up, explained in graphic detail, over and over again ...
I usually like this type of book where the world is similar to ours, but with a magic element and when I saw all of the rave reviews on this series I decided to try it. Well, the whole book was this guy getting beat up, explained in graphic detail, over and over again until eventually, by a coincidence he has the right piece of equipment to finish the job and outlast everybody who has been beating up on him. I almost quit halfway through, but I stuck it out because I wanted to see how it ended. I'll never read another book in this series again.

posted by michaelsjlrc on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 232 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Dresden Files books are a hoot.

    Second in the series, Fool Moon, gives a fun take on werewolves. Who knew there were so many types?

    The Harry Dresden character is witty, sarcatic and oh-so-human. How can you not like a guy who combines the grit of Philp Marlowe with the helpless charm of an Eagle scout? Dresden is bull-headed, reckless yet clever and resourceful. I plan on reading many more of these books. Too bad Sci-Fi channel didn't renew the series.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Full Moon...or just a trick?

    As the second in the series, I was not sure what to expect. I found that there was no disappointment! The story line starts off just where the first left off without making me feel like I needed to reread the entire first book over again to catch up. Love the twists and turns. Going to head over and pick up the next one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    POSIDEN CABIN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    A great read.

    Each book is a fun read. All are great as a stand alone story. But are at their best as a series. I own them all in paperback. Acquiring the series for my Nook now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Good Read

    I really enjoy Jim Butcher's books and fool moon is very good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Excellant Read. Great humor.

    If you like the idea of the supernatural with a dose of humor, this is the book and series for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    With the approach of Cold Days I've decided to go back and rerea

    With the approach of Cold Days I've decided to go back and reread all of the Dresden Files books. The purpose is twofold. The first, and more obvious of these reasons is because I want to refresh my memory (not that it's really needed) and to try and pick up any hints that may have been dropped earlier on and I missed originally. The second reason is that any time someone asks me for a book recommendation Dresden Files is one of, if not the first book that springs to mind to recommend. That being said I still have trouble describing verbalizing just what makes it such a great series. There are the obvious things such as great writing for the most part, a very relatable character with a personality that seems just right, an overarching plot that is planned many books in advance, etc. But I still think there is some way that I could better describe the series to accurately portray just why it is that I adore it so much.

    Therefor my reviews will be split into two different parts. The first will be a review for those that have not read the Dresden Files before. The second will be a review containing spoilers and some thoughts about things that are hinted about in these books and what might happen later on. Without further ado…

    Fool Moon is probably the most controversial book in the Dresden Files series. Not for any plot issue, but because it has turned away some people from the series as a whole; an absolute tragedy. I do have to admit that it is far from my favorite of the books, and it is also probably the weakest in the series. Jim Butcher himself has admitted that the first two books in the series really are vastly different in terms of ability than the later books. So, if you’ve read the first two and are only so-so on them then please read at least to book 4. If you don’t like it after Summer Knight then these books just aren’t for you, and that’s fine. But don’t give up after Fool Moon.

    Now, personally I didn’t dislike Fool Moon the first time that I read it, and I still don’t. I think that on the re-reads of the book though I can see what of people reading them do dislike. I’m not going to give a summary of the plot since there are plenty of places that that can be found if you want that. Instead, I’m going to go through some of the things that I think were improved from the first book, and some that I believe still need work.

    First, the good. Dresden is still just as lovably sarcastic and witty in the first book, and Butcher’s writing has improved so it’s even better. He truly has nailed self-depreciating humor. The magic system seems to be expanding, and we’re finding out more of what being a wizard means for Harry Dresden. We see the world around him. The addition of multiple types of werewolves was a brilliant move on Butcher’s part. After including multiple types of Vampires I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised, but it was a very nice surprise and showed some creativity that is rarely shown these days. Also Marcone continues to be an awesome character.

