Customer Reviews for

For Every Season (Amish Vines and Orchards Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book by Cindy, and the third in this series. I lov

    Another great book by Cindy, and the third in this series. I loved spending time with these old dear friends. Note: If you have not yet read the other two books, there is information give so you can catch up. Don't deny yourself the pleasure of these great reads.
    Samuel and Rhoda are working hard to getting the Orchard ready in Maine. We are with them them with their struggles and trials. Blending in with the families, and bring in some new people to help. I never wanted to leave, wanted to sit down with them at their meals!
    Will Jacob and Rhoda finally be able to put the past behind them, and be married? Will their be someone special finally for Samuel? How about Leah, will she stay Amish and not want to go worldly?
    Enjoy this next book in this series, you won't be able to put it down! I couldn't.

    I received this book from Waterbook Press and their blogger program, and was not required to give a positive review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I am an avid reader of Amish books. This is the first series of Cindy Woodsmall I have read and it certainly won't be the last! She makes you fell as you know these characters personally and I am waiting , not so patiently, for the next book! This series is a must read, especially if you like Amish books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    booksbysteph says "Perfect Ending to Series" It has

    booksbysteph says "Perfect Ending to Series"


    It has been two weeks since the shock heard round the farm. Rhoda Byler and the King brothers, Samuel and Jacob, have barely said a word to each other. Jacob "invited [Rhoda] to leave [the house] and then had refused to talk to her." She moved into the guest bedroom of her Englisch neighbor friends, walking a mile to and from the farm to work. "What had possessed Rhoda to think that two families - the Kings and they Bylers - could live under the same roof while trying to establish a new Amish community?"

    Rhoda must prove her love to Jacob by staying away from Samuel. However, nothing is getting done on the farm. Leah knows they need help so she hires Iva Lambright in hopes that she will catch Samuel's eye. It was only upon Iva's arrival that Rhoda and the brothers started speaking to each other - because they had to. 

    Rhoda starts to see visions of her dead sister again. She had not seen Emma since they left Pennsylvania. Rhoda is also seeing things that have to do with her new roommates, but she cannot figure out what they mean or how to tell her friends.

    Jacob decides that the best way to heal their relationship is for he and Rhoda to get married and move back home. He will work as a carpenter while Rhoda has a bit of land to grow her herbs and fruits again. Even though it was Jacob's idea to never keep secrets from each other, he is not telling Rhoda everything from his past in the Englisch world.

    I GIVE THIS BOOK: 5 Stars

    Cindy Woodsmall has delivered another heart-wrenching Amish story. This book left me stunned with tears pouring from my eyes. It was the perfect ending to this series...until you turn to the last page and see that book 4 comes out in April 2014. Cindy, you are killing me! This series has captivated my heart. While I am happy if the series ended as is, knowing I have to wait 7 months for the next book is pure torture.

    As for this book, just because these characters bought a farm in Maine does not mean they left their troubles behind. It is like bad luck follows them. This book deals with the struggles of the heart and what is morally right. The struggles of the Amish and the Englisch. The struggle between money and family. Since the theme of this book is based on struggle, in my opinion, it will touch every reader in a different way. Your heart will be attached to this book the whole way through.

    Until next time, live life one page at a time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Cindy Woodsmall is a favorite author. This is the third in a se

    Cindy Woodsmall is a favorite author. This is the third in a series and to get the most out of the book I highly recommend you read the first two. A Season for Tending and The Winnowing Season. Cindy brings her characters to life and before you know it you are following the life of Jacob, Samuel and Rhoda. You will find characters that you will feel sympathy, empathy, laugh at their antics and wonder why you haven't read Cindy's books sooner. Cindy Woodsmall always has well developed characters, plot and shows the human faults and how they work through them through love, friendship, caring and most of all through their faith.



