Customer Reviews for

Fools Die

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

great

this book was a work of art it gave very good details of every thing it is a bit long but set aside a chunck of time because you will absolutely love this book its a little boring at first but keep with it i gurantee that you wont be dissapointed the only reason i gave ...
this book was a work of art it gave very good details of every thing it is a bit long but set aside a chunck of time because you will absolutely love this book its a little boring at first but keep with it i gurantee that you wont be dissapointed the only reason i gave this book for stars was because it had too much sex in it unlike puzos other books wich have sum sex but not to exess other than that a great well written novel

posted by Anonymous on December 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Rough Read

I am a big fan of Mario Puzo. I loved 'The Godfather', The Last Don', Omerta', and 'Fortunate Pilgrim'. All are highly recomended, but I struggled with this one. It was boring, tedious. I had to force myself to finish it.

posted by Anonymous on March 28, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2005

    great

    this book was a work of art it gave very good details of every thing it is a bit long but set aside a chunck of time because you will absolutely love this book its a little boring at first but keep with it i gurantee that you wont be dissapointed the only reason i gave this book for stars was because it had too much sex in it unlike puzos other books wich have sum sex but not to exess other than that a great well written novel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    The East, the Far East and Sin City

    Puzo combines the East Coast with Vegas in a wonderfully written story. Then throw in gambling, Hollywood, and the Orient. Mario Puzo is the Master storyteller. People only think 'The Godfather' when Puzo's name is mentioned. 'Fools Die' will re-introduce them to the writer. Puzo lives!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2001

    Slow, a bit long, but GREAT!

    I began reading Mario Puzo books after watching the Godfather Trilogy and I haven't satisfied my hunger. I started with his last book, Omerta, then I read Fools Die... It begins a bit slowly and not that interesting, but by the end of the first chapter you can't stop reading. Although it took me abot a month to read it (I am sort of a slow reader) it was a great expirience. And it tells so many stories and has such interesting and deep charachters, that anybody can identify with at least one of them. I saw myself as the main charachter, John Merlyn, a struggling writer that finnaly gets his big break. He fights his way up to the top only to fall again. A wonderfull book. Puzo at his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2001

    A Rough Read

    I am a big fan of Mario Puzo. I loved 'The Godfather', The Last Don', Omerta', and 'Fortunate Pilgrim'. All are highly recomended, but I struggled with this one. It was boring, tedious. I had to force myself to finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2000

    Mario's Best Work

    After reading THE GODFATHER, I became a great fan of Mario Puzo. When a friend recommended FOOLS DIE, I jumped at the chance to read another of his books. I had to have read the book in less than a week, for it was one of those books that keeps you on the edge of your seat. This is for sure in my top 20 list. It even made me start writing myself. I recommend this book to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    I found this novel varied in quality from the excellent to very

    I found this novel varied in quality from the excellent to very boring.

    It is about a man who is an orphan who starts out poor who wants to be a great writer.  
    He ends up being a successful writer who spends time in Hollywood.  The main character is somewhat interesting-
    he is a tough, streetwise guy who has a high literary aspirations.  
    He sees himself as being very straight but many readers may not agree with his view of himself.

    The book starts out with an incident in Las Vegas casino where I have no idea what happened since
     I don't gamble but the narrator becomes friends with a man named Cully.

    Then it proceeds to tell the narrators struggles as a beginning writer, living in the  housing projects and working for the civil service.
      This part I found interesting in part because I know many civil servants and people who live in housing projects.


    The narrator gets fired from the civil service then works for a famous writer named Osano.
     This part of the book is boring.   We don't know much about Osano except that he wants to win the Nobel prize in
     literature and lives like a pig.   While we don't know what makes Osano a leading figure in US literature but we do know about his
     numerous personal failings.   This part of the book is bad.

    The best part of the book is the ending where the narrator goes to Hollywood and to me the book ended with a punch.
      Some of the books stories of Hollywood life were excellent.   


