Customer Reviews for

Footfall

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Fabulous book

    Fabulous book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    After having read Lucifer's Hammer by the same writing team I wa

    After having read Lucifer's Hammer by the same writing team I was eager to read this one. by page 30 I was sorry I bought the book. It felt like I was reading an updated copy of Lucifer's Hammer with just then names and dates changed. If you haven't read any of the authors works before you will probably enjoy this story. For me I was disappointed by the similarity of the two novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Still an awesome invasion read after all these years!

    I read this in college and was impressed then with the unique aliens, their herd mentality and what it takes for humans to fight them. The destruction and technology employed still seems relevant after the most recent near flybys of asteroids and comets to the earth.

    Great fun and page turning excitement that is hard to put down nice you start!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    One of Niven's best books

    Present day science fiction at its best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book!!!

    This is a really good read! Eliphant looking alians want earth and take it the old fashion way by force and shock troops! They are big, mean, bad and nasty and don't mind throwing thier weight around!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    Good Old SciFi: Aliens Attack Earth

    This was my second time through Footfall, as I also read it when it first came out in paperback in May of 1986, almost twenty years to the day prior to my re-reading of it in the 21st Century. Footfall is simply a delightful and thrilling old-fashioned science fiction novel. For what can be more genuine SciFi than aliens attacking our Earth? The front of the work thoughtfully lists a four page Dramatis Personae, but it is really not needed. And, the book does violate the writer's-law of assigning the aliens unpronounceable names, such as Herdmaster Pastempeh-keph and K'turfookeph his mate. But what names are double-trunked-baby-elephant-looking aliens from the vicinity of Alpha Centauri going to use? Bruce and Doris Jones? Beginning in November of 1980, when the town-sized spacecraft is discovered amongst the rings of Saturn, the action builds to a edge-of-the-seat climax. The Footfall title refers to the ability of the alien Fithp's to accurately fling huge space rocks at planet Earth, the Foot itself, being by far the largest of many. The invading pachyderms are also armed with 'elephant guns' (go figure) that rip orange-sized holes in whatever they hit, humans being their favorite destination. Orbiting scores of digit-ships are also capable of directing, with pinpoint accuracy, death beams anywhere on the planet. There are sexual encounters, but since they are exposed within one or two sentences, I found them acceptable. Along our journey, we meet farmers and National Guard troops, Russians and survivalists, dinner plates used as land mines and enough atomic explosions to satisfy North Korean fatboy KIM Jong Il. And, in a self-serving twist, author's Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle, in order that the Presidential administration and the military might discover the mind-set of the aliens, have NORAD sequester a group of top science fiction writers inside Cheyenne Mountain. All in all Footfall is a great Science Fiction shoot-em-up that I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    A Alien Invasion Classic

    I found this book at a local used book store, and the owner said that if I liked Sci-fi I had to read this one. I have to say that he was right. This is an alien invasion classic. It is a little dated but that wont matter once your start reading. I couldn't put it down. I think what the aliens looked like was one of my favorite aspects of the book. They look like Elephants. The ending was heart pounding and clever also. I highly recommend this book to anyone that's into Science Fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    WHAT A BOOK!!

    What an awesome book! What creativity and imagination! Niven and Pournelle are the best tag team around!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2001

    Best alien invasion story ever!!!

    'Footfall' is by far the best alien invasion story ever penned. The thing I liked most was the invader¿s mission. Take out the Earth's space power, then air power, and finally a ground war. Their use of 'kinetic' bombs was efficient and technically superior to other invasion stories. The come back of the defeated Earthlings is a great saga. Highly recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2001

    Sci-Fi realism for enthusiasts

    Niven and Pournelle have presented a picture of an alien generated apocalypse with limits. Antagonist and protagonist have strengths and weaknesses that give Footfall a sincere quality. Unlike many sci-fi novels such as Ender¿s Game, where the question of 'what can be done to defeat the invaders' is the mystery, here the reader is wondering if the human race can complete their mission without being discovered and will it work at all. An array of characters highlights the story and precarious alliances keep you wondering how and when it all is going to breakdown. From the unexpected confrontation to the grand finale, Footfall delivers science, suspense and humor that is easy to believe. This is a must read for any sci-fi buff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1