    The love interests between Rhoda, Samuel and Jacob does cause problems because Samuel and Jacob are brothers. Neither Samuel nor Rhoda wants to do anything to hurt Jacob. Rhoda is promised to Jacob. Follow them with the early spring weather and then a late frost that hits their new apple orchard. The group have moved due to a tornado almost destroying their orchard. They moved to Maine and bought a new one. If it is successful they more Amish from home will join them. The land is cheaper and the community doesn't mind the Amish moving in.
    Check the back of her books for Amish recipes. I've tried a couple from previous books and loved them. So did my family. Then there is new budding romance between Leah and Landon. Landon is not Amish but his grandmother lives close to the orchard and he works with Rhoda. I love this series and hope that there will be another one soon. I would love to follow the lives of the remaining characters that I've loved reading about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    I¿ve read the first two books, A Season for Tending and The Winn

    I’ve read the first two books, A Season for Tending and The Winnowing Season and now with the third book I feel like I’ve come back to visit some old friends and see as their orchard improves with lots of hard work. This picks up right where book 2 left off but now there is some fear of frost killing off the early budding apple trees so Samuel, Jacob, Rhoda and the others begin round the clock vigils to keep the trees from losing their fruitlings. Of course it’s not all about the apple trees and the orchard, we get to meet a new character, Iva, say good-bye (for now) to two characters, Sandra and her daughter all the while with intrigue, romance and some whimsy thrown in.

    The love triangle between Jacob, Samuel and Rhoda continues as the brothers try to mend their relationship and Rhoda tries to deny her feelings for the brother she truly loves – this does come to an abrupt end, but if one has read the whole series from the beginning it’s easy to see that Rhoda has struggled with this and while it seems abrupt at first it really wasn’t. I loved seeing how strong Leah has grown over the course of this series so far and that Landon is there beside no matter what she decides. I also have enjoyed seeing the new Amish settlement really start to bear fruit, both figuratively and literally, as new Amish come to see if they want to be a part of the new settlement.

    If you enjoy Amish fiction then this is one book and series you won’t want to miss, Cindy’s writing is excellent and she has a way of making the reader feel as if they were there, looking at the sunset over the fields or at night keeping fires stoked to protect the trees – it’ll feel like you’re right there with all the characters. Also in the back of this one are some recipes that sound really delicious, although I’d love to have one for that 6 layer casserole that was mentioned for dinner one evening in the book!


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    The wait was worth it.

    This is one of the best series I have read. It was hard to put down. My favorite young man by far was Samuel in both books. Jacob turned out to be a decent man in the end. Rhoda is so deep but I wanted to shake her sometimes. The ending was so exciting I almost jumped out of my chair. As usual I wanted a few more chapters but will have to wait until next year. Thanks Cindy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Star

    Becareful, Rider is trying to move in for your spot as my boyfriend lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Brady

    He grinned at her, the wind whipping his hair
    <p> OMG! SORRY! MY NOOK BROKE! I just bought a new one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Sky

    She giggled (no worries)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Vincent

    Vincent smiled "Wow, that defiantly describes the both of us." He looks at sage and smiles (gtg bbl or tomorrow.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Brady

    He smiled and followed Sky, James, and the waitress

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Vinestar anf Falcontail

    They head of to find someone to kill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Rhoda has my heart torn....some moments, I want her with Jacob a

