BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

For Laci: A Mother's Story of Love, Loss, and Justice

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sharon Rocha lets the readers experiance her Precious daughter, an Angel of the Lord now, as a child, teenager, adult, and mother-to-be. She tells her story of Love, Loss and the fight for Justice. A Tribute to Laci and Conner.

I have read this book over and over. It touches my heart everytime I read it. I have been through 3 murders in my family. All were by the hands of people they thought loved them. Sharon Rocha shares her innermost feelings of love, grief, and the struggle for justice. Sh...
I have read this book over and over. It touches my heart everytime I read it. I have been through 3 murders in my family. All were by the hands of people they thought loved them. Sharon Rocha shares her innermost feelings of love, grief, and the struggle for justice. She lets us know who Laci really was: A beautiful,intelligent, creative, persistant, happy,loving, giving woman who was so looking forward to being a mother. Her honesty and grief spill out of the book. Laci and Conner are walking down the streets of gold in heaven now and "Their" story was told by the mother and grandmother who loves them so very much. Ms. Rocha tells the story, as it unfolded. This book is a must read. It will touch your heart.

posted by MrsJonesTJ on March 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Sad and plain wrong

It is certainly a tradgedy when a mother loses a child. This book is an attempt by Sharon Rocha to convince herself that Scott Peterson killed her daughter. It is self serving and she distorts facts to justify her guilt over an innocent man's conviction.

posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sharon Rocha lets the readers experiance her Precious daughter, an Angel of the Lord now, as a child, teenager, adult, and mother-to-be. She tells her story of Love, Loss and the fight for Justice. A Tribute to Laci and Conner.

    I have read this book over and over. It touches my heart everytime I read it. I have been through 3 murders in my family. All were by the hands of people they thought loved them. Sharon Rocha shares her innermost feelings of love, grief, and the struggle for justice. She lets us know who Laci really was: A beautiful,intelligent, creative, persistant, happy,loving, giving woman who was so looking forward to being a mother. Her honesty and grief spill out of the book. Laci and Conner are walking down the streets of gold in heaven now and "Their" story was told by the mother and grandmother who loves them so very much. Ms. Rocha tells the story, as it unfolded. This book is a must read. It will touch your heart.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Could barely put down

    This was a great portrayal of a mother's love for her children. I found myself completely loathing laci's husband. I love books where you have an emotional attachment to characters, and this did exactly that. Wonderfully written, yet horribly heartbreaking. Definitely shows you the meaning of love & to never take anything for granted.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    A truly moving memoir

    This book is great. It is so honest and personal. I loved how descriptive Sharon was of Laci's life. I felt like I knew Laci while reading this book. I couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Book..Heart felt and heart breaking

    I wish this was the first Laci Peterson book I read. While the others on the market are also decent, this by far gripped my soul. I felt like i went through every emotion Sharon went through. What a heartbreaking story about a mom who loves her daughter with every essence of her being. I wish i could have reached and and hugged Sharon. What an amazingly touching work of art she has written in honor of Laci. Laci would be so proud of her momma.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Couldn't Put it Down!

    I opened this book at 10:30 at night and was up until after midnight when i had to force myself to put it down to go to bed because i had work the next morning. I sat and read this entire book the next day. You truely felt Sharons pain. I cried when she cried, I was angry when she was angry. This is truely an inspiration! Sharon was not trying to convience anyone of Scott Petersons guiltiness. She was simply putting into words the thoughts and feelings throughout this TRAGIC ordeal. This is a number one on my book shelf!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    GO SHARON GO!

