Customer Reviews for

A Fool and His Honey (Aurora Teagarden Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Be Ready for Heartbreak

That's what I felt at the end of the book. I could cry right now typing this. I love Charlaine Harris and all of her writings--I also dearly love good ole Roe and felt connected to some of her personality traits. This series has been, in the past, heartwarming and wi...
That's what I felt at the end of the book. I could cry right now typing this. I love Charlaine Harris and all of her writings--I also dearly love good ole Roe and felt connected to some of her personality traits. This series has been, in the past, heartwarming and witty. I still love the books and the writing, even if some of it is too unbelievable, but it will take me a while to pick up another Aurora Teagarden Mystery. I needed an emotional break after this loss. I know it seems dramatic, but after reading the books, one becomes attached to the characters and now I will feel empty without this particular one there.

posted by rcs51998 on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing Read

I love the Sookie Stackhouse series and have enjoyed all of the other books about Aurora Teagarden. However, this particular book was a real downer. I was expecting a quirky, fun read with a decent mystery. It turned out to be depressing and dark with a gratuitously ...
I love the Sookie Stackhouse series and have enjoyed all of the other books about Aurora Teagarden. However, this particular book was a real downer. I was expecting a quirky, fun read with a decent mystery. It turned out to be depressing and dark with a gratuitously violent ending. I will not read any more books in the Aurora Teagarden series.

posted by KHCA on May 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    E Wont read anymore.

    The ending was too sad. Hate that he died. Dont want to read anymore if martin is not in them. Sorry. I feel like she waited too long to find him....only to lose him.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Be Ready for Heartbreak

    That's what I felt at the end of the book. I could cry right now typing this. I love Charlaine Harris and all of her writings--I also dearly love good ole Roe and felt connected to some of her personality traits. This series has been, in the past, heartwarming and witty. I still love the books and the writing, even if some of it is too unbelievable, but it will take me a while to pick up another Aurora Teagarden Mystery. I needed an emotional break after this loss. I know it seems dramatic, but after reading the books, one becomes attached to the characters and now I will feel empty without this particular one there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    Still Depressed

    I typically love all Ms. Harris's book. However, it's been days since I finished 'A Fool and His Honey' and honestly I'm still upset over the ending. I was expecting another quick, easy, and fun read. This was anything but. NO HAPPY ENDING HERE. Furthermore, I still cried half ways through the next book as a result of the ending.
    Overall a good book, just not characteristic of her writings.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I am so disappointed

    I was excited to find this book as I have read all the other books in this series. I have enjoyed every book of Ms. Harris that I have ever read, so I expected that this would be the case when I opened up A Fool and his Honey.

    Ha! Was I ever disappointed. This book was very dark and didn't seem to be written by the same person as the rest of the series. I stayed up late to finish it, and I was totally depressed when I was done. I sat staring into space, asking the air what the heck had happened.

    I feel betrayed in a way, because I think that some of the events in this book came out of left field and aren't true to the core of the characters. It left me out of sorts and even now, days later, I am still bitter.

    I recommend the previous books in this series as a fun, quirky read full of humor and cute characters. If you want to continue to see the series in that way, then avoid A Fool and His Honey.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Disappointing Read

    I love the Sookie Stackhouse series and have enjoyed all of the other books about Aurora Teagarden. However, this particular book was a real downer. I was expecting a quirky, fun read with a decent mystery. It turned out to be depressing and dark with a gratuitously violent ending. I will not read any more books in the Aurora Teagarden series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    not the best one of the series

    I really think these are decent cozy mysteries for a series....no gore, no swearing, and good characters that can return for each book.

    I am enjoying this series but I felt that this one wasn't so good. A lot of innuendo, characters that go off to the side away from the main character to have their little secrets, etc. This leaves this reader a little unfulfilled...I want to know all about these little side discussions.

    I like the series so far but not this one #6. #1 -Real Murders was a great one and that I would recommend as a good book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I love this series. I have read them all
    What a great beach book!
    Warm, funny, interesting, I love Audora and wish I could find another series like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Disappointed Dissapointed

    Really enjoyed previous books since they are light entertaining mostly predictable stories-did not like this one much and im not sure i feel like reading the others
    It almost seemed like the abrupt end ing wasnt given much thought because there is a sequel
    I usually like surprises but this didnt really fit the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Best CH yet

    This was not a light-hearted book. But it had so much more depth! Aurora has wanted children since book one. She gets one dumped on her- it's no picnic. And the rest of the heavy stuff- life happens.
    This does stick with you, but most really good books do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Can't keep reading the series

    I don't want to give anything away... but at the same time I'm dying to. I hate hate hate the ending. How ridiculous. Why would C.H. do that to the story? I tried to read book 7 but I just couldn't get through it. I will not be reading this series anymore. I don't think I'll be able to re-read it either knowing what I now know. Aurora and Martin was my favorite thing in the series. That's all I'm saying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    hate these kind of endings! *spoiler*

    I read these kinds of books feeling fairly secure that the wicked will get their just desserts, the good guys will win and none of the long term characters will be killed off senselessly. What was the point of Martin's death? No more Aurora books for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Not a happy ending

    Love the Auora Teagarden series, but for as much as this was a good read, I am so saddened by the tragic ending. As the books flow together, i'm having trouble reading book 7 now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Interesting but disappointing

    Not to give anything away, but I liked this book until the end and couldn't believe what a quick, terse ending it was. I was disappointed to say the least. All the other Aurora Teagarden books were excellent. This one was good, but not excellent. It could have been better with some rewriting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    great series

    I got hooked on the Sookie books, and when I couldn't find anything good to read I looked into what else Charlene Harris has written. I love her writing style, she's witty and while most of her story lines can be a tad morbid she finds a way to keep it light hearted. If you like these books then I recommend the Sookie series and if you like these books and if your a Sookie fan I think you'll like the Aurora books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is the best in the series so far.

    I have found that a lot of Charlaine Harris' books have a fairly predictable plot. I really like the Aurora Teagarden books because the suspense last until the very end of each book. This book, 'A Fool and His Honey' is no different. The story is well written and have a lot of plot twists and turns. I really enjoyed reading this book and hope that there are more to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Oh Roe

    This was my least favorite in the series and like others it left me feeling a bit depressed. Charlaine Harris seemed to have lost her humor in this book. The rest of the series is very entertaining and its worth reading to continue along with the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Fun read!

    I enjoyed the Aurora Teagarden series as much as the Sookie Stackhouse series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but sad read

    I've recently finished the Sookie Stackhouse series and loved Charliene Harris's writing. I decided to start this series. I have read te first 6 books in the matter of a week. A Fool and His Honey was a good read but a really sad one. Out of the first 6 books this is one of my Favorites. It left me guessing up till the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What's next

    enjoyed reading and looking forward to the next in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    Good read

    Is a really good read but sad. I love this series of books and would recommend them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8