Customer Reviews for

Fool Moon (Dresden Files Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 807 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(458)

4 Star

(237)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Dresden Files books are a hoot.

Second in the series, Fool Moon, gives a fun take on werewolves. Who knew there were so many types?

The Harry Dresden character is witty, sarcatic and oh-so-human. How can you not like a guy who combines the grit of Philp Marlowe with the helpless charm of an Eagle...
Second in the series, Fool Moon, gives a fun take on werewolves. Who knew there were so many types?

The Harry Dresden character is witty, sarcatic and oh-so-human. How can you not like a guy who combines the grit of Philp Marlowe with the helpless charm of an Eagle scout? Dresden is bull-headed, reckless yet clever and resourceful. I plan on reading many more of these books. Too bad Sci-Fi channel didn't renew the series.

posted by diverwpg on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

I don't see the appeal

I usually like this type of book where the world is similar to ours, but with a magic element and when I saw all of the rave reviews on this series I decided to try it. Well, the whole book was this guy getting beat up, explained in graphic detail, over and over again ...
I usually like this type of book where the world is similar to ours, but with a magic element and when I saw all of the rave reviews on this series I decided to try it. Well, the whole book was this guy getting beat up, explained in graphic detail, over and over again until eventually, by a coincidence he has the right piece of equipment to finish the job and outlast everybody who has been beating up on him. I almost quit halfway through, but I stuck it out because I wanted to see how it ended. I'll never read another book in this series again.

posted by michaelsjlrc on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 458 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent urban fantasy

    The claw marks, footprint, and carnage look as if a werewolf is on the loose even though most Second City residents scoff at the notion of a shiftchanger. After working with wizard Harry Dresden on a previous case, Special Investigative Officer Karrin Murphy accepts that the supernatural is real. She believes a werewolf committed the killings. She turns to Harry as America¿s only wizard to come out of the closet to help her on the Chicago werewolf killings. <P> However, Internal Affairs and the local FBI want Murphy and Dresden kept out of the investigation. The honorable Harry would love to walk away and allow the humans to make a mess of things, but in good conscience knows an 'I told you so,¿ means nothing. Harry and Karrin track the werewolf to environmentalist Harley MacFinn, but just because he is one doesn¿t necessarily mean he is the killer. Perhaps his shapechanging girlfriend or a teen group receiving special tutoring on the finer points of lycanthropy 101 is the culprits. As a dark side of a bruised Harry surfaces, he struggles to survive a war not of his making. <P> Harry Dresden is a unique character in the urban fantasy sub-genre. Harry is a maverick whose mouth seems to get him in as much trouble as his actions. He is a smart know-it-all, but cannot stop himself from saving humanity in spite of mankind¿s ridicule. FOOL MOON is a fast-paced fascinating noir thriller that keeps readers interest so that the new fan will seek out the previous novel, STOP IN FRONT and the old reader will re-peruse their copy. <P>Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    Love this series

    I held off for a long time, reading these books, because, frankly, fantasy series are usually over the top, impossible to follow with a spreadsheet, and have no bearing on reality.

    These books are the diametric opposite. Yes, fantasy, but grounded pretty firmly in actual reality, monsters and magic notwithstanding. The characters are well developed, and the plots are exciting. When the magic stuff comes up, it's not delved into with typical fanboi excessiveness. There's maybe a brief line of explanation into the magical workings, but in laymen's terms that aren't annoying.

    Five books in, love every one so far. But make sure you read them in order. The individual stories stand on their own, but there's a LOT of over-arching plotlines that continue, book to book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Another Dresden Files Great

    This book is well written and enjoyable to read. If you are a fan of the Dresden Files or just looking for something new, this is one to read. The story has enough explanation that the reader doesn't have to be following the series, while not being repetitive to fans of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    great fantasy storyline

    The second in the Dresden Files is just as enjoyable as the first. Action packed, fantasy fun and some touching side stories to build on in future books. I couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    Great Fun To Read.

    Never read a Jim Butcher Novel till about a month ago and have read three in the past few weeks. Great mix of mystery, fantasy and thriller all wrapped up in a fun to read package. Fool Moon is a fun read and hard to put down once you start. You will find yourself asking what will Harry Dresden do next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2015

    I highly recommend this book. Fast paced and fun!

