Customer Reviews for

For My Grandchild: A Grandmother's Gift of Memory

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I wish it were an online book

When I saw this book, near the checkout counter, while I bought my granddaughter a book, I put it on my wishlist and told my granddaughter if she ever bought me a book, I wished it would be this one. But I truly wish someone would make these books available to buy onli...
When I saw this book, near the checkout counter, while I bought my granddaughter a book, I put it on my wishlist and told my granddaughter if she ever bought me a book, I wished it would be this one. But I truly wish someone would make these books available to buy online, so we could purchase them and write in them online every night, just as we check our email, we could get a reminder to write another chapter for our grandchildren.

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Criticism from this Grandmother

This book was written for the Babyboomer generation all right-- it was too self-important for my way of thinking. Sure, it's supposed to be all about the grandmother's life, but the questions asked (supposedly by the grandchild) were so many and sometimes so personal th...
This book was written for the Babyboomer generation all right-- it was too self-important for my way of thinking. Sure, it's supposed to be all about the grandmother's life, but the questions asked (supposedly by the grandchild) were so many and sometimes so personal that I think it just got out of hand. And the pressure! 'I did this, I did that...' It's wonderful if the grandmother has been great success in life-- governor or CEO, or if she's been totally wild, living on her own all over Europe and full of stories. But for ordinary run-of-the mill grannies out there, there will be quite a few blank spots in those pages, I fear.

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    Criticism from this Grandmother

    This book was written for the Babyboomer generation all right-- it was too self-important for my way of thinking. Sure, it's supposed to be all about the grandmother's life, but the questions asked (supposedly by the grandchild) were so many and sometimes so personal that I think it just got out of hand. And the pressure! 'I did this, I did that...' It's wonderful if the grandmother has been great success in life-- governor or CEO, or if she's been totally wild, living on her own all over Europe and full of stories. But for ordinary run-of-the mill grannies out there, there will be quite a few blank spots in those pages, I fear.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2008

    This is Homework

    I received two of these books - a year and a half apart, one each from 2 very dear daughters-in-law, each not knowing the other sent me one. I had not written a word in the first book, and I just received the second one. I probably won't write a word in it either. It is much too detailed and time consuming to be practical. A book that would request a FOURTH of the comments would probably be a great seller!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    Also wish it was online

    Great book to get the basics of your family history written down. I bought four of them--one for each of my daughter's grandmothers or great-grandmothers. Some of them can't write well anymore, so I ask the questions and write their answers. It would be fabulous if this book was online, and then you could send the info somewhere and they printed it in hardback. Kinda like how Shutterfly does their books. But for the 1 grandma who can write, it's nice to see it in her penmanship.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    I wish it were an online book

    When I saw this book, near the checkout counter, while I bought my granddaughter a book, I put it on my wishlist and told my granddaughter if she ever bought me a book, I wished it would be this one. But I truly wish someone would make these books available to buy online, so we could purchase them and write in them online every night, just as we check our email, we could get a reminder to write another chapter for our grandchildren.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    Good value for keepsake

    This is a nice book it's just not as colorful and nice looking as others. It was a great value though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect

    I bought the 1st one a couple of yrs ago for a grandson I've not seen in 16+ yrs. Now I'm thrilled to have one for the other kids. Since I live 2000 miles from them this will give them more personal info about me. I have told other grandmas about the book. I know that some day they will appreciate having this book and the pictures I've included.
    Thank you!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    Both my Mother-in-Law and my Mom Loved this gift!

    I purchased two of these books for both my mother-in-law and my mom. I had seen simular books for parents to fill out for thier childern but never for grandchildren. They both loved the idea of filling it out for our family to have as a record of thier lives especially for thier grandchildren they love. I wish I had found these before my father-in-law passed away as they also had one for Grandfather's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    First Time Grandma

    A friend of mine complimented on the Grandmother's book I purchased. As a first time grandma I cherish every page... so I purchased one for my friend along with Barnes and Noble "Friend Tote Bag" and the gift was a big hit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful grandparent gift!

    I bought this book to give to my grandmother to fill out for my kids. It is such a great way for her to record her little and big memories to pass on to the kids. Often some of the simple memories are the ones that get lost. It is easy to read and fill out and the questions are great. I am planning on buying one for all the gramas and great gramas in my family. The grampa book is just as great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Memories!!!!

    I bought this book for my girlfriend in Canada. She just became a 1st time Grandma so I sent it to her via Air Mail. I heard through the grapevine that she simply adored the book and has already begun writing in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2005

    another AARP recommendation

    I saw this new book listed on the AARP site. I haven't seen it 'live' but I just finished filling out another book, The Book of Myself: a Do-it-Yourself Autobiography in 201 Questions for my grandkids. It's by a grandfather and his grandson, Carl and David Marshall. I read about it in an AARP magazine article about how to 'leave a lasting mark on the earth.' The Book of Myself prompts on each page really got me writing and kept me organized. I'm very hapy with the result. So are my grandkids. Whatever book you use, you and your grandkids will be glad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2005

    Grandchildren are the most wonderful gifts in the world

    Grandchildren are so wonderful, they have no idea how they impact us grandparents. Its a love like no other.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1