Customer Reviews for

For Immediate Release: Shape Minds, Build Brands, and Deliver Results with Game-Changing Public Relations

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    For Immediate Release was something which opened my eyes as a bu

    For Immediate Release was something which opened my eyes as a business owner to the power of public relations. Really seems to be something which we can use (Have tried advertising, direct mail and marketing). The book was descriptive, fun reading and one got the voice of Mr. Ronn Torossian so clearly and was enjoyable reading.
    Have seen Ronn Torossian on television many times and in this book truly heard his voice come through. Enjoyed some of the intimate stories and found the book to be one I will re-read again within the year simply to remember some of the tips. Highly Recommend!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Considering the 24-hour news cycle and the explosion of social m

    Considering the 24-hour news cycle and the explosion of social media, getting your voice heard by using public relations is more challenging than ever. But fear not: Ronn Torossian of 5W Public Relations (5WPR), writing with business author Karen Kelly, shares his observations and ideas. You’ll hear a lot – a lot – about 5WPR’s clients and the daring deeds that Torossian accomplished on their behalf. But you’ll also glean helpful tips on PR that cut through the cacophony. getAbstract believes PR professionals, including beginners who are just finding their way, can benefit from this book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Great Insight into the world of PR!

    Ronn, Just wanted to take the time to say that your book provided great insight as an outsider looking in to the world of PR; for those that have never considered PR as part of their business strategy this book is invaluable and as a seasoned business person, I still gained a new perspective on PR strategies in my own venture. One can read about the philosophical work habits in self written books such as yours which sometimes make for a great read but I often wonder if the writer lives by those philosophies or is it just verbal diarrhea to feed the writers ego. Your comments in your book about why your offices never close during those last two weeks in December because the media doesn’t close and why’s it is so important for your team and you to be accessible – can be confirmed by me as a true testament by someone living by the code they preach; as I experienced this first hand and one of the many reasons why I chose to engage with your firm. I will be recommending your book to my partners and business associates. Richard Hue P.S. As an aside, I am an avid watch collector and a few years ago, I deterred my wife from purchasing a Philip Stein watch because I didn’t see the value in owning such a watch which I knew very little of. I can tell you that your articulation of the benefits of their line of watches in your book was miles apart from how the sales associate at Holt Renfrew explained it and can say with all certainty that its your explaination that sold me on the value propostion of this watch with its unique properties and why I recently suggested to my wife to look at purchasing one. I hope your team will bring such clear and concise articulation of our business when presenting us to the media J!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Really good read

    I am a college student studying PR and decided to pick up this book to get a better insight of public relations. I really enjoyed this book because when it comes to reading a textbook it doesn't always teach students as much or give as much needed information on as a book of someone who has experience in a specific field. Some of these details are common sense but the examples he gives are defnitely helpful. I enjoyed the tips he gave on improving brands as a person or company. I will use this book as beginning guide to increase my knowlege of public relations.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    solid and insightful

    What Torossian does best is make you realize that not all PR is good PR- that is, sometimes the best PR is keeping your name out of the press entirely, or killing off a story through media contacts or even digging up dirt on the media member trying to attack you.

    The examples he gives bring his lessons to life. Unfortunately, for confidentiality reasons he cannot reveal who some of the clients are in his juiciest stories but the stories apply across many business categories.

    A great first book from an up and coming PR guru.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Ronn Torossian congratulations on this thought provoking, enjoya

    Ronn Torossian congratulations on this thought provoking, enjoyable book. I read it cover to cover in one day and will give it to my wife to read as well. Very good book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing PR Book by Ronn Torossian of 5WPR - I couldnt put it Down !