    Jim Butcher has taken an old standby in sci-fi writing and breathed new life into it. For me stories are all about the imagination. This story showed a lot of imagination in evolving the species. I don't want to say any more so this does not turn into a spoiler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2015

    Love Dresdon

    This is like 100 the time I've reread this seres . Love Harry Dressing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    Excellent urban fantasy

    The second installment in a fantastic urban fantasy series. Jim Butcher blends serious urban fantasy with humor as you read about the worlds only openly practicing wizard. A great series that I highly recommend if you enjoy urban fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    If Macgyver was a wizard, youd have Harry Dresden.

    The books portray an image of humanity. Dark in places and good in others. Harry is creative, witty and real. A gritty fantasy with a highly dimensional hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Hello

    Anyone here?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Firepelt proligue

    Wakes up alone with no one finds mice firekit tries to catch them then a dog came by he ran and ran then found his father your his mother leept but died then his father meowed leave son before the clan dies but he chatter p.s was 2moons. How will I find food he tried then he heard his father died he was so feriousios then a eagle swooped by trying to catch him he all the sudden scratched it came down dead he ate it so then he left on a jurney to find a clan he walked and walked untill he found some where safe to sleep grew up the rest in flameclan untill it died still flamepaw he wailed later that night when he was sleping his father apeared in his dreams and meowed you shall be nown as firepelt then in the morning he found emberclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Cloverkit

    Mommy! I'm hungry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Not your typical modern werewolf and wizard book!

    Wow! I liked the 1st book, but this one is better! Butcher doesn't write about Hollywood werewolves. It's clear that he did a great deal of research on the early myths and lore, using old tales to create a compelling new one in a way that makes fantasy seem a little closer to reality. A great read and a strong second book for this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Dresden is great

    Butcher is a somewhat predictable but competent author.
    But the character of Dresden makes up for any lull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    My, what big teeth you have... *Book source ~ Purchased from Au

    My, what big teeth you have...

    *Book source ~ Purchased from Audible

    Chicago’s only wizard, Harry Dresden needs some jobs or he’s going to be even skinnier than he already is. When he steps in as a special consultant on one of Murphy’s cases, he thinks he’s dealing with a werewolf. Unfortunately, there’s a lot more going on than Harry knows, but he’s about to find out.

    Guest reviewers:
    A ~ my 16-year-old daughter
    T ~ my 14-year-old son
    K ~ my 13-year-old son

    Book 2 still has the kids loving Harry and his world. A in particular likes the descriptions on how to make potions and the explanations of the various types of werewolves. They like the new characters of Tera, MacFinn and the Alphas.  They did not like the FBI agents and thought Agent Benn was particularly creepy.

    They really liked the whole scene in the jail when the loup garou (MacFinn) goes nuts and escapes while Harry tries to fight him. Again the humor throughout the book is a big hit and Harry’s use of magic is considered extremely cool.

    Favorite quote: “Don’t mess with a wizard when he’s wizarding!”

    Book 3, Grave Peril, here we come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Quick read

    Keeps you reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    A Great quick read

    looking for something "Different" to read try Jim Butcher's The Dresdan Files. I am now a fan of his. If you like the occult, vampires. Werewolfs and the like. You have got to try this series. Although I have only reaf the first 2, I planon reading them all. It seems that even though the books are stand alones; they are quick reads. But BEWARE once you start a book hard to put down. This book has a little bit of everything, Cops, FBI, A Gangster, murder, and yes some sex. (WHO KNEW) oh and some......Not telling Get it You will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

     

     

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    I love Harry

    I enjoyed this novel so much, I went out and bought the next six books. Harry is a great well rounded character, and somewhat of a normal guy. There is no over abundance of testosterone that you see in many male characters and I like that. He uses more than just his might. The story was very good and fast paced and I loved the supporting cast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    They just keep getting better!!!

    True courage is being able to the right thing even in the face of overwhelming odds rather than sliding down the path of least resistance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 458 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23