    There are some parts of the book that describe the workings of Las Vegas which I also thought was outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2006

    Trash

    I've read Godfather (great!), The Family (ugh!) & now this. Okay, so the sleazy life of Las Vegas isn't sugar coated. But c'mon how many times does a writer have to use the F word before he comes up with a little more creative dialogue? Not sure I've got the stomach to read the other Puzo books on my shelf. May use them to start fires this winter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    BUY THIS BOOK

    THIS IS MY FIRST MARIO PUZO BOOK AND MARIO PUZO'S PERSONAL FAVORITE. I WONT RUIN THE STORY I WILL ONLY SUGGEST YOU BUY IT YOU WILL LOVE IT. SINCE THIS I HAVE READ THE GODFATHER, THE LAST DON AND OMERTA AND I JUST STARTED THE SICILIAN, ALL GREAT. MARIO PUZO IS NOW ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVORITE AUTHORS AND ALL OF THESE BOOKS I'VE NAMED OUR INCREDIBLE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2003

    Masterpiece

    A very in-depth novel filled with intricacies and a profoundly developed plot. The first person/third person switch adds to the joy of this novel. Janelle is mesmerizing and makes the reader forget about Valerie. This is Puzo's best work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2003

    Puzo at his finest

    When most hear the name MArio Puzo they think "Godfather" and other mafia related tales. Not so with this novel. Puzo is one of the greatest at character development and this novel shows why. Puzo once again brings up the subject matter of power and the troubles that accompany it. He has great insights into the little world of Hollywood and brings them out masterfully in this tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    Puzo's best novel by far.

    I've never understood why this book has been so constantly underated. Maybe because it's so different to the Godfather. I've always had the feeling that after finally writing a best-seller, Puzo said to himself, "Now I'm going to write the kind of book I've always wanted to write!". Unfortunately, it seemed the world was only interested in Mafia tales, where Puzo was concerned. Well, never mind, Mario. I think it's fantastic!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2001

    TOP OF MY LIST

    Does the mention of Mario Puzo immediately conjure up images of the mafia and The Godfather? Not for me. Not after Fools Die. If you can imagine how powerful a piece of music would have to be to replace William Tell's Overture as the theme to The Lone Ranger, then you can understand the affect of Fools Die on me. It was the first perfect book, I ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2000

    read it and enjoy, again and agian,don't be the fool!

    The Best of puzo's .This book is simply Alive and will remain so long after all the fool's are dead. you have to love this classic book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2000

    Remembering a great story.

    I read this book back in high school when I took it out of the school library after I enjoyed reading ' The Godfather'.Great story! Mario Puzo became my favorite author at 16 years of age.I still remember how I enjoyed reading this book when I came home from school and could'nt wait to go to the bookstore to look for more titles from Mario Puzo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 1999

    Fools Die by Mario Puzo

    Fools Die by Mario Puzo is a 531 page wonder!Talk about a page turner! It is a beautifully written book that captures the immagination and does not let go. If you like Puzo novels, you'll love this book. Like all great Puzo novels, it is set in New York, Las Vegas, and Hollywood, or, more commonly known as The Golden Triangle. If you've never read a Puzo novel, it's like this: Merlyn, our main character, is born an orphan and has a very close relationship with his brother, Artie. Merlyn gets, eventually, married, has kids, and has ambitions of being an author. However, his first book is a bomb. So, he takes a job for the government as a desk jockey for the Army Reserves. Merlyn, normally a very honest and law-abiding citizen, decides to make his life a little more interesting by bending the rules a bit. With the help of a few friends, his boss, and and old friend from Las Vegas(Cully), Merlyn comes out on top. However, he has to quit his job. So, he takes a job writing for a magazene. His new boss, Osano, is only the most famous author in the world today. Merlyn writes a second book and, it's a hit! So big of a hit, in fact, that Hollywood decides to make a movie of it. So, he goes to Hollywood and makes some friends(Malomar and Janelle). Life is going great but, in the end, Merlyn learns that all Fools Die(the tittle) If you haven't had the pleasure of reading a Puzo book, I 'll give you an example of his superb wrighting: 'I suffer, but still I live. It's true that I may be a sort of phantom in life, but I know my begining and I know my end. It is true that I am an X in an interminate equation, the X that will terrify mankind as it voyages through a million galixies. But no matter. That X is the rock upon which I stand(pg.531).' Great Stuff...huh? From the title to the last words, this book is magic. The only let down of this book, compared to Puzo standerds, is the absence of the Mafia. If you can read a Puzo novel without the Mafia... then I seriously recomend this book. Even without the Mafia, the excellent wrighting makes it a five star book(but only a four star book in Puzo standards).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1