    The same day I got the book I read the entire book. This book taught me so much about media management, crisis PR, client relations - really an inspiring amazing book that I will read and re-read again and again.
    Get this book

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    This book by Ronn Torossian was a classic. I read it cover to c

    This book by Ronn Torossian was a classic. I read it cover to cover and couldn't put it down. There were real world examples, he was honest and I enjoyed reading the story of a New York City boy making it big. Wish he shared more boldface names, but it was a great read. I graduate school next year and hope 5WPR will hire me. I recommend For Immediate Release to anyone interested in the world of Public Relations.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    I think this book isn't only designed for PR professionals, but

    I think this book isn't only designed for PR professionals, but for professionals in any industry.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    A Very Interesting Insight To The World of PR

    I had often been curious about the dark art of PR and what goes on to ensure the generation, preservation and rescue of reputations, both corporate and private. This book gave a very interesting look inside this fast moving world of PR, often involving dynamic crisis management. It also provided food for thought for growing business like mine, as regards ringfencing their public image and online prescence prior to any negative publicity emerging. I highly recommend it to anyone remotely curious about such matters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND - A MUST READ!!!!

    I am a seasoned professional in the public relations industry. This book, by Ronn Torossian of 5WPR, has fast become the industry handbook. I pre-ordered 'For Immediate Release' and have read it a dozen times already. Whenever I'm in a bind, I refer to Mr. Torossian's book for guidance. I highly recommend 'For Immediate Release' to anyone looking for an inspiring, exciting, intelligent read by an esteemed entrepreneur.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    An amazing ride to the world of PR

    PR has always been a mystery to me so when I was recommended to give this book a try I immediately connected to the subject matter. I was finally able to get a grasp of what PR is all about.

    I found Ronn Torossian's main strength in the details and vast examples. His experience running his own PR firm and excitement of portraying PR as a fundamental step to success is obvious from within every page.

    I must admit that the various tips and the detailed given insights made me think of how I should adjust the goals and methods of my company's PR. This book acts now as my guideline to everything PR, Well done!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2012

    For Immediate Release by Ronn Torossian is Excellent and Recommended

    Anyone who reads For Immediate Release by Ronn Torossian of 5WPR will enjoy it, especially people who work in the public relations industry. I especially loved the quotes on public relations throughout the chapters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    This is a great book if you need to understand the world of PR -

    This is a great book if you need to understand the world of PR - whether you work in PR or not. As an entrepreneur, this book helped me understand what I need to do to take my small business to the next level. Definitely recommend it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    Insightful book into the NYC world of pr

    This is a great book that gives you insight into thee pr industry and allows the reader a glimpse into this NYC pr firm. His case studies enable the reader to view the companies through a pr professionals eyes. I highly recommend anyone with any interest on
    Business or pr pick this book up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    The REAL world of PR and what it can do for you!

    FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE is not only an insightful guide to PR, it's an authentic peek behind the scenes of the business from someone who actually owns and runs an agency. One of the many valuable aspects of the book is the focus on real "case studies" - examples of companies who have benefited from great PR (many of them clients of the agency, and others not) as well as examples of what not to do. Any business, large or small, can glean tips from these examples. One other thing I like is the honesty of Torossian - he does not hold back and because of that you really feel as if you're in a room with the author and he's giving you the real deal on PR and why it's so essential for businesses today. I've already used a couple of his wise and pointed ideas for my own small business, to great effect. Thank you Ronn.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Ronn Torossian: Thank you for inspiring me with this book. I l

    Ronn Torossian: Thank you for inspiring me with this book. I learned about crisis management, digital media, luxury brands (never knew Louis Vuitton burnt their goods), and the details on the stories you shared were really fascinating. Public Relations is sure to grow as a business as you predicted and I appreciate you sharing some wisdom via For Immediate Release.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Ronn Torossian of 5WPR will have a lot of success with his book

    Ronn Torossian of 5WPR will have a lot of success with his book For Immediate Release as it was timely, relevant and interesting for anyone interested in marketing and public relations. I found his discussions on crisis communications, digital media and media training to be the most interesting, and like that he shared some personal tips. I would have liked to have heard more about his employees and day to day operations but the book was a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Great Read

    I'm a college student majoring in public relations and this book is great. I love the examples he uses to make his points. I haven't taken a PR class yet, but this book gets me excited for the ones I am about to take. I like that he explains everything thoroughly in great detail, but it doesn't drag from the content. I would recommend this book for anyone interested in public relations or business. Everyone can learn a thing or two (probably more) from this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Great book to not only gain a better understanding of PR, but also provides excellent examples of how to improve ones business.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3