    Unfortunately, the book does have plenty of areas that could be improved although they mostly fall into two categories. The first area would be the plot. The two books pretty much follow the same structure. Murphy brings Dresden to the case. Dresden does some research that could get him into trouble and can’t tell Murphy for her own good. Murphy thinks Dresden has turned into a bad guy. Dresden goes to fight the bad guy on his own because he doesn’t want to endanger anyone else. Resolution.

    This brings us to the even more egregious error that Butcher has made though. The characterization, and in particular the characterization of three particular characters. The first is the man himself, Mr. Harry Dresden. Dresden’s character is for the most part very likeable and funny, but he has one of the biggest hero complexes I’ve ever seen. He absolutely refuses to accept the possibility that he might need help and that his friends are going to be in danger. He goes so far out of his way to try and protect them that he puts them into more danger. And, this isn’t just a onetime thing. He rationalizes it to himself throughout the entire book, and the rationale continues to be awful.

    The next character that I took exception to was Murphy. It’s great that there’s a strong female character in the books, but she just comes off as irrational and unwilling to compromise. She is pretty the worst partner that Dresden could have. She’s unwilling to accept that he should be allowed to have any secrets, and she jumps the gun in about .02 seconds. Despite the fact that she spent pretty much the entirety of the previous book falsely accusing Dresden of crimes he didn’t commit, she goes right back to it this book. Really Murphy? Really?

    The last character is Susan. She seems very two-dimensional in this book. It seems like she is there either to serve the purpose of love interest or nosy reporter to showcase how Dresden doesn’t like to tell people anything. She doesn’t seem to be much of a character to be honest, and that’s kind of disappointing. She has her moments that make me believe she could be so much more. Some of the interactions between Dresden and Susan truly are very human and you can see them transpiring in real life. At other times though it just seems way too forced.

    Now, it may seem like there have been too many bad things and not enough good. That’s mostly because it’s easier to do a critical review then to just fanboy over what the good parts are. There are plenty of reviews that focus on just how wonderful Dresden is, and while I do agree, I don’t think that’s helpful to a potential reader. Overall though I would give Fool Moon a:

    3.5/5

    SPOILERS BELOW


    Fool Moon actually did not contain that much foreshadowing in it. I can only think of a few things off of the top of my head. First, Marcone is a complete badass. He proves that he can take care of himself when it comes to the supernatural if he has some forewarning about it, and really is one of the most promising characters in the Dresden Files. Second, we see a bit more into Murphy, Dresden, and Susan. While they all change their characters quite a bit as the series goes on, their personalities do play a significant role in the coming books.

    Susan gets turned into a vampire because she can’t take no for an answer and Dresden doesn’t give her all the information she needs. Murphy gets tortured by the nightmare and realizes that she can’t take on the supernatural by herself. And, Dresden comes to realize that holding out information can be deadly, and not just for himself. And, this is all just in Grave Peril.

    The last thing, is a bit of a throwaway but does strike me as a bit important. When Dresden asked the junior most FBI agent where they got the belts he says that he doesn’t know, and that Denton got them. Dresden makes a comment to the effect that he probably didn’t know what he was getting himself into. This is all true undoubtedly, but it does pose the question of who gave them the belts? We haven’t seen anything else like them in the sequential books which seems to indicate that they are rather rare and hard to find. So, it must have been somebody with some serious magical chops that gave the belts to the FBI agents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Awesome

    Great werewolf story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Fool Moon

    Jim Butcher is a great author, but I didn't like this one as much as I did the first book. It may be personal preference, I really like it, but I'm not too big on the whole werewolf story line. I understand that in Butcher's genre of writing, they were bound to come up. I am glad that he did werewolves so early, so I can just forget about them and move on to the next book.

    I don't have anything against werewolves and I understand that people really like reading about them. It is just that after a while, there isn't much a writer can do to make his/her werewolf story stand out. They are usually going to have the same elements: silver bullets, blood and gore, full moon, etc. The werewolf is so well known in popular culture that if you stray, even a little bit, from the path, your story is going to get shot down (like a certain teenage angst-y vampire book series). I think Butcher did a great job at keeping things on path, but he added his own elements to it that I found surprising. He does a good job of making the reader believe that the monster could actually exist. He has done his homework.

