Customer Reviews for

For Love of Livvy (Book 1 Esposito series)

Average Rating 4
( 333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

I LAUGHED OUT LOUD

This book is such a good read. One of those that you want to finish so you know who did but don't want it to end. More, More, More, PLEASE.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Fell short of expectations

I thought it seemed hastily written and predictable. It wadn't nearly as funny as reviews led me to believe. But my sense of humor is somewhat dry and cynical. It was entertaining enough but it wouldn't stand out as a book I would recommend.

posted by 10595503 on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    I LAUGHED OUT LOUD

    This book is such a good read. One of those that you want to finish so you know who did but don't want it to end. More, More, More, PLEASE.

    40 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    Great Mystery

    This book kept you in suspense throughout the whole story. You didn't want to put it down until the mystery was solved which was at the end of the book. In addition, there was a lot of hilarious things that happened throughout the story. Great read. More please.

    33 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    Hilarious!

    Livvy is hysterical and so are her friends! Very entertaining with non-stop action and twists that keep you reading. This suspense novel made me want more and I hope there is another Livvy book coming. I truly enjoyed the law enforcement aspects of this book! A great read!

    26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Good thing it was free

    The author had a great idea for a plot and interesting characters but the writing itself is horrible. Awkward to say the least. Examples: "The walls shown (sic) like buffed worn leather. Slowly I whirled around in awe." So a misspelling and an oxymoron in the space of 13 words. All kinds of unnecessary details that in a well-written book might have indicated clues, but in this story are just meaningless detail. A lot of it just seems like padding to make a short story into a novel. The protagonist drinks no cup of coffee that doesn't have a rich aroma, does not eat without a complete description of the ingredients, can't enter a room without smelling something, does not go anywhere without walking toward something. There's no just driving someplace-- instead there is walking toward the car, opening the car door, getting in, buckling the seat belt-- I'm exaggerating, but you get the idea. Too bad, because the ideas are very good; it's the execution that made me grind my teeth.

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Great mystery!

    This was a great book with lots of description. I didn't want to put it down until I figured out the mystery. That of course was saved until the very end.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Great read!

    Loved this book! Entertaining, engaging and funny. Who can ask for more? I look forward to more from this author.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    This was a fun and interesting book , I really enjoyed this read

    This was a fun and interesting book , I really enjoyed this read. Will
    for sure read the books to follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    There's a mystery in here somewhere

    But the heroine is so sex obsessed, you only get glimpses of the mystery here and there. Sex, unless it relates to the mystery itself is gratuitous and does not move the story forward. Clues move the story forward. Also, every one in this story grins like an idiot. Why? They're embarrassed to be there.


    As a lover of classic mysteries, I'm so tired of the gimmicks that have crept into the genre - soft porn, recipes, cats, would-be Miss Marples who go out of their way to cause trouble just so they can dabble ineffectively in "solving" the problem that they caused.

    The heroine in this story is supposed to be a criminologist, yet she doesn't use the professional skills she's supposed to possess. At least she hadn't half way through the book, when I gave up.

    The reason for the five stars is because the one star reviews, by default, are found at the end of the reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Outstanding

    Awesome writing couldnt put down just loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    I loved it!

    I would love to read more about Livvy....loved that it had mystery.....with a hint of steamy romance.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    A wholesome entertaining book

    Ivy Malone, funny little old lady, solving mysteries and leading people to Christ.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Good Series

    I found this on the Free Fridays and after I read this one, I got the rest in the series. I thought it was a quick, fun and easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Excellent Read !!!

    Very good book. Great characters and story line!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Loved the chararacters. Loved the story. I am continuing on with the series. Loving them also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Highly recommended...... You have to check it out!

    This book is a fun read with all the elements of suspense - fun romance - family bonds - murder - what more can a reader ask for! I can't wait to start the next nook book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    For The Love of Livvy by JM Griffin

    Set in Rhode Island. Great read & loved the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Read

    This book was fun to read. It read quickly but sometimes that is what you want. I kept turning pages to find out what would happen next. Kept me interested and made me laugh at times. Just the book if you are looking for something light to read. A light and fun mystery? yea, this was!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    Loved this book. Great story line and interesting characters, wished the story would not have ended. One enjoyable read, highly recommend if you enjoy a good mystery with a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Highly recommended

    There are a few twists and turns that makes this an intersting and enjoyable reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    I love Vinnie!

    Vinnie and her friends were captivating. I enjoyed reading about Vinnie and her escapades.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6