Customer Reviews for

For I Have Sinned (A Charley Davidson Story): A HeroesandHeartbreakers.com Original

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

3.5 Stars 

For I Have Sinned is a short story following First Grave on the Right (book 1 from Charley Davidson Series). Charley is a private investigator but being a PI is just a disguise. She is really a Soul Reaper who helps lost souls “go to the light”. No, really...
3.5 Stars 

For I Have Sinned is a short story following First Grave on the Right (book 1 from Charley Davidson Series). Charley is a private investigator but being a PI is just a disguise. She is really a Soul Reaper who helps lost souls “go to the light”. No, really, Charley shines like a beacon to alerting the lost souls to her. 

The books in this series are told as a first person POV by Charley herself, but not in this novella. This story is told by a lost soul seeking Charley’s help. Also as a first person POV. Trapped in this world with an unknown, unfinished business and trying to find out what happened to her. It was nice to see a story from a different POV other than Charley’s. Seeing the side of what a ghost would feel upon meeting her, scenes that would never get old. This reaper is just hilarious with her banters, sense of humor and her overall take on life. Charley will rise up to her calling of course and this ghost will have a bittersweet resolution. A very sweet story.

posted by AngelaCarr on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Really?

I opened it up, saw 68 pages and was siked! I cant get enough if charley... but the story finished in 17 pages. What?? Good short, very short story. Guess ill just patiently wait for the fourth book.

posted by wickedjess on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    3.5 Stars 

    For I Have Sinned is a short story following First Grave on the Right (book 1 from Charley Davidson Series). Charley is a private investigator but being a PI is just a disguise. She is really a Soul Reaper who helps lost souls “go to the light”. No, really, Charley shines like a beacon to alerting the lost souls to her. 

    The books in this series are told as a first person POV by Charley herself, but not in this novella. This story is told by a lost soul seeking Charley’s help. Also as a first person POV. Trapped in this world with an unknown, unfinished business and trying to find out what happened to her. It was nice to see a story from a different POV other than Charley’s. Seeing the side of what a ghost would feel upon meeting her, scenes that would never get old. This reaper is just hilarious with her banters, sense of humor and her overall take on life. Charley will rise up to her calling of course and this ghost will have a bittersweet resolution. A very sweet story.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Quick Read by a Wonderful Author!

    I'm torn... I wasn't expecting it to be so short and abrupt.This book was great, because I love Darynda Jones, but it was SO short. The view point definitely made things different, which was fun to see another point of view. It was a very touching story, excellently written.

    When it came onto my e-reader it said it was 68 pages, which is short already… Then like a snap it was over and it was only about 25-30 pages. The rest of the pages are a preview to book 1, 2, and 3.

    This doesn’t take me away from this author or book, but I was sad it was so short

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Really?

    I opened it up, saw 68 pages and was siked! I cant get enough if charley... but the story finished in 17 pages. What?? Good short, very short story. Guess ill just patiently wait for the fourth book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Totally enjoyable read.

    I've read all the Darynda Jones books I can find and her skewed outlook on life and death delights me every time. This is one of the rare books that will make
    you LOL.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Tasty tidbit

    Found this while waiting for Third Grave. Reminded me how much I miss Charley and Cookie! Thank you Darynda! Keep up the great work! Can't wait for more!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Great short

    I absolutely love this series. Its a nice short!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Good Preview to the Series

    I had already read books 1-4 before I found this short story and read it. If you haven't checked out the Charley Davidson Series yet, this would be a good place to start.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Good Story

    It's only 20 pages, I wish I'd known before I bought it, I was looking forward to 68 pages, then abruptly it's all over. I'd have still bought it, I love Charley and Reyes and Cookie, but I'd not have been disappointed in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    an enjoyable addition to the Charley Davidson series

    It was interesting to see how Charley looks through a ghost's eyes, and how she helps them. And it was so cute to see how Reyes and Charley interact from someone elses POV too. I really enjoyed this little extra tidbit, I love it when authors do stuff like that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Great book

    I frickin' love this series. The smart ass comments. Once you start you can't put them down. I highly recommend this series. I have told my daughters who are nook readers to get these books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    enjoyable

    excellent series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Interesting

    I like this series. This one was good! My father also likes this series. He can't read this one because it is only on Nook. My sister was able to read it, however. Can't wait til "Seventh Grave" comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Warning! This story is good but very short.

    More than half of the sixty something pages are introductory chapters to the first three books in the series. If you are reading in order it seems to come between books one and two. This isn't a must-read - it doesn't include anything you have to know in order to read the series, but it's entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Enjoyable

    Fun, I just wish it had been longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Could be longer

    I thought this was going to be a between the books kind of read, to hold me over til the next in the series came out. It was a good story and it explains a little what the "other side" sees but i just wish it was longer, now im looking for some other book to tie me over.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Short

    It was good but honestly a waste of money should of been free,,,i recommend just going to book number one. Love her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I just say enough about the Charley Davidson series, I love them all I started with the MP3 books however I love then so much I had to buy them all in paper form. That way I could have them on my bookshelf. Thank you so much for a great story.i give this a 5 star book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    LOVED!! I laughed at Charley's wit, cried at points and definite

    LOVED!! I laughed at Charley's wit, cried at points and definitely wished the story was longer, but that's the way it goes with a talented writer - you always want more. Really looking forward to the next Grave book! Than you Darynda!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Interesting to hear from a different perspective than Charley's.

    Interesting to hear from a different perspective than Charley's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really liked this story and I liked that we got a different vi

    I really liked this story and I liked that we got a different view point of Charley, kind of from the outside looking in. You should definitely read this if you love Charley and Reyes and of course Darynda.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6