    Another thing I didn't like about this book was the random nakedness of one of the characters, I felt that it was unnecessary and only put in for male readers, or lesbian/bisexual readers. Also, one chapter did have a sex scene. I will say that I am okay with reading any kind of sex scene (raunchy or not) and Butcher's was done tastefully. It wasn't borderline porn, but sometimes when I read a book, if the main character and the author are of the same gender, and typically look similar (in my mind), I tend to picture the author going through some of the scenarios in the book. I don't know about you, but I don't think I would like to picture this guy having sex (no offense Jim Butcher).

    Other than those elements, I found this book to be rather enjoyable and well written. I will absolutely continue to read his series and I would definitely recommend this book and this series to anyone who is contemplating reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Ready for more.

    Loved it. Quick read with lots of action, a little sex, and enough character developement to make you ready for the next adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Could not put down

    Great page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fool Moon, the Dresden Files, Book 2

    Being partial to werewolf stories, I loved this book! Dresden is in the real thick of it this time, with Marcone, Murphy, some weird Special Investigations cops, and 3 different kinds of werewolves trying to kill him. For once, I'm beginning to think that Murphy and Dresden's friendship is over. Her character is too hard. I don't like her much. She is not a trusting person, at all, for a cop. Especially, a cop that investigates the paranormal. Dresden has to argue with some really hard headed people in order to try and save their lives, but no one is listening (one of those being Marcone). Wondering how he is going to survive being shot, beat up, and direct attacks from werewolves, his magic is out because of using a potion (I bet he never drinks again), he barely pulls it off, but not to the ending I was expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    This Series is Getting Better

    When I read the first book in this series some time ago, I had trouble enjoying the plot, the characters, the writing style.

    Because Jim Butcher continues to be published, and his series is getting longer and LONGER, I decided to give Harry Dresden another shot. This time around, I found a lot of improvements in the pacing of the plot, the details that make this universe unique, and in the main character, as well. The story kept my interest, really picked up in the second half, and rocketed to the finish. Well done!

    Has FOOL MOON convinced me to continue with this series? Yes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    Wolf, Wolf and Wolf

    This is a new twist on werewolves. Every Novel seems to introduce a new being straight out of the old horror movies I loved as a kid. There is some serious blood flying around in this novel. Yet it still hold true to dealing with a detective and Magic. Gotta love it. The more you read, the more drawn into this book you become

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    Awesome Sci-Fi

    I have recently been on a Dresden Files kick. My sister recommended reading this title based on all of the books that she knows I enjoy, and I just can¿t seem to stop reading these masterpieces by Jim Butcher. So far, every novel in this series has been exceptionally written. The things that I love most about Butcher¿s writing are his explicit description of things, such as the things associated with the creatures in these books. I definitely think he chose the right genre. I am almost completely an exclusive sci-fi reader. I just love all of the action and suspense. Any time your imagination can just run wild while being somewhat guided by words on a page, it is most likely going to make your brain spin and wonder what will happen next. This is exactly how I am with my reading. Butcher can guide you through his wonderful fight scenes with his detail and also lets you wonder what will happen next. There are always awesome twists to the story that you may think will be insignificant, but they always turn out to add to the conflict. Conflict. That is the second thing that I enjoy about these books. There are, of course, the major battle scenes, which are terrific, but there are also the minor fights. I am happy to say that nothing in this book ever seems like filler. Throughout the book, there is barely any off time for Dresden. Whether a mob boss is threatening him or he is having his apartment ripped up by giant demons, there is always something. I certainly had high expectations for this sequel after reading the first book, and I definitely wasn¿t let down. Fool Moon lived up to my hype from Storm Front, and I can¿t wait to get my hands on the rest. The intense fights, the forbidden romance, and the awesome new monsters Butcher is a genius. I highly suggest this book to anyone that loves sci-fi, from teens to werewolves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 232 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12