BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fool's Fate (Tawny Man Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Ending

    You must read The Farseer series first, but Fool's Fate is a rewarding ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    splendid

    A fitting end to a wonderful series. I cried with joy for Fitz to finally have peace. Don't read the series if you can't get emotionally attached to your characters. Robin Hobb outdoes herself with an ending which fulfills the thing all readers hope for in a series, 'Satisfactory Completion' although, the way the fool left...*wimpers* but it was to be expected, for nothing expected ever came from the fool...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    best conclusion ever!

    having awaited this book for several anxious months, i thought my expectations were too high... i was mistaken! If you haven't read any of Hobbs previous works, i implore you to. I challenge anyone to read these and not become emotionally attatched to all the main characters... Without a doubt, the best series of books i've ever had the pleasure of reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    This book in particular has left me a complete and utter emotion

    This book in particular has left me a complete and utter emotional wreck, as if I myself just lost the love of my own life. The characters draw the reader in so completely that they become so SO much more than that. However, the ending left me completely empty....you know, the Fool deserves a happily-ever-after, too. So please Robin Hobb....please please PLEASEEEEEEEEEEEE I beg of you....even if it's just one more book, please please give us a happy ending for the Fool. If any of your characters ever deserved a happy ending, you KNOW he does. He's the most precious and real of them all. Don't abandon him please.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Great-keeps you guessing!

    Just when you think you know what's going to happen, Robin slips in a new twist....hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    Good Series

    Robin Hobb's series about FitzChivalry Farseer shows Fitz's growth from wide-eyed boy to foolish young man, to experienced adult. It was enjoyable to me for one reason because even though Fitz was the main character, it wasn't as though he was holy, or respected, or the ONE. He knew what he was in the world and never tried to be more. I got caught up in the story through his thoughts and emotions, and got through his most embarrassing moments to enjoy the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    I wish it would never end

    Makes me sad, knowing this is the last book. It was excellent. Everyone should read it. Though, it might help if you read the other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    Great epic fantasy

    The heir to the throne of the Six Duchies, Prince Dutiful promises his fiancée, that he will present her with a dragon¿s head, which means an expedition to the remote tundra like Out Island. The former fool Lord Golden knows that he is going to die on this northern wasteland trek, but feels it is his duty to accompany the Prince. His friend, who is also an assassin, FitzChivalry Farseertries tries to persuade Golden into not going, but fails................................................ When they reach one of the independent Out Islands, the royal retinue meets the Hetgurd who disagree with the slaying. The teenage prince negotiates a deal with the Outislanders. He and a small party accompanied by Hetgurd warriors will set off on the trek to slice off the head of a dragon. However, Dutiful and company run into a new problem as the local dragon community refuse to cooperate. Will the two species war, cooperate with some sort of deal such as an exchange for one of the regal crew, or will Dutiful break his first promise to his future wife?.......................................... The third entry in the FitzChivalry Farseertries narrated fantasy series is a delightful tale that shows the complexities of groups trying to come together on an objective, but with each member bringing baggage and an agenda to the table (ship?). The story line is exciting, but it is the ensemble that makes Robin Hobb¿s realm seems so real. Fans will enjoy this deep look at those who must carry out the wishes of their leader although unlike real life whether it is World War One or Operation Iraqi where the decision makers stay away from the battlefield, Dutiful to his credit joins them on the front line..................................... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2014

    I'm a great lover of the series and finally got hold of and fini

    I'm a great lover of the series and finally got hold of and finished (remarkably rapidly for 900 pages) the final (for now) volume (definitely not starting the next trilogy until all 3 are out). As always, Fitz and the Fool have the rare ability to make me cry and there is an intriguing story going on here. My only reservation is that the quest itself feels rather drawn out before the delivery of a very satisfying and lengthy resolution (too satisfying? too lengthy?). After all I've been through with Fitz, I think I needed to see him happy but there's an element to his happy ending which cheapens what has gone before. Obviously being a little unfair: still my favorite fantasy series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Left me a little empty...