    Sharon keep up the fight for victims rights!!! ONLY a soft on crime, bleeding heart, LIBERAL DEMOCRAT would hate this book! For all of you liberals who think Peterson is innocent, STEW ON THIS!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    A Truely touching book

    This is the best book i have read in a long time, Sharon did an exceptional job. Laci had captured the hearts of people everywhere whe she went missing and sharon just makes you feel like you knew laci. This is also the saddest book i have read to date. But once you start reading you will not be able to put it down- Truely words can't express how wonderful this book is, definately a must read! Excellent!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Laci

    My heart was broken when I learned about this woman. I followed the story and when I heard on the news that her husband was found guilty I screamed "YES!" and through my arms up in the air for victory! I know Laci and Connor are in Heaven with God. And I ache for her mother who wrote this book. Very good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    I love this book

    What happen to laci and her baby is a terrible tragedy. As a mother i can never imagin going threw all that sharron rocha did. This book is a beautiful recap of her life with laci and how the monster scott peterson took it all away from her for his own selfish discuting needs. After reading this I felt closer to laci and her family. Any man who would choose an afair withAmber Fry over a life with the beautiful laci is clearly unstable. Rot in hell scott.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Haunting tribute you will never forget!

    I read this book about 5 years ago and I have never forgotten it. I feel like I know Laci thanks to her mother's emotional narrative and I find myself thinking of her often. Sharon describes how ladybugs were special to Laci and while I read the story I seemed to see them everywhere and even had one crawling on my sleeve in the house as I read! To me the most poignant part was Sharon sitting with Laci one last night after she was found. As a mother that tore my heart out. This is the most touching and well written true crime novel I have ever written. I highly recommend it. I pray that Laci's family has found some degree of peace and know she is in Paradise with Connor. God bless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    I couldn't put it down..

    This is one of the best books i have read... After reading it I felt I knew Laci. It takes you through many emotions right along with her mother and family. I deffinately reccomend reading if you haven't.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Must read

    Great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Greatsympathy!!!!

    Readthis book in aday my heart went out to her and her family also while she was sad for the death of Laci writing this book helped her deal with the rrealization that her child was murdered not by a stranger but by her own husband but amber frey fixed that scotts a dead man as hes sitting on death row justice has been done!!!!!!!!! Regina B montclair n j

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended - Good Read!

    Loved the book! The backstory was so interesting from Laci's mother's point of view. Honest and an easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Heart Wrenching

    God Bless Laci and Baby Connor, RIP My heart goes out to your Amazing Loving Mother and Family

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend!

    Wow.....all I can say is WOW. This is truly an example of a tragedy turned into pure art. Sharon Rocha is an excellent writer. I can seriously say that it was VERY hard to put my Nook down even for a moment (seriously, it was that good). Sharon walks you through Laci's life and you literally are walking with her as she tells the story. I laughed when she described Laci's beautiful laugh, I cried when Sharon cried and I was enraged when she was enraged. Words cannot even express this book. It is amazing! I think that she and her family are amazing to have gone through this tragedy and shared their story with us. I am glad that she let us into her world to meet Laci and Connor. Wow....just wow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellently Written

    Heartbreaking account of a mother's unbearable loss of not only her daughter, but also her unborn grandson. My heart aches for Laci and Conner's family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    A 'can't put down' story of betrayal and loss

    I followed this case from the onset and the book brought tears to my eyes more than once. A betrayal of the worst kind and Sharon's heart-rendering story gives it's readers a real depiction of who Laci was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    For Laci

    I can't even begin to imagine having a member of my family, someone who you know and grow to love, turn into a monster. That is what this family has endured and lived through. It is really mind boggling...I recommend this book to anyone. Sharon does a good job of relaying the events of the search as well as the trial and passes along information quite well, but as I noticed someone else commented...she lets her raw emotion come through as well. That is so important...I think it really connects with people on a personal level.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2007

    A beautiful and moving book!

    I must say, this is one of the few books that has moved me to tears, I feel like I know Laci, now, but with all things, my questions were answered with more questions, how could Scott, who seemed so nice when he and Laci first met, turn on her? This, we may never know. Once, Laci came to me in a dream, it was brief, but beautiful, and I woke up in tears because I hadn't had more time with her, this became my deciding factor in buying the book. I started reading it during Christmas break, and didn't do much more than read, eat, and sleep for five days until I finished the book. What I enjoyed the most was the first part of the book, Sharon telling me about Laci, introducing the real Laci to me, it was definitely worth the money I spent. It's now my favorite book, and I recommend it to everyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5