    Rhoda has my heart torn....some moments, I want her with Jacob and some moments, I am sure she belongs with Samuel.  Even Rhoda doesn't really seem to know her own heart.   The two brothers are certainly at odds over the beautiful intuitive &quot;seer&quot;.    Can you imagine being given the gift of &quot;seeing and knowing things&quot; by God?   Many in her own family and certainly her former community have rejected her because of this gift.   
    Can Rhoda ever see it as a true gift or calling from God, instead of the curse it seems to be for her?  Can she ever reconcile her feelings for the men in her life?   I agonized with her as I read, for I wanted her to be happy and to have the wonderful Amish husband, children, and home that she so desires.   
    So  many people say that they value the Amish lifestyle because of its simplicity and peace.   Rhoda, Samuel, and Jacob have everything except simplicity and peace in their daily dealings on the orchard and in their personal lives.    And just as I get to the last page, I think with relief that all the problems will be resolved, and they are NOT!!!  I find out that I have to wait for book 4 in the series to come out in 2014.   Seriously, Cindy Woodsmall, you are going to make me WAIT to find out what happens for my favorite characters??   sigh, I guess I have no choice, do I, for I am hopelessly hooked!    
    I received a free copy of this book from bloggingforbooks and Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers in exchange for my honest review.   submitted by, Rhonda Nash-Hall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I have read the first two series by this author. Excellent story- excellent interest Can't wait for the 4th one to be published. Lots of interesting characters as well as a very good story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Rhoda is like no other Amish Christian fiction character. She h

    Rhoda is like no other Amish Christian fiction character. She has a special gift often seen as a curse by those around her. God speaks to her in an audible voice. Not every little thing mind you but enough to make people suspicious and often to help others in need. Every character's storyline in this book is interesting so there'll be no skipping of pages with this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cindy doesn't let you down, great book! Rhoda Byler along with

    Cindy doesn't let you down, great book!

    Rhoda Byler along with her brother Stephen's family, and Jacob, Samuel and Leah King and her best friend Landon Olson have relocated just outside of Unity, Maine to bring back to life an old apple orchard on 15 acres of ground. Landon, the only non-Amish in the group, will live with his grandmother in town but the rest will share one house to begin with.




    Things happen when Jacob, who is always gone when she needs him the most, becomes jealous of the relationship between Rhoda and Samuel, who is always there to help her through her problems that arise, so Rhoda finds herself having to move out of the shared housing. The three of them find themselves in a strained relationship with each other because of the brother's love for Rhoda and her love for both brothers. She tries to prove her love to Jacob by agreeing to leave and go back to Pennsylvania once he joins the church and they can be married.




    I really enjoyed the way these characters kept trying to figure out where they wanted to go with their lives, some wondered if they should stay Amish or not and others if they were doing the right thing for themselves and others. If Rhoda goes through with marrying Jacob, will it tear the two brothers apart even more? If Jacob marries Rhoda how will they be able to live and work on the same land as Samuel? Samuel loves Rhoda and Jacob, is it best for them if he doesn't say anything? Who will give in and how will it end, will they all end up with broken hearts?




    You really can't pick up the story by just reading this book, you do have to start with the first book in the series,  &quot;A Season for Tending&quot;, then read the second one, &quot;The Winnowing Season&quot;, NOW you can read this one then the fourth one comes out in April 2014 titled &quot;Seasons of Tomorrow&quot;.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BloggingforBooks(dot)org book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Cindy Woodsmall does it again in the third book of the Vines and Orchards series, For Every Season!

    So many adjectives come to mind: dazzling, cliff-hanging, slightly disapointing (disappointing as in the characters problems)...... In this book, Cindy keeps you going until the very end!!!!!!

    Summary: Protagonist, Rhoda Byler is business parteners with Samuel King. Her boyfriend is Samuel's brother, Jacob.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- BOOK TWO
    Samuel falls in love with Rhoda. You can see trouble!! Jacob has to go to help this woman who depends on him, who Rhoda doesn't really know. When Jacob is away, Samuel helps Rhoda through some hard times, and also declares his love. When Samuel declares his love for Rhoda, he kisses her, and just then, Jacob comes back home!
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The kiss in book two creates a book three. Rhoda moves off of the orchard to a neighbors house. Not to long after, Jacob, Samuel and Rhoda figure it out, and can manage to talk to each other. Later on Jacob says that he wants to move off the farm when he and Rhoda get married. (Jacob is afraid that Rhoda is in love with Samuel, so he figures they need to get away from Samuel.) Will Rhoda agree to move off the orchard, and let Samuel take care of it himself, or will Rhoda beg Jacob to stay on the orchard with Samuel?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2