Customer Reviews for

Fool for Love: Duchess Quartet, Book 2

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    What Fun! Definately recommend this series!

    Really enjoying the Duchess Quartet series. Fun, clever and unexpected. Love the characters and the quips. More please!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Loved this book

    From start to finish....a fun and romantuc read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Loved it!

    Cant wait to see what happens in the next book....what happens with Esme? Hmmmmm

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Fool for Love

    I loved this historical romance book. Great character, funny, wit, sensual, romance, first of a series.......

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    good reading

    great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Liked it

    This was a good book, liked the heroine a lot, liked the hero well enough, storyline was pretty forgettable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Wonderful Book ~

    This book, # 2 in the series of Duchess Quartet books, was throughly entertaing. It was a wonderful "pick me up" and "escape" for me during a difficult time of my life. I would recommend the entire series. All are fantastic. The characters were so endearing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Overall a great read. You really need to read Duchess in Love f

    Overall a great read. You really need to read Duchess in Love first to understand all that's going on. My only gripe is that much was made about the paternity of Esme's unborn child, then at the end the book cuts to 7 months later, months past the time she is due to give birth, and no mention of it is ever made. I hate it when author's don't tie up loose ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Little Odd

    Simon was a cutie but the hip thing was a little weird but overall I like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is actually very interesting. There are no boring parts in this novel whatsoever. Each new chapter is as good as the last. I would absolutely recomend this to anyone!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    DIM, DULL AND DISMAL

    I thought this book was extremely boring. There was no real flow, a new chapter started after every three pages. The 'heroine' shared the story with Darby's aunt. I also didn't like the fact that we saw how Henrietta looked but not how Simon looked and the discription of him was not all that great. Halfway into the book I decided to stop torturing myself so I dumped it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    A wonderful sequel to Duchess In Love

    While I have to say that I liked Duchess In Love more than this title, this was also thoroughly enjoyable and unique. The characters are well written and likable, and while I enjoyed Henrietta and Simon's story, I loved reading more about Esme and Sebastion. Be sure to read Duchess In Love, and stay tuned for the next part of this story, coming out in the spring of 2004. This is a wonderful series and Eloisa James has a very distinctive writing style. I love the element of humor and light-heartedness that she adds to her writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2003

    A Smart and Sexy Read

    I have yet to be disappointed by a book by Eloisa James. I could not put it down. You get two romances for the price of one, hard to tell which one the book focuses on, they are both fully written. All to the good. I enjoy the smartness of her writing, no pandering to the genre. And very sensual, I rate it a hot PG-13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2003

    One of the best historical romances of the year

    FOOL FOR LOVE was a fabulous book! It's been a long time since I've met characters I liked as well as Henrietta, Darby, Josie, and Anabel. And Eloisa James's writing is absolutely exquisite. When you couple that with her deft touch for characterization, her tender empathy for the human condition and all of its lovable absurdities, her astonishing historical accuracy, and her musical ear for dialogue, well, you have a true gem of a book. I laughed out loud, I cried, and when I turned the last page, I sighed with absolute and utter satisfaction. Eloisa James is truly one of the brightest lights of the historical romance genre and I look forward to watching her shine for years to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    great read but wheres esme?

    I loved the book. It was my first time reading Ms. James. I'm going to guess Duchess in Love also has Esme in it. My only problem is the fact that being a first time reader it annoyed me that she just dropped Esme at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    A Rosy Soap Opera

    Like a soap opera, Fools for love keeps the reader's interest by switching between multiple stories. Thankfully, unlike in soaps, the stories are more humourous than melodramatic. As so many romance novels are full of murderous,dire subplots, this one was refreshing w/o it. It is also pleasant to see James create a viriety of charater-types in her books: not all the heros are dark, brooding, sophisticated corithians and all the heroines 'sweet', perky, tom-boys. Fools for Love is a very enjoyable before-bed read, but if you crave melodrama, check out Jane Berry's Grand Illusions/the Cavendish Face, it is full of it and wonderful(it's out of print) Recomendations If you like a perky heroine and a light tone: Joan Wolf's The GAMBLE, the PRETENDERS; Sara Hely's the SIGN OF THE GREEN SERPENT (it's o.of p.), Goergette Heyer's POWDER AND PATCH If your sick of heros who are hulking blobs of muscle, and who behave 'abdominably' while stiking to a secret core of honor that all their clone-like friends know about: the RAKEHELL'S REFORM, Elizabeth Fairchild; MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT, Jaqueline Navin; ILLUSIONS, Jean Ross Ewing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    du

    i love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3