    I have loved all the books right up to the end but.....I would have to say this one was great except for the Fool's departure. Really? Thats how it ends? Kind of a dis-service to the best written and mysterious character I have ever had the pleasure to read about. I am praying for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    The Tawny Man Series-Books 1,2&3--Fools Errand, Golden Fool and Fools Fate

    I enjoy Robin Hobbs books and her way of telling a story. I especially enjoyed reading this trilogy because it, briefly, tells you what happened to some characters she introduced in the Liveship series. She incorporates it into the new story and this makes me want to continue reading her books. She gives you a love story, a thriller, fantasy and good old fashioned family stories all rolled into one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    )(

    (")

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Wonderful trilogy finale

    This is the first trilogy by Robin Hobb that I have read. Fool's Fate was a very satisfying finale. I read all three books back to back to back . . . I just couldn't get enough! I'm now reading the Liveship trilogy and I'm on book two. I really appreciate the separateness of each trilogy and also how elements from each are woven throughout the trilogies. Awesome author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best Book I've Read

    This one really toyed with my emotions. Some chapters felt like my heart had been squeezed and drained. The most emotional book I've read. And it might be strange to state the most romantic, even though it is a non sexual romance. There was disappointment in the end but not enough to ruin the experience I had reading and loving these characters. I walk away from the Fitz/Fool books with a new favorite series, a new favorite book, and a new favorite character. Not bad considering I almost didn't finish Assassin's Apprentice. Even though I just recently finished I'm very close to wanting to read all six again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The most amazing read of all time!

    This is simple the most amazing book of the most amazing series in the entire universe. I know I sound like a child obsessing over a new toy, but I am just stating the truth. The characters were so in depth and the story so amazing. It was heartwarming as well as heartbreaking. After reading this, I swear I grew three new hearts and they all got shredded up and then glued back together three thousand times. The only letdown was the end, for a never cared much for Molly and the Fool... well... their parting brought me to tears. The Fool has got to be the most amazing character in all of literature. He is so real. I love how he makes so many mistakes, and is so much like a normal person, and yet is ten times more wise and logical and loving. I think he knows love more than anyone else.

    I hope with all my heart that Robin Hobb writes more with the Fool and Fitz.

    Beloved. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    We're off to see the dragon

    Well, first I have to say that this was one of the top 10 series I have read in years. All the characters were real, in depth, people you know well and feel for. My biggest complaint is never really getting to know just who, and what the Fool really was. Poor Fitz was always just one step behind at life. I still can't understand why he went back to a woman who knew nothing about the real person Fitz, and had been married to another man for years and years with scads of children. Ah Well. The story was grippingly interesting right up to the end.(wich was 23rds of the way through the book, then it plods on with tying up loose ends that never really satisfied me. I can't imagine how afer all they had been through, the Fool and Fitz could just pull the plug and split. Huh! Secretly I hope there may be another trilogy to follow that picks up where their relationship left off. And, I was expecting Fitz to bond with one of the Dragons, that would have been a kick. ummm another idea for a sequal? Still, this is Hobb at her best, get it you will enjoy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    Beautiful Fantasy

    I've finally got and read this book and so glad it's over with. Though the ending kept dragging on and on, it ended how I expected and all the characters were happy. Fool's fate however was not what I expected and he shall forever remain lost in Hobb's world. Other than that, it was a great read to explore with our minds and enjoyed the imagination I got out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2004

    This series is a must read..

    I read Assasin's apprentice/quest and Royal Assasin about 5 years ago. When the final 3 books where being released I almost didn't want to read them because they can be very depressing. But the very reason I didn't want to read the books are the very reason why they are a must read. Yes, this book is tragic and yes the lead character is week and pathetic most of the time but this isn't supposed to be a fairy tale. This story is of human error, love, misunderstandings and good intentions gone awry. This story stood with me for days after I read it. Robin Hobb is such a great writer that she transports you into her world, You aren't reading this story,Your in this story. I admit, if your looking for an uplifting series, this probably isn't for you. The only bad thing I can say about the book is that I was so dissapointed in the Fool's ending that I practically cried.(I have to admit, this is probably because he was my favorite character). For those of you who are fans and have grown fond of the Fool, you will understand my upset at the conclusion of his story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2004

    Bravo!

    Once again, the Tawny Man Series comes through. What a way to end the thing! I loved this book. Excellent character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2004

    Excellent ending to an excellent series

    I couldn't wait for this last book to come out and I was hoping it would be as good as the previous ones. I was wrong. It was better. If you wish to read an engaging, emotional, and ultimately provocative story, pick this one. In fact read the entire trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7