Customer Reviews for

Footsteps in the Dark

Average Rating 3.5
( 623 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(190)

3 Star

(135)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(74)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

a favorite

One of my favorite mysteries. I had a hard time finding it in paperback and am delighted to be able to purchase it for my nook so I don't have to go looking for it when I want to read it.
It's part Gothic, part modern mystery. I love the way she twists the two togethe...
One of my favorite mysteries. I had a hard time finding it in paperback and am delighted to be able to purchase it for my nook so I don't have to go looking for it when I want to read it.
It's part Gothic, part modern mystery. I love the way she twists the two together.

posted by slferguson on November 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not My Cup of Tea.

I am not fond of English mysteries. I find the language cumbersome and the stories drawn out unnecessarily. All of this held true for this book. It was a very slow read for me. But if you like this type of mystery and are not hindered by the language, you might enjo...
I am not fond of English mysteries. I find the language cumbersome and the stories drawn out unnecessarily. All of this held true for this book. It was a very slow read for me. But if you like this type of mystery and are not hindered by the language, you might enjoy it.

posted by CorinaFL on September 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 624 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a favorite

    One of my favorite mysteries. I had a hard time finding it in paperback and am delighted to be able to purchase it for my nook so I don't have to go looking for it when I want to read it.
    It's part Gothic, part modern mystery. I love the way she twists the two together.

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Love

    Love

    6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Great

    Now its free friday so its free

    4 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Author¿s first thriller

    Written 1932, British. It was published the same year her only child/son was born. She did not consider it very good because it was written while she was pregnant, but I thoroughly enjoyed the book. Wonderful humor between the characters. Good suspense. The plot was somewhat predictable, but that didn’t matter to me because I loved the story and the people.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Country house cozy

    Need some undemanding reading and want the frivolousness of a 1930s British country home mystery. It might have been au courant at the time. Now its chief interest lies in the period atmosphere it evokes. The blurb may have compared Heyer to Christie, but that under values Christie. Makes a decent enough reading experience in a time too hectic to concentrate on much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Not for me

    The only reason I read the whole thing is that I am a person who must finish every book, but it took forever and it was very boring.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Not My Cup of Tea.

    I am not fond of English mysteries. I find the language cumbersome and the stories drawn out unnecessarily. All of this held true for this book. It was a very slow read for me. But if you like this type of mystery and are not hindered by the language, you might enjoy it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Good mystery

    Well, it was a free Friday book that didn't seem to be my usual style. However, I love to read. This book was a good one. I liked the older setting and really thought the characters were interesting. I had the mystery solved, but that didn't take away from it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Love English cozies

    These may not be the most up to date books, but Anglophiles will love Georgette. She even provided the answer to a Trivia question on a cruise!
    What is the original name of the game badminton? Read them and find out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    Excellent mystery and period story

    Couldn't put it down, I love this British author and her authentic dialog and characters. The haunted house aspect was very scary and the constable was hilarious! Laughed out loud. A must-read for this genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Good Read

    This book was long on details regarding actions that could have been explained in a paragraph. Whether one takes cream and/or sugar in one's tea should not be drawn out. The book read swiftly due, in part, to Ms Heyer's excellent use of language. The mystery was deterining the identity of the monk, why did he want the protagonests out of the Priory, and to what lenghts would he go to make certain they left? Ms Heyer certainly kept me guessing for those answers, and her characters were well developed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    A cute murder mystery.

    Had some capturing moments. Overall it was a fun story with haunted passages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Just okay

    What starts out as a hauntedhouse turns into a suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Like

    Fun read. I enjoy reading English stories. I was pleased with the clues givven through the story if you paid attention.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Surprisingly well done

    I'd never heard of this author before and was very pleased with this mystery. I liked the characters better than Agatha Christie's standard "props".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Great Classic

    Reminded me of Murder She Wrote. I was interested till the end and surprised it was easy to read due to the age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended for lovers of mystery

    My first reading of English mystery. I usually watch it on television. This book is by no means a disappointment. It does everything you expect a book to do. Goes into great detail about everything going on so that you are right there in every scene, hearing every word and accent. Keeps you guessing, but provides great mystery. No way is this book predictable to the point where you know the ending before getting half way through.I am now addicted to Mrs Heyer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    DOCPNC

    This is a classic mystory. Although it is decades old, it is still a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    What did I miss? I kept waiting for it to get better...

    I read the reviews before buying this book and my only conclusion is that the five star reviewers must be related in some way to the author and have a share in proceeds from her catalog of work. There can't be any other explanation because this book reads like it was written in 1940 and made into a really bad black and white movie. It was all polite British pitter patter dialogue with absolutely no substance, no character development, and a plot that would not have mystified a ten year old. I was determined to finish it but it kept putting me to sleep. So, finally... and I do mean finally... I finished it. Thank heavens! If you like Agatha Christi wannabees, then this is your book. What was I thinking???? I should have sampled it first. My bad.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Copyright 1932?!

    While I like a good mystery, I do require it to be spellbinding. It held my interest well enough but was very tame by today's standards. The story was interesting enough to finish and I would recommend this as a beach read. I only saw the publish date after I was forced to look up words that are now archaic and obsolete